We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there on a weekend”

Hotel y Hostel White Lion
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel y Hostel White Lion
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I got there on a Friday and was shown to my fourth floor room only to be told that the fifth floor is a discotheque on the weekends and there are no hostel rooms below the fourth floor. The theme of the night was "a tribute to skrillex" and it went until 4am. If I slept at all I had some pretty weird dreams

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 53 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

When we arrived in Panama City without a hostel reservation we ended up at White Lion because they were the only ones with free rooms.
The reception area was really nice and the rooms we were about to move in pretty expensive for our taste (55$ per room) so we thought this must be a nice place. But wait...
We were two couples and our friends got a pretty nice room but without windows. We ended up in a room for 4, but we slept in the double bed. The additional bunk bed didn't seem so stable. The room hadn't been cleaned yet (it was 8pm!) so we waited for a few minutes. All they did was change the sheets on the one bed we were about to use and take out the garbage. I had to clean the toilet seat because it had several suspicious stains on it (and they could be removed easily!).
They had also forgotten to give us towels. No problem, I thought, these things happen. So I went downstairs to the very nice receptionist and asked her. Unfortunately she works super slowly and we waited 30min for towels without success. So I went downstairs again to remind her because we wanted to take a shower badly... and a third time until finally a nice French guy gave me towels, toilet paper and soap.
We slept pretty well after the music from the bar next door stopped at 11:30ish, because you could hear everything through the cardboard walls. The only plus was that the bed was comfy and the room was air conditioned.
In the morning we could only have a cold shower, which is usually fine in such a hot climate but not in an air conditioned room. Well.. At least we were looking forward to the included "continental breakfast". It turned out to be two slices of toast plus one slice of cheese. If you asked for it they gave you an apple. The girl giving out breakfast was doing so very bored looking and every extra movement seemed to bother her.
The location of the hostel is okay. It is still in Casco Viejo I think but the street where it is located gets sketchy at night because of the neighboring bad areas. There were homeless people sleeping on the other side of the street and a lot of garbage was lying around and smelling.

All in all, the hostel is okay but service is lacking. If they work on that and all the easily changed things it could be a really nice place. But for now it's a disappointment and an expensive one. Maybe they just need a few years?

Room Tip: 206 looked nice (55$). 103 is cheaper (35$) and basically the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LolaTheMonkeyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I spent a night there. First a noticed that lights and fans didn't work in the dorm. Then when I climbed the ladder to go the the very average bed, the whole thing almost fell on me. The door didn't work properly, so every bit of wind, it would open and close.
That night there was like a party in there bar on the last floor and the music was so loud, I couldn't sleep, even with earplugs.
The next day I needed to do wash some clothes. They have a laundry service, but it's twice the price of every places I've been in Panama and they lost a piece and just did't care.
One last thing. Guys I met there booked a trip to San Blas with them. The hostel took care of the hotel over there, but forgot to book transportation. Nice.
So, I don't usually write bad critics, but please, White Lion hostel, try to improve a little bit, cause for the same price, we can go to really better places.

Room Tip: check if the fans work, cause it can get pretty hot in this city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camille b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

How is this place...any comments reviews..is there a contact phone #...marah Toronto...i will be heading there jan 1-3, 2013...location, accommodation..any comments...anyone?? please advise...hoiw do we get in touch with this hostel/hotel/

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakikkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: El wifi solo funcionaba en la recepción.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libertella2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos com banheiro privativo ficam mais bem localizados no hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, traveled solo
Thank pd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#60 of 115 in Panama City
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#53 of 115 in Panama City
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 115 in Panama City
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gatto Blanco
Hotel Gatto Blanco
#92 of 115 in Panama City
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#34 of 115 in Panama City
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#65 of 115 in Panama City
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel y Hostel White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel y Hostel White Lion

Address: Calle 12 Entre Ave. b y Eloy Alfaro | casco viejo panama, Panama City 0850, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: $13 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel y Hostel White Lion 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Hotel y Hostel White Lion Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing