We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great new hotel attatched to the Albrook Mall. Only had one night here before flying up to Bocas and wished I had booked it for our return as well rather than where we did stay. Everything is still very new and so in good condition. Rooms are very nice, sound proofed which is good in Panama. Great aircon , cable TV, safe, Tea and coffee and an iron and ironing board if required. Contrary to a previous poster I did not find the beds hard, everyone is different. The included buffet breakfast was good with a decent selection and an omlet station.Pool looked nice but no time for a dip. If getting a cab tell them that you want a normal yellow cab, the hotel one is overpriced as is true of all Panama hotels. Great location if you are taking an internal flight but be aware traffic can be horrific and a 5 minute trip can be a lot longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel being connected to Albrook Mall and just 4 minutes to Albrook Airport where you could catch your early morning flight to Bocas. Our hotel does have a company that offers transportation service 24 hours and our guest are also welcome to call “yellow cab”. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    479
    105
    18
    7
See reviews for
485
356
77
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place is just okay. The service is average. They double charged us for something at the cafe, which we're still in the process of trying to resolve. The shower drain was clogged, which always grosses me out. The pros are that the bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. Ambiance is zero. It is, and feels like it is, located in a mall. But close to domestic airport and panama canal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for you for staying with us and for your detailed feedback. I am glad to hear that your bed was comfortable and that your room was quiet. I apologize that you were double billed in our cafe. If this has not been resolved, please email at gsimon@tryphotel-am.com and I will take care of it immediately. I also apologize that you felt our “ambiance is zero” – we are working on some new promotions in our Gastro Bar and will be adding an additional large screen TV in the bar as many of our guests enjoy watching sporting events. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcan, Panama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This place ALMOST does it. The overall visual effect is probably the best thing.
Construction: Very nicely made with the exception of cheap, flimsy toilet seats.
Infinity pool GORGEOUS!
Room: Looked great, beds hard as a rock.
Location: Loved that it was connected to the Albrook Mall. Access to/from city streets difficult.
Cleanliness: Spot on. Only issue - There wasn't a "Do Not Disturb" door hanger and the door hanger that was there didn't keep the cleaning staff out. They did a WONDERFUL job, just didn't want them to.
Staff: Front desk speaks English and our (Travelocity reservation) check-in time was fairly quick
Car was valet parked before I was through checking in. Not sure I liked that. When I got out of the car after an 8 hour drive, I didn't realize I wouldn't have time to do a last sweep, tidy it up or put my GPS away.
General helpfulness: Sadly lacking. First hotel I've been to that didn't have a map of the area available. Plus, no map of the Mall. Really?
We twice asked: Can you rent an electric wheelchair? Neither person ever called our room with an answer. BTW - No you can't.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for you for staying with us and for your detailed feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our “GORGEOUS” infinity pool, our guest rooms and the fact that we are connected to Albrook Mall. I apologize that we forgot to place the "Do Not Disturb" door hanger in your room. Should you stay with us again I wanted to let you know that we also provide an electronic “Privacy” and “Make Up Room” buttons inside your room, near the door. Pressing the “Privacy” button activates a small “Privacy” sign outside your guest room and your doorbell is deactivated. Pressing the “Make Up Room” button activates a small “green light” to let the housekeeper know you would like your room cleaned. Regarding maps for Panama City -- they are hard to find. Two suggestions I can offer is a “free” smart phone application that a lot of people use called “WAZE” it works just like a GPS and it also alerts you if police are on the road ahead of you or you can use a GPS. Regarding an electric wheelchair, I apologize that we did not get back to your regarding the information you requested. Should you return to Panama and need an electric wheelchair you can rent them from Hogar y Salud, located on Via Israel, the telephone is (507) 236-6097, main contact is Yasury Ledezma and the email address is equiposd@hogarysalud.net Our goal is to make sure every guest leaves satisfied and I apologize that this this was not the case with your stay. If I can be of further assistance with questions or future reservations, please email at gsimon@tryphotel-am.com We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

As my title says, everything about this hotel is just okay. Let's start with check-in. Six people in line took about an hour. Three people were behind the desk, but only one actually doing the check-in. It wouldn't be such a big deal, if it wasn't the normal check-in time published by the hotel. For the most part the staff was friendly, however, none of them seemed to give that little extra effort you would see at Tryp Times Square or LA. The pool was a little rooftop pool with a small bar. The best word to describe it was okay. The rooms were what I expected and comparable to most other hotels. The only complaint I had was that they were remodeling some of the rooms. Instead of blocking off part of the wing or floor to do this, they just "worked around" the guest. So we had some hammering and paint smell. Overall, I'd rate this hotel as "Okay".

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your detailed review. I apologize for the slow check-in time. Our goal is to check in a guest in 4 to 5 minutes; however, during the peak check-in & check-out times it will take longer if there is a line. Regarding the noise you heard, you were probably on a floor where we are completing a “PM” – a preventive maintenance program in the guest room. Every room in the hotel receives a “PM” every 6 months to maintain our room quality. We try to do this midweek during the day when the majority of the guests are not in the hotel as this is a challenging task as the hotel operates “24 – 7”. I apologize that you heard hammering and smelled paint. Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel is clean, new, and modern. That's the good part. The service is slow. It to the 4 people in my party 40min to check in. The hotel also has a transport service to take care of you taxi needs. DO NOT US THIS. They are way over priced. In our first outing we wanted to go to the Canal de Panama Miraflores. It is less the 5 min from the hotel and the driver wants $61.00 OUTRAGES. We walked the extra five feet to the curb and jumped in a yellow cab for $5. The concierge is also of no help. Weather you are asking for directions or a place to eat, her only response is NO LO S'e (I don't know). So good luck and keep an eye on the staff

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your detailed review. I am so glad that you found the hotel clean, new and modern. I apologize for the slow check-in time. Our goal is to check in a guest in 4 to 5 minutes; however, during the peak check-in & check-out times it will take longer if there is a line. Regarding the cab service at the hotel – all guests have two options. As the hotel needs to have car service available for guests 24 hours a day, we have an agreement with an outside company to provide car servcie, they set the rates and the hotel receives no commission from this company. We have heard complaints about the current company so we are in dialogue with them and are also meeting with other transportation companies. Guests are also welcome to use yellow cab service if they so desire. I believe by the concierge you are referring to the desk where tours are sold. I will talk to them about the need to assist guests or refer them to our front desk team. Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Hotel Tyrp in Panama City is a relatively new hotel having open in August of 2013. In some aspects they are still working the bugs out of things so in full disclosure I'm giving them a pass on some things that would bother me in other places.
The majority of the staff is one of the friendliest I have ever met, and it is not a forced thing; they seem to genuinely want to help and ensure your stay is as pleasant as possible. The manager has a get together Tuesday's and Friday's with free food and alcohol just to get input on the staff and how to improve the hotel.
The hotel seems to be in a poor location and is attached to the largest mall I have ever seen, if you like shopping it's the place for you. When talking to the locals about the town layout the hotels at the waterfront have nothing around them and the area of town that has the majority of clubs and bars doesn't have hotels - the Tryp is right between the two so you can go the the club scene or to the restaurants on the water with a 10 minute cab ride.
Cabs are the one area the hotel needs to improve upon. We had several problems with cabs approved by the hotel, here is the worst of them. We called for a taxi to take five people to Old Town for dinner and when it showed we were told it would be $61, we refused, walked to the mall and hired two cabs to the same location for $10 each. We spoke to the manager about this and he was very concerned and we were told he would address the issue with the staff. Having talked with him for a half hour about non-hotel related subjects I have complete faith the problem will be fixed.
All in all, the Hotel Tryp is a great hotel for the money, with all of the amenities, located in a good location. If you are ever going to Panama City I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 7th and 8th floors near the pool; they are also near the gym and when folks start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. I am so glad that you found that our staff to be one of the friendliness you have meant and that they genuinely want to help. Regarding the cab service at the hotel – all guests have two options. As the hotel needs to have car service available for guests 24 hours a day, we have an agreement with an outside company to provide car servcie, they set the rates and the hotel receives no commission from this company. We have heard complaints about the current company so we are in dialogue with them and are also meeting with other transportation companies. Guests are also welcome to use yellow cab service if they so desire. Thank you so much for highly recommending our hotel – it is a pleasure to serve you. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The new Tryp is located connected to Albrook Mall, a huge shopping complex with hundreds of stores and restaurants with views of Ancon Hill and the city. It is also just a few minutes from Panama City's financial district and all of the attractions in the City. The sense of arrival in the lobby is chic, modern and welcoming with floor to ceiling windows everywhere. The lobby has a restaurant with daily breakfast buffet that was great for us, especially traveling with young children. Our room was modern and very well designed. One evening my son was not feeling well and the Room Service team recommended their delicious "sancocho" chicken soup for him and it was fantastic. The hotel has a fun high-energy vibe and since it is brand-new, the accommodations are state of the art. I would highly recommend this hotel, great experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjmilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn S, General Manager at Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review of our hotel. I was glad to hear that our room service team recommended Panama’s famous “Sancocho" chicken soup for your sick son and that the soup tasted fantastic. As you mentioned, many guests have told us that they appreciate the convenience of our hotel being connected to Albrook Mall – the largest shopping mall in Central America along with the views from our roof-top infinity pool where you can lounge, soak in the sun and enjoy the amazing sights of Ancon Hill (highest point in Panama City), the city, Balboa Port, and Albrook Airport. Thank you for “highly recommending” our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back should you travel plans bring you back to Panama. Hasta Luego -- Glenn Simon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
2.4 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
3.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#18 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall

Property: Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Address: Ave. Marginal, Ancon | Albrook Mall Shopping Center, Panama City 00000, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the largest shopping mall in Latin America (Albrook Mall), less than 5 min away from the City of Knowledge, Panama Canal & the US Embassy & 10 min away from the Financial District, this upscale Wyndham is 35 minutes from Tocumen Intl. Arpt. (PTY). Wyndham offers 331 comfortable guest rooms, 3 restaurants & lounges, cutting-edge technology, over 36,000 sq.Ft. Of naturally-lit meeting space, a roof-top solarium and infinity pool and direct access to over 600 shops and boutiques of Albrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing