We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, bright, wonderful staff, great location!”
Review of The Saba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Saba Hotel
Ranked #61 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We loved the 3 nights we stayed at the Saba Hotel. It was the only hotel on our 3 1/2 week trip to Panama where I actually got a good night's sleep. The beds and pillows are very comfortable... and I'm picky. The lobby and rooms are clean, bright, aesthetically-pleasing and contemporary with all the things you'd expect at a hotel. There's even an oversized shower in the bathroom!

The staff is wonderful, especially Veronica and the guy who wears a suit (sorry I didn't catch his name) at the front desk. They both speak good English and were quite helpful when it came to all of our questions, having just arrived in Panama for the first time. They called cabs when we needed them, suggested restaurants and interpreted for us when non-English speaking staff needed to communicate.

My only complaint, which should not deter you from staying here, is breakfast. You get a choice of 4 things: pancakes, French toast, scrambled eggs (with white toast) or an omelet (with white toast). What can I say? It's just not good. None of it is very tasty, and we tried it all. They did also include some fresh fruit, juice (the pineapple juice was amazing!) and coffee, but the portions are small, especially when you're fueling up for a crazy day of navigating the city. You get one plate without the option of seconds unless you pay for it. We were always starving an hour later. If I had to do it over, I would go to Cafe Suzette less than a block down for a very large omelet with whole wheat toast.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the back of the hotel. The view is ugly, but it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristin4health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Public Relations Manager at The Saba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your excellent comments. For us it is very gratifying to know that you enjoy your stay in Panama and we contribute in this ...

Gladly we will pass your breakfast comments to our Chef to consider this aspect.

We are very pleased that you have taken time to write about The Saba Hotel, particularly good.

Hopefully you can visit us in the future, we will be happy to assist you.

Warm regards,

MR
The Saba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 146 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Not in a bad, cheap kind of way...it's just the best way I can think to describe it. Very very clean, great AC, can't wait to try out the bed tonight (seems really nice), and the staff has been awesome.

The restaurant downstairs (Bamboo Cafe) was pretty spendy for what we got - our total bill for 3 entrees (+ 4 bottles of water because we're afraid to drink local tap water lol) was $56 (it included a 10% gratuity). Food was really good, presentation was good, staff was great...just a little spendy.

Lots of restaurants and small shops in easy walking distance and a really nice huge park right across the street.

Will report back after our stay - beginning of a 3 night stay for our family of 4!

Room Tip: We have a room in the back - it is small, but even with 4 of us in the room, totally workable. Const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newdad28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Guest Relations Manager at The Saba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments, we are pleased that your stay was enjoyable.

Regarding Bamboo Cafe prices we will raise their opinion to the Administration to analyze.

Again, thank you for giving your time and comments so special.

Best regards,

MR
The Saba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lovely quiet hotel in Panama City. Clean and big bathrooms and bedrooms. The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to facilitate your requests - from calling taxis, getting extra beach hotels etc. The breakfast is very good. There are many smaller cafes and restaurants on Via Argentina where you can get lunch and dinner. Worth staying here while in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Guest Relations Manager at The Saba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your comments, we are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. This is what we do to maintain quality and provide the best.

We really appreciate the time has dedicated to publicize our services and benefits in the city.

Warm regards,

Michelle R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very nice interesting hotel, shame i got put on the back of the hotel which are VERY small rooms, don'0t get me wrong, the bed occupies 60% of the room and is amazing, but if you stay here, better check for rooms on the sides or front... same price! unless you prefer a big FAT bed )) for a good night sleep, or what not.

Room Tip: read review :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Guest Relations Manager at The Saba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments ... In fact we do have spacious and smaller rooms based on the rates, or requests.

I am happy that you enjoyed our Angel Wings Bed Experience during your stay.

Thanks again for the opportunity to serve you. We really hope to attend you again...


Michelle R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A great little hotel all clean and tidy with an Ibis feel of contemporary style.
Great area with huge selection of good cheap food, local shopping, close to the coast and historical district and $10 trip to the Panama Canal.
The deal is clean,good service,limited English so polish up on a few words of Spanish and charades.
The local restaurant at the end of the street ( via Argentina) on the opposite side of the road is fabulous, try the seafood soup, or the crumbed prawns, did I mention the tart la casa ( cream bruli)

Room Tip: Panama is a going forward city , and will be wonderful in a decade, get there now and discover the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Guest Relations Manager at The Saba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We are pleased to have your excellents comments of The Saba Hotel. We greatly appreciated.

Always good to have the opportunity to know how was the stay of our Guest, to maintain consistency and continue to provide a fantastic attention and best stay ...

Thank you! I hope in the future in his The Saba Hotel...

Warm regards,

Michelle R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very nice and stilish hotel in the centre of Panama city. The hotel is quite new and very well located, next to a lot of restaurants and bars. Rooms are very clean and quite.
Excellent breakfast and very good service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fede2109187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Guest Relations Manager at The Saba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks a lot Sir!. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Saba.

Thanks for your great comments, we are very pleased to know it.

We hope to attend you again in the future.

Regards,

Michelle R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I live in Panama City, but after an unexpected flood in my apt (cheap washing machine), I ended up spending a night at the Saba. The beds are very comfortable and clean, as are the rooms. The bathrooms have a cool vibe, but not much privacy (glass doors). The eco-friendliness of the hotel is a really pleasant here in Panama, where there is no recycling anywhere. The lights are on timers, you must be in your room to use the a/c, and there are a lot of other little energy-saving initiatives.

The breakfast was good, with a huge selection (did we want omelets or pancakes or waffles or English breakfast) and good service... and fresh orange juice! From now on, when friends from the States come to visit, I am immediately sending them to the Hotel Saba.

Room Tip: rooms in the back, away from Via Argentina, are much quieter. You get a boring view of a parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Guest Relations Manager at The Saba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios... The Saba Hotel fue diseñando pensando en nuestros huéspedes y en lo natural, por ello cuando recibimos todos estos lindos comentarios nos sentimos muy complacidos y motivados de continuar ofreciendo lo mejor a todos nuestros Clientes...

Una vez más, gracias... Estamos felices de atenderle siempre!

Buen día!

Michelle R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#57 of 115 in Panama City
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 115 in Panama City
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
0.3 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#62 of 115 in Panama City
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#16 of 115 in Panama City
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saba Hotel

Address: Via Argentina | Front of Andres Bello Park, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: $46 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Saba Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Saba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saba Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing