We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Panama City Hip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City
Ranked #19 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
“Panama City Hip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel one night. I read some of the reviews previously and most complain about minor things, slow service (this is Panama, not the US), bad pool (it's outside rooftop - it's about the setting), people asking for money outside hotel, etc. The hotel is in the middle of downtown in a major city. The neighborhood isn't necessarily bad at all, it's a huge city is all. You get this in NYC, LA, Miami, et al. I had a great time here I had a room on the top floor, 2803. It had amazing views, two rooms, two bathrooms, mini bar and huge King bed.
PROS:
Hotel is very hip, almost too hip. I felt old at times. But the rooms had many nice features: great art work, flat screen tvs, etc. The staff was extremely friendly and made me feel very welcome.
I was given $20 in credit and used it at the outdoor pool/bar. Nice to relax outside with some free drinks by the pool. Pool has see through windows where you can see the restaurant below.
Food in restaurant was really good as well as the wine list. Food has a nice local flare too if desired.
The room rate was very inexpensive - suite for $220 (including $20 free drinks and breakfast).
NEGATIVES:
No ATM in the hotel was a bit odd.
Doors to rooms slam really hard so people in the middle of the night coming back from a night out would slam the doors. Minor point, but still...
I really liked this hotel and would return. It's was a 15 minute to the historic area, 25-30 minutes to the airport and 20 minutes to Mira Floras Canal.

Room Tip: Sign up for Club Carlson - ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Brklynrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Andrea P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City, responded to this review, February 1, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us here in Radisson Decapolis Hotel. We are very happy to know that you could enjoy of our great location and all we have close to us just to give you an excellent service and a fantastic visit to Panama. We hope you come back soon and give us the honor to welcome you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    647
    156
    49
    39
See reviews for
435
491
101
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
701 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

4 star hotel with a great package price including an upgraded continental breakfast and $20 credit per night at the lobby bar.Rooms are spacious and well equipped.They offer a mobile phone that roués calls made to your room to the phone if you are out of the room. Very nice and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Request a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dealmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Andrea P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City, responded to this review, February 1, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us here in Radisson Decapolis Hotel. We are very happy to know that you could enjoy of our great location and all we have close to us just to give you an excellent service and a fantastic visit to Panama. We hope you come back soon and give us the honor to welcome you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Positives -
Free breakfast buffet, $20 free drinks per day and wifi
Located next to a mall/small casino. THis is ok, but becareful out front, I was hit up for money on every single day of my stay.

Negatives -
The pool is an absolute joke. U could do a lap in about 2.5 strides.
The gym is ridiculously terrible. They have 3 treadmills, two elliptical machines (one broken for 5 days straight so far) and one weight machine and a handfull of dumbbells.
Staff - Most polite, but EXTREMELY slow in service. I was in the Lobby bar one night with almost no customers and plenty of wait staff and it took them 20 minutes to ask if I wanted a drink.
Neighborhood - Do not stray outside of this neighborhood unless u know the language or are with someone you trust.

Overall, I will never stay here again and I plan to be in Panama every couple of months. It will be the Marriott next time.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Andrea P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City, responded to this review, February 1, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us here in Radisson Decapolis Hotel. We are very happy to know that you could enjoy of our great location and all we have close to us just to give you an excellent service and a fantastic visit to Panama. We hope you come back soon and give us the honor to welcome you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

My family spent two luxurious nights in this fantastic hotel as part of a week-long all-inclusive vacation package. Upon checking in, we were upgraded to a suite, which was gorgeous and gave us a view of other high rises and the canal. We could see ships coming and going; definitely a bonus. The rooms were very spacious and spotless. Beds were comfortable.

The food was amazing, and our two daughters (11 and 8) agreed; excellent selection for buffet-style meals. Apparently there is a limit to alcoholic beverages when you are part of the "all-inclusive" package, but we weren't pretending to be at the resort, so it didn't affect us!

We liked that the hotel is connected by walkway to the Multicentro Mall, however there were a number of empty retail spaces, so it was not a vibrant place to be. Thankfully, the Hard Rock Cafe is there and very much open for business!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MantarioGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Andrea P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City, responded to this review, February 1, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us here in Radisson Decapolis Hotel. We are very happy to know that you could enjoy of our great location and all we have close to us just to give you an excellent service and a fantastic visit to Panama. We hope you come back soon and give us the honor to welcome you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto alegre
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

confortable is the right word for this hotel and perfect for people who returns from s stay in Panama: great location and attractive swimming pool ( although noisy for some moments of the day ) with wide view of Panama city. the connection with a mall from the 3rd floor is usefull. the front desk staff a bit slow and need improvement. the rooms are very clear and confortable

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CesarBimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Andrea P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City, responded to this review, February 1, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us here in Radisson Decapolis Hotel. We are very happy to know that you could enjoy of our great location and all we have close to us just to give you an excellent service and a fantastic visit to Panama. We hope you come back soon and give us the honor to welcome you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My friend & I stayed at this resort for 4-nights during Holy week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is in a great central location with a mall and casino.

Here are my thoughts…

Hotel/Room:
The hotel has beautiful architecture and décor. Its lobby reminds me of a chic night club in Atlanta or Miami with low lights, couches and big chairs. In the evenings, the music was playing loud and the TVs at the bar showed recent music videos. The front desk staff was friendly and informative.

Our room was on the 11th, which was a good location. The view from the room was not desirable but who was there to look outside. The room was clean and functional. The artwork on the walls of topless women was interesting to say the least but its art!

Dislike: The phones did not make local calls. Every time I wanted to place a call, I had to call the front desk and they dialed the number for me. This was aggravating.

Food/Drinks:
We booked a breakfast package which also included $20 credit at the Martini bar each night. For breakfast, we mainly ate at the Fusion restaurant. It was lovely. During the week there is a dress code of no shorts, no sandals & no tank tops. The breakfast included a buffet of fruit, cheeses, & cereals. In addition, you could order omelets, pancakes, French toast and more from the one sheet menu.

Dislike: The restaurant on the next floor was awful for breakfast. The service was lacking. It was only a buffet and was overrun by kids. Although it did not have a dress code, I wouldn’t go back.

Internet:
It’s free for members! Make sure you sign up for the Carlson club prior to your arrival or at the front desk.

Gym:
It was small but functional. It had 3 treadmills, 2 elliptical, 3 spinning bikes, an all-in-one weight machine and free weights. The cardio equipment had its own TVs. We only had to sign our name & room number for admittance.

Tours:
We had problems booking a tour at the hotel because they only had English speaking guides on certain days. This was a disappointment. The tours were also expensive. If possible, research and book your tours in advance. We did arrange on our own a trip to the Gamboa Resort to do the Ariel Tram. The taxi ride was just $30 one way and it took less than an hour to get there. Call the resort directly to book the tour.

Beach:
The best beaches are 2 hours away. If you are coming for a little sun & relaxing by the ocean, this is not the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffanyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Andrea P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us here in Radisson Decapolis Hotel. We are very happy to know that you could enjoy of our great location and all we have close to us just to give you an excellent service and a fantastic visit to Panama. We hope you come back soon and give us the honor to welcome you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My finance and I stayed at the Radisson Decapolis over Easter weekend, and I have mostly positive things to say about our stay. As for the positive, our suite was clean, had a wonderful view of the bay and skyline, very charming, comfortable and very reasonable at $150/night. The location was convenient being close to the promanade, where we jogged and took a beautiful night-time stroll along the bay, the majastic casino if you are interetsed in that, a large mall, and some nice restaurants and bars. The breakfast, which was included, was also very good, as was the bar and pool scene (although the pool was quite small and I wouldn't stay at this hotel is your main objevctive is to lounge around a pool all weekend as it's much too small for that). Also, the front desk and consiere were very helpful.
As for the negative, we had a less than great experience at the hotel's Spa. We paid extra to have fee access to the spa facilities as I love a good steam after a day of sight seeing. But every time we signed in to use the spa, the people at the desk made us feel less than welcome, and it took a good 5 minutes on each occassion before they would grant us entrance. Once inside, I found the spa clean but far too small to accomodate more than 4 or 5 users at a time. There are only 2 sinks and 2 showers, and no place to change. Perhaps that's why they made it so difficult for us to enter.
Also, I was a bit turned off by the fact that I paid extra for an executive room, which gave us access to the VIP lounge. However, since it was Easter weekend, the VIP lounge was closed. That is understandable. However, what I found annoying was the fact that the hotel would not refund the extra amount I paid under the asumption that I would have access to mthe VIP lounge. Other than this and the spa experience, however, we were quite happy with our choise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Andrea P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us here in Radisson Decapolis Hotel. We are very happy to know that you could enjoy of our great location and all we have close to us just to give you an excellent service and a fantastic visit to Panama. We hope you come back soon and give us the honor to welcome you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#18 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City

Property: Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City
Address: Avenida Balboa-Multicentro, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Panama City
#3 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#7 Business Hotel in Panama City
#12 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Panama City
Hotel Decapolis Panama
Panama City Radisson
Decapolis Hotel Panama
Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing