We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Ranked #22 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location and staff”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The lobby looks modern and well maintained. Rooms were clean and staff are very professional. At times there way a small language barrier with the service staff but not bad...of course we are the ones from a different country. Any room service request was responded or delivered very promptly. Based on the reviews earlier, I made sure to ask if our breakfast was complimentary before having their buffet, which was quite good (scrambles eggs, sausage, some potato and/or yuca and or corn, make your own waffle, fruit juices, yogurt, deli meats and bread/pastries). The gym was small but the machines are newer. The jacuzzi didnt have a hot water :( only warm water. I didnt go into the sauna. Free wi-fi was great. We were only here for 3 nights so we didnt intend to use the amenities that much.

This is a good location and it not too far for a cab ride to the tourist attractions. Additionally, there are convenience stores, restaurants and shopping in a walkable vicinity. Don't make the mistake we did initially by paying over 10 bucks to go to Casco Viejo....most every cab ride within the city should be <$5 unless you are going to the Causeway or further (that may be >$10 or so each way). Tell cabs/tour vans that that the location is the Tryp-Wyndam hotel in Via Veneto (the street) in El Congrejo....so they get confused with other hotels.

Over all, not bad for the price and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Water F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of our staff and myself I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us at the Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro hotel and let us know your wonderful experience during your visit to the property and Panama. I will make sure that our associates and managers listen to your comments so we can keep tuning up our services for you and all our future guests.

Thank You and we hope that you can visit us and let us exceed your expectations one more time..

Gracias!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    452
    109
    29
    19
See reviews for
237
473
92
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, null, Netherlands Antilles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I loved this hotel. The hotel is new, the rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff were very friendly. I was sick and the staff were asking me every day how I feel. The location is good, the hotel is near restaurants, other hotels and Via Espana (walking distance) and near to the albrook mall and Multiplaza (+- 5 USD taxi). The neighborhood was not that clean and the buildings were a little bit old, but still, I enjoyed my stay! And I got a very good deal with breakfast included. The breakfast was good and check in/ check out went very quick. This is not a 5 star hotel, but it is a nice hotel. I will recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sharinette

We really appreciate your great comments and visit. Also would like to thank you for stay with us at the hotel Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, It has been great to hear that you had a wonderful time at our hotel and that our location made it easy for you to move around Panama City.

We hope you can stay with us one more if the travel bring you back to Panama again and we can meet or exceed you expectations..

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I booked this hotel in a hurry, basically based on the good reviews and nice pictures. I also assumed this place would be in the 'centro', but unfortunately it isn't... it's on the edge of the commericial centre, in a rather dull neighbourhood. You basically need to take a cab everywhere, which is quite common in Panama City.

Having said that, the amenities are fantastic. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms very luxurious. WIFI works is fast (if it's not raining) and the restaurant is good.

If you don't mind being a bit away from it all - go ahead and book!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmeronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your chosen our Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro hotel during your visit to Panama City and let us that was very comfortable your stay.

As you mentioned we are in edge of the business district, actually the North edge of it, but our location it is the city center of Panama city. The business and banking area is in the south of the City toward Balboa Ave and Calle 50. Since we are more in the center of the City and walking distance (less than 1km) to banking area, our location make us very accessible for any guest that want to visit Malls, Old Quarter of Casco Viejo or even the banking area or business district. Al this within 1 to 5 km radio.

We would like to thank you again for your visit. We hope you can visit us again if the travel bring you back to Panama again...

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Initial stay was supposed to be 5 days. So impressed, we stayed an additional 4 days. Fantastic staff, great breakfast. Great location close to congrejo (business/residential) district. Across street from Venito casino, Crown Plaza casino. Roberto, tour guide, great guy full of information and friendly advice. Best staff around. Left for a week, came back to stay again but was full. Stayed around corner at Victoria, nice but no where near the quality of TRYP. Anytime I come to Panama, will definately stay at here.

Room Tip: Talk to staff for upgrade. If you book with Expedia, cheaper but they will upgrade for you at no cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Randy

We really appreciate your comments and your visit to our Tryp Hotel in Panama city. On behalf of our staff I would like to thank you for your great feedback during your stay, this will help us to reward our employees and thanks them for making feel comfortable during your visit to Panama.

We hope you can visit us one more time and let us exceed your expectations again.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed in panama for about 3 days at the TRYP. It was very cute and modern, clean rooms and free wifi that works great. The staff was friendly. Food in the hotel was good too. Hotel is close to a casino and restaurants. No complaints. We even used a tour guide from the hotel his name was Robert, awesome guy very friendly. He usually can be found right in front.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Melissa

On behalf of our staff and myself I would like to thank for your comments and recent stay at the hotel TRYP by Wyndham Panama Centro. I am very happy to hear that you stay was great and that we made as comfortable as possible your visit to the country. I will pass you words to our staff to let then know about the great work they did for you.

Thank again and hope that you can visit us again in the near future....

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very warm and friendly service and good facilities. Clean and spacious rooms with all you need. Social area with fitness room and swimmingpool. Delicious breakfast and helpful staff. Will use RRYP Centro again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gfensten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your recent stay and feedback about your last visit to our TRYP by Wyndham Panama Centro Hotel. For us is great to hear about your experience and letting us know that we meet or exceed your expectations.

Please don't hesitate to contact us if the travel bring you back to Panama again, we will be more than happy to be at your service again..

Thank You!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

though we did not stay in this hotel,the staff deserves to be commended for being so helpful.briefly,the shuttle driver drove us here from the PTY airport & NOT the Double Tree Hotel(Bella Vista) as agreed upon.the whole family was just tired from an overnight flight from SFO & did not notice that we were @ the wrong hotel.the staff was so concerned about the error that they volunteered to call the shuttle company & explain what happened.the desk clerk who was pretty fluent in English assured us that the driver was on his way to pick us up & bring us to The Double Tree about a mile away.she was so helpful & nice,even gave us maps & tour books.we noticed that the hotel was sparkling clean & looked really new.how we wished that we could stay in this hotel esp.it's in the El Cangrejo area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Gerente at Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Traveler

I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your experience with our staff at the TRYP by Wyndham Panama. We feel sorry that you couldn't stay with us but we hope that you can visit Panama again and we can be at your service this time. We promise a great place, clean and comfortable to all our guest every day.

Thank you!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#28 of 114 in Panama City
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#19 of 114 in Panama City
781 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.5 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro

Property: Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Address: Via Veneto | El Cangrejo BellaVista, Panama City 00000, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP Panama Centro is located in the heart of Panama City in the upscale El Cangrejo, Bella Vista neighborhood just 15 miles from Tocumen International Airport & 250 mts from the New El Carmen Metro (Subway) Station. The convenient location of our hotel puts you within walking distance to some of Panama's best restaurants (40+ or more restaurante within 10 minutes walk), shopping and nightlife ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp By Wyndham Panama Centro Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing