We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Saba Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Panama Marriott Hotel(Panama City)
$204
$143
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$114
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis(Panama City)
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riande Aeropuerto(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$100
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$182
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$144
$107
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
56
63
24
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
63
24
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelhot watercoffee makerel cangrejogreat neighborhoodnice bathroomfront desk stafffour nightstaxipanamaconveniencecanal
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 158 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

After reading the trip advisor reviews we booked the Saba hotel for 4 nights. This hotel has been around for one year so we expected much more than we received.

Do not stay here if you don't speak Spanish. This is a local hotel and NO ONE speaks English. We were not sure whether they just can't speak English or whether they just pretend they don't understand and do not respond. The front desk would just smile,nod but simple requests like more toilet paper, were never fulfilled.

Do not stay here if you enjoy a clean room. The maid from hell would not give us more than 1 hand towel at a time. Forget the face cloths or Kleenex and when we went to use the bath gel the tube was empty. It was left over from the last guest. Who stayed there

No additional toilet paper and the floors were not swept or washed the whole 4 days. The dust bunnies filled with someone else's hair became our friends for the whole time we were there. We wiped the floor with paper and it came up black with dirt. We brought the dirty paper to the desk and asked for the floor to be cleaned. All we got was a smile but no response.

The server in the restaurant was another disaster. Stubborn and couldn't get her act together. While we didn't starve, it was an ordeal. After the first day she warmed up and the service improved.

On the last day the internet went down but the people behind the desk would not admit anything was wrong even after several people complained.

Trip advisor, you missed on this one.






Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank kmsdodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was the third time we have stayed at Saba. The property is kept immaculate. It is safe for families and free of noise. The staff was very polite and responsive to questions and offered to help at every turn. Very limited English but they keep Google Translate handy to help and therefore we had no trouble communicating. The restaurant served delicious food, although the menu was very limited and they have no alcohol permit so no beer or wine. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed there for a very good price and its location is also good, in a busy street with bars and restaurants in the nearby. The room and bathroom were big and confortable. The staff is extremely friendly, including Mauricio, the taxi driver that works with the hotel. However, breakfast could be a lot better, considering the lack of options...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofiagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Our room was clean, nicely decorated, had effective (and quiet) air conditioning, and a safe that was big enough for laptops. The wifi was fast (forgot to do a speed test, but had no problems streaming video). I felt very well taken care of and safe in this hotel. It's also just about 100 feet from a nice park and there are restaurants all along via Argentina. There is a cafe in the lobby where we had breakfast -- one of the better omelets I have had. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back -- just in case the front rooms get a lot of street noise.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VegetarianViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I booked one night and I had requested hotel transport to pick me up at the airport which was waiting with my name as they said.
About the taxi driver, Mauricio, one of their trusted drivers that always beside the hotel waiting for guests requests, was very polite and friendly. Next day gave me a tour to the Panama Canal and told me all he new about it, was excellent. After that I went for a walk and he picked me up in a different point bringing my bags that I had left in the hotel and went straight to the airport, totally somebody one can trust, perhaps more expensive than a regular taxi but less hassle, as is a bit difficult to stop one. Taxi drivers seems to have their own rules in this town, tourists are welcome with higher prices IF they choose to take you.
About the hotel, the receptionists were polite and helpful, with the best of attitudes. The room was tidy, well decorated, equipped and everything was working. Mini bar ok. Internet connection was good. My concern was the bathroom, the shower was lovely and had everything one needs but the cleanliness I expected was not there. The sink area was not properly cleaned and they haven't completely wipe off the sealing material they use when building it. The worse part was that the dirty toilet seat, it looked like somebody just used it, which was very unpleasant. Beside that the room it self looked spotless. Next morning breakfast was fast and good, it included eggs of your choice, orange juice, coffee or tea and toasts.

I would have added some fruits, cereals and yogurt for breakfast. And they should pay much more attention with the cleaning specially with the bathrooms.

Is not close from the Canal. Maybe walkable (40min) to the Mercado de Mariscos (seafood market) and the Casco Viejo (old quarter). But is in a quite & safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rociogut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews