We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Panama: Off the beaten path” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Adventures by Kalu Yala - CLOSED

Jungle Adventures by Kalu Yala
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Kalu Yala valley is focused on sustainable practices, quality services and adventures, and providing an authentic experience with unforgettable memories while also maintaining an intimate and personalized tour. Tours are limited to 8 guests to maintain our high guest service standards- reserve your spot as soon as your travel plans are set!Your personal guide will meet you in the city and take your group via private transportation to the village of San Miguel where we have a Kalu Yala house to re-organize at and drop off unneeded items.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
Kyle, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Panama: Off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was on a site visit of Kalu Yala Internships, and had the privilege of being guided by Jungle Adventures off the beaten path in Panama. We started off in Panama City, and took a bus to San Miguel, a small town outside of Panama City. From there, we hiked on a beautiful, rugged road into the jungle to live and explore wild Panama with the interns at Kalu Yala. We stayed in a ranchero, ate delicious fresh food, and had great conversations about sustainability and community. The trip was tailored to my interests and I got to go spear fishing in the Pacora River, explore a giant bamboo stand, hike to the orchard and eat fresh tamarindos and other tropical fruit right off the trees. I also hiked up the Honey Creeper Trail into the mountains to see the valley that backs up to Chagres National Park--a view like no other! Thanks Jocelyn and Jungle Adventures for a wonderful trip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn K, Owner at Jungle Adventures by Kalu Yala, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you, Christine for the wonderful and detailed review! It was a pleasure to be a part of Professor Appreciation weekend, and for my to facilitate your own exploration of jungle living in the Kalu Yala jungle valley. We've grown and added so much already- you will have to come back!

Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Outdoor Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The 3 days I spent on a Jungle Adventures tour in Panama was the most exciting part of my travels there! We hiked into this beautiful jungle valley to join the individuals working towards building a sustainable community; a social environment that was hard to leave! I spent my time hiking to a beautiful waterfall, hanging by the river's beach, and putting a machete to use. The guide, Jocelyn, has such a fun personality and really tailored to the group's desires! I would definitely recommend to others.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ATingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bold and exciting adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Jungle Advenutures with Jocleyn is a stupendous way to visit the Panamanian Jungle.
The Adventure Hike is invigorating. We would recommend to a friend

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect way to see the jungle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Jungle Adventures is a wonderful way to experience the Panamanian jungle in a way most don't get to see; hiking around the rustic valley site is exhilarating! (as is hanging out by the river :) One of the best parts is being immersed in a sustainable living environment for several days and meeting the individuals committed to making this lifestyle a reality. Jocelyn, the tour guide, is a very welcoming host with a lot of knowledge of the valley site!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Maine
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Adventure in Panama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent 3 exciting days exploring Kalu Yala and the surrinding environment. Had a fantastic time and Jocelyn was an outstanding guide. The students/supervisors at Kalu Yala were the best part -great people and a lot of fun! Good food, too.
Dave

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn K, Owner at Jungle Adventures by Kalu Yala, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, Dave! It was great having you on the tour and I'm glad you took advantage of the experience to get in everything you wanted. Including some good rio rock time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Adventures by Kalu Yala also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing