We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean, safe, good neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand International Hotel
Ranked #61 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Loudonville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super clean, safe, good neighborhood”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Was picked up from the airport as arranged. Very! nice room. Walls, floors were all granite with large glass enclosed bathroom, safe in room. Made reservations about 3 weeks prior and paid $67 per night. Good neighborhood. Meet Roberto Duran at his sports bar a couple blocks away--a true boxing legend! The front desk employees were terrific but not so good with English. Hey, this is Panama. A VERY NICE HOTEL!!!!!

Room Tip: All should be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    176
    128
    57
    47
See reviews for
134
160
60
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

It's a lovely looking hotel: three and a half stars for decor and position. However, there are many problems with it. Getting someone to understand our booking was the first, which was really unwelcome after an eleven hour flight and twenty hours of travelling! Although the reception staff were unfailingly cheerful and tried to be helpful, some of them were not English-speaking. I wasn't sure the room was clean or the undersheet changed when we arrived. The air conditioner in the room we stayed in on our first visit was okay but noisy - on our return, we had another room where the air conditioner was so noisy we had to turn it off overnight.The breakfast was very poor - and for someone with a dairy allergy, impossible. The coffee was awful, the fruit salad variable. All the bread had butter in, which made me ill. It was difficult to access the Internet from anywhere but the lounge. MY PHONE WAS STOLEN FROM OUR ROOM - the manager, to give him credit, has done everything possible to track it down but without success. I haven't been offered compensation for it, either. There was an important problem with the ROOM KEYS: all three keys for the four members of our group were MASTER KEYS and opened other rooms! When we discovered this, they were replaced, but on one of the following days one of our group found someone else's luggage in his room so it must be quite a common occurrence - this is probably how my phone went AWOL. Although the hotel was in a good position, and lovely on the surface, we won't be going back. If we hadn't already arranged the second visit (before going to the airport), we would have found somewhere else for our final night.

Room Tip: Try your keys in other doors! Don't get caught like I was and have stuff stolen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bear_Tyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Rude customer service, no hot water in some rooms (They're not willing to move you to other room), odors in rooms terrible, bathrooms unclean and shower with hair all over,.nasty!!!
Our group (10 people) was enormously disappointed. Recommendation: Find another hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimowen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneek, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

When we arrived the hotel was closed (01:00 a.m.) We had a reservation. Someone (not english speaking (Grand INTERNATIONAL?)) turned up when rattling the door. We got our room but...it wasn't cleaned. Second room....had no fridge and an empty condom package in the drawer! And still nobody was speaking english... At last the employee called the manager and he settled things nicely, great guy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gromule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Somehow I stayed here two times. I guess I thought that it was a fluke that there was mouse poop on my bed, my water never got hot, the front desk staff were TERRIBLY RUDE and SLOW, there was basically no wifi, and the breakfast (especially the coffee) was awful. I'm crazy to have returned, but the price is so good. This time my water was cold, I was told "well it's your fault for letting us know after 5pm, now the maintenance guy is gone.", there were no hairdryers (I don't think they actually have any), no wifi, my AC just blew hot air around and made lots of noise, I found pubic hairs in my bed when I pulled back the blanket, the shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a week, the towels were threadbare, and the service was actually WORSE than the first time around. The snotty girl at the front desk sneered at me more than anything else, and told me "you have to go out and buy it" when I asked for a cup of ice. When we asked for a second key to the room, she didn't even look up from her computer to say no. When we first got there, she acted like we didn't have a reservation because she couldn't find it in her pile of paperwork spread out across the desk. Finally, she kept interrupting me during our check in to answer questions and get things for other guests. The only time I ever saw her smile was when she was making fun of other guests with another staff member. I won't make the same mistake again.
THIS HOTEL IS NOT EVEN WORTH THE CHEAP PRICE.

Room Tip: FInd somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K-suerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Positive points : good value for money (40 euros per night breakfast included); comfortable bed, quite room, neighborhood safe and not far from center, good lift.

Neutral ponts : staff (some kind and help oriented, other not so), medium room size, cleaning, limited brakfast choice.

Negative points : no electric plugs in the bathroom, low celings, no fixed internet, no minibar, no or very scarce information about tours or tourist activities, safe difficult to operate because eccentric placement in a closet corner , at least five minutes waiting for shower water to become hot, aircon too noisy for me, no swimming pool and no fitness center.

Room Tip: Back rooms are more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft worth, tx
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

got there & no Wi-Fi in room changed rooms and the Wi-Fi was weak and kept disconnecting me but I did not want change rooms so i decided to grin and bare it, Wi-Fi is bad everywhere in the hotel, The hotel web site shows they had hairdryers on requested, I asked for one several times they said they would get me one finally at about 9 PM they said that they did not have any so I had to go spend $40 to get one. at about 11PM I started to take a shower and there was no hot water, they did not have the boiler lit so they lit it but said it would be 4 hours before it got hot. There were no plugs in bathroom to plug in dryer and shaver, the room did not have a clock/radio of any kind. I had paid for 4 nights but left the next morning. they did refund me for 3 nights but stll charged me for the night from hell just glad to be out of there, talked to other guest the next AM and they also had no hot water. would not recommend to any one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 114 in Panama City
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#54 of 114 in Panama City
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#56 of 114 in Panama City
330 reviews
1.5 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 114 in Panama City
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#60 of 114 in Panama City
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand International Hotel

Property: Grand International Hotel
Address: Via Argentina, Esquina con Calle Jose Marti | Via argentina con calle jose marti el cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand International Hotel has an excellent and strategic location on Via Argentina, near the banking district just a few minutes from the best restaurants, entertainment and shops. Very close to major shopping centers Panama City and just 25 minutes from Tocumen International Airport. We have 118 fully equipped and comfortable room to make your stay very pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand International Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing