We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic rooms but good place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamericana Hostel
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Panamericana Hostel offers basic but clean rooms. You can also use the communal kitchen and the roof top terrace. It is located in the beautiful Casco Viejo which is really nice to explore and offers a lot of nightlife on the weekends. This also means that it can be quite noisy in your room on the weekend.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, you'll get all the information you need.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Panamericana Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 180 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

For the price, the place was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. It's in a great location in Casco Viejo- right in the center of where you want to stay. But- we stayed in a private room which was more like a linen closet. Just enough room for a bed, dresser and for us both to stand. It had a fan but no cross breeze so was very stuffy and hot. The room across from us, which was also a private room was 4 times as large and had a nice balcony so the cross breeze kept it cool. So, I highly recommend asking to see the room. The place was also noisy - all the doors slammed very easily so you heard that constantly. Bring earplugs.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The staff were really friendly and had loads of great information and were very helpful. My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights in a room which faced an internal opening so we got no breeze and the high ceiling fan meant we didn't get much relief from the heat. Also, having internally opening windows, and openings above the doors for ventilation means the place is always noisy. We really struggles with the noise at nights. The rooftop has great views but lacks any shade and there was no existent bar whence were here mid-Jan (there was a little area which looked rundown, with a chair?). The included breakfast and coffee was a good start to the day. The large common lounge area was nicely laid out relax (unless there are 3 people spread all over the couches sleeping, from the night before?) but it's not good for watching tv or anything. The shared bathrooms were generally clean and very spacious.

Avoid rooms with no external windows.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JPescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed two nights in a private room for two, including the very basics: two lockers(need to bring your own lock thought, or rent one), fan, shower (with hot water), toilet, view to a narrow alley. The room was really noisy, earplugs were a must if you planned to sleep any. The reception were really friendly. Breakfast worked (as I guess in most hostels in general) as self-service mode, with first come first eat the goodies provided by the hostel, which were bananas, toasted bread, peanut butter, jam and coffee. Wi-Fi worked well, no issues. The main advantage of the hotel is the location in the heart of Panama City's small old town, Casco Viejo. Good restaurants and bars on a safe walking distance away, with tourist police on guard on every street corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, in top floors.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niklas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed in the hostel 3 times, once I arrived first time and in between san blas island and st. catalina tours. The hostel is an excellent choice in the old historic part of panama. 30 min. By foot to the city center, 5 min by taxi. But there is enough to see and go out around the hostel. Restaurants, a small supermarket and bars, some souvenir shops, i felt very safe.
Lockers in the room ( bring your own lock) good mattresses, towel and linen for free.
Nice balconies for almost ever room with a great view over casco viejo or the canal.
Great rooftop terrace, lounge room, clean kitchen, luggage storage and very helpful staff going the extra mile for organizing a trip or activities.

I stayed first in a dorm, then in a private room with shared bathroom. The bathroom was cleaned
about 4x a day!! And laundry service was available for $4 per load.

Overall I can highly recommend this place for a stay in panama city. Great location, awesome friendly staff (english and spanish) and good value for a hostel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokomo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Ideal location in Casco Viejo and very good value. Myself and my husband spent one night here in a private room with bathroom. Basic, as expected, but clean. It was particularly warm when we stayed in December, the ceiling fan helps, but not much. But like I say, it was a cheap sleep. Quirky decoration. Nice rooftop bar - wasn't open when we went up there early evening but you could buy drinks in ground floor reception to take up. Assume it did open later though as during the night it became very noisy! The large concrete spaces simply help the noise to echo. But there was also noise coming from the main square out front. Above room doors there are grills open to the corridor, so again you hear noise coming through these.

Staff were friendly and generally helpful. There was a woman on reception desk early evening who wasn't as keen to help when we asked if we could book a taxi - no , we were told. However on check out the next morning the guy at the desk offered to book us a cab (it wasn't any cheaper or any more reputable however! Easy enough to just flag one down and negotiate yourself). The guys on check in were talking about trips that can be booked, so there are options for advice on further travel. Good English spoken too. Also were able to check into our room early so that was a bonus.

There is wifi, husband got it working, but I didn't. He didn't have any problems with reception signal.

Depends what you are looking for - cheap sleep in a good location, then bring ear plugs and you'll be grand!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dizzyelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The first night we stayed was a Saturday, and it was unbelievably noisy. We anticipated a bit of typical hostel noise, but were completely unprepared for the dance club music blasted at a volume which vibrated the walls of our room. The second night was much quieter, but only in comparison to the first. The style of the hostel is cute and colorful, and the murals on the walls add a distinct charm. The location is fantastic. In our private room, the shower was powerful and hot with a very nice shower head. While I was a bit curious about how clean our bathroom would appear if the lighting were not green but rather brightly lit, I did not want to give it too much consideration. Two other snags we encountered were another couple opening our room with a key around 11 PM, and the credit card machine not working at the time of our stay. I know this review sounds quite critical, but this hostel was not terrible. The staff was nice, the breakfast of bread, peanut butter and banana sufficient, and the bed comfortable. That said, it was not what we were looking for. *Cough cough* years ago, had we joined the party, I am sure it would have been fine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaydily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
6.4 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#35 of 115 in Panama City
1,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 115 in Panama City
656 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
#41 of 115 in Panama City
487 reviews
3.7 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
642 reviews
5.9 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#6 of 107 in Panama City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericana Hostel

Address: Calle 10 y Avenida A # 8-15 Plaza Herrera, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Panamericana Hostel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing