We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My choice to stay in Panama City: Panamericano - great location and ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panamericana Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamericana Hostel
Calderas, Chiriqui
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My choice to stay in Panama City: Panamericano - great location and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The most beautiful part of Panama City is Casco Viejo, the old part of Panama's capital and right here, at Plaza Herrera, you will find this great Hostel. 3 stories high, almost all rooms have a balcony and great views. A huge roof terrace allows you to see the Puente Americana, the ocean, the Causeway , lots of roof tops and church temples of Casco Viejo and all the way to the Skyscrapers of the modern capital.

The hotel is kept clean at all times and that includes the kitchen and the bath-rooms. Great water-pressure and hot water!
Most important you will sleep more than comfortable. All beds are equipped with new high quality orthopedic mattresses.

The prices are very affordable for double rooms around $ 25 or 28 I believe, and in the dorm around $ 12 a night. All rooms have various large windows and great working fans as well.

The staff is friendly and informative; they'll send you with a little map on your way to venture around. A simple breakfast is included with plenty of tasty Panamanian coffee.

and of course... a great place for information and to meet some other fun travellers !

Room Tip: higher floors have fresher air and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReginaChiriqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    78
    42
    11
    10
See reviews for
3
81
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Massive room, airy room, excellent view, very tranquil during the day

Clean kitchen, bathrooms

Very helpful - Daniel & Stefan helped us book the sailing to Cartagena

Rooftop bar & very loud music gets going at around 11pm & finishes at 3am so ask for a room on a lower floor if this might bother you

Breakfast is very basic, bread (for toasting), coffee, peanut butter, jam

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missykap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location in Casco Viejo is awesome! There are a couple great bars right in Plaza Herrera.

The hostel is in great shape and the staff was overall very helpful.

There are so many fantastic museums and buildings in the area. You could spend the day wandering the streets of Casco Viejo.

The best part of this hostel is the roof top bar. The views of downtown Panama City are astounding. I brought back many beautiful pictures from the rooftop.

The hostel website says that you can take the bus and walk to the hostel... the suggested walking route goes through some sketchy neighborhoods. So unless you are making that transit in daylight with a group of people, I would not suggest it.

Taxis are fairly cheap in the area (albeit, more expensive than I was anticipating). It cost me approximately $5 USD to go from the hostel to Ancon Hill. About $8 USD to go from the hostel to Amador Beach.

Room Tip: There are lockers in each dorm room. Get a room that faces north and you can see the Panama Canal f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and must say I enjoyed it very much: good price, very very clean, nice receptionists and pleasant social areas. They made my room every day and were not stingy about changing my towel. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We took a nice private room with a shared bathroom overlooking the square for three nights. The bed is great. It's a good deal considering you can't really get anything comparable in Casco Veijo. The staff is super friendly and helpful. We're leaving for Bocas tomorrow and are coming back for our last night in Panama City..Definetly recommended!

Room Tip: Our room is number 12, great room with a balcony and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I went travelling for two weeks in the States and Panama with my bf and this was by far the most horrendous place we stayed at. Granted it was cheap but (a) the staff were unfriendly and useless if you ask me i.e. we asked for toilet paper and the receptionist could not find it, she then told us to try the day after?!?! We ended up buying the toilet paper but surely this is something basic that should be supplied? (b) People in the hostel made noise at all hours of the night, there were parties on the rooftop and the doors constantly banged throughout the night, it seemed like the other guests did not sleep? It is true that Casco Viejo is under construction at the moment and that there was a lot of external noise but add a lot of internal unnecessary noise to the equation and you get a sleepless night basically. I would say that this was the worst part of our stay, what was meant to be a holiday ended up being torture. Therefore, to other people who are pondering whether to stay here or not, don't. I think it's worth spending a bit more to stay elsewhere, I certainly would have paid a few more Benjamins had I known better! I think the only thing they have going for them is the location which is in Casco Viejo and within walking distance from all the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinchiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
MONT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

we had booked a room (and received a confirmation) for our arrival but when we arrived from the airport there was no room for us. As it was late (10pm) all the hostels/hotel were booked and after wandering around for more than 2 hours we ended in taking a taxi and found an hotel in another area...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lurette a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#7 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#60 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.5 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 110 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Nativa
Hostel Casa Nativa
#8 of 110 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericana Hostel

Property: Panamericana Hostel
Address: Calle 10 y Avenida A # 8-15 Plaza Herrera, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Panamericana Hostel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing