We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panamericana Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamericana Hostel
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed four nights in a private room with bathroom.

Pros:
Strong wifi
Location in old town
Large size of the room
Hot water if you wanted it.
Supermarkets are within walk able distance.

Cons:
Noise! The hostel is constructed poorly with cement walls and open grates above each door. Noise carries everywhere from inside the hostel. I had to sleep with airplugs every night and I was still woken many times per night.
Our room looked out on the main square but we could not keep our door open at night as the balcony was shared. This made our room very hot. The fan is way to high to actually do any good.
The neon lights are awful. They keep multicoloured lights on all night long which gave the room a weird feeling.
The roof terrace is a small area that has a gorgeous view of a construction crane.
Reception can not be bothered with you.
You are not allowed to bring outside alcohol into the hostel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    78
    42
    11
    10
See reviews for
3
81
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

What can I say... Out of the 20 countries I've been to on my current RTW trip, Panamericana Hostel has been THE WORST place I've stayed in.

- I was greeted with the most unwelcoming receptionist. When I entered the front door, the look on her face was 'oh damn, I have to do some work now'. Then she proceeded to speak to a friend on the phone the whole time I was checking in and had no interaction with me. When I went down later that night to ask a question, the guy who was on shift was sitting back with his feet up on the desk reading a magazine, and didn't even look up at me when he answered me question. Complete and utter rudeness from both staff members.
- I booked a private room with a bathroom, but was put into one with a shared bathroom (Room 19). The room was tiny (pretty much just the double bed and then a 20cm gap to the walls) - it was no bigger than 5m x 2m. The walls were painted grey and it felt extremely sterile. The ceiling fan was not able to be adjusted and provided bugger all relief from the heat. This set me back $30.
- The whole 'art deco industrial design chic' thing they're trying to go for was COMPLETELY missed. The neon lights at night with the grey walls made me feel like I was a patient in a psychiatric ward in some cheap horror movie.
- The worst thing about this place? The noise. Whilst I recognise that the hostel has little to no control over the noise coming from the roadworks outside, that wasn't the main problem. You can hear absolutely everything going on as the noise echoes throughout the building. Above the door was a pigeon hole, roughly 1m x 0.5m, so all the noise from the rest of the hostel came straight into my room. There must have been something in the water too, because everyone there had a problem with slamming doors.

All in all, I couldn't think of one positive thing to say about this place. Do yourself a favour and steer way clear. I'm just happy I was able to find other alternative accommodation after one night.

Room Tip: Good room? You'd get a better deal if you were sleeping in a prison cell
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tabsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pretty much brand new hostel (Sept 2012) so not yet in guides. It's located on the edge of the "safe" area in Casco Viejo, but feels safe given the 24h police contingent in Plaza Herrera. Service is excellent with plenty of helpful advice on tap, more akin to a concierge in a 5* hotel than a hostel. Wifi available throughout the property. Rooms are well designed with interesting art work. Social communal kitchen/lounge. it was great to be able to see boats waiting to go into the Canal from roof/higher rooms.

Be warned that there is an (excellent) rooftop bar Thu, Fri, Sat. Early on is happy hour, later prices rise. This is not a Gringo/traveller only spot, but full of Panamanians. Great for socialising, but it does mean that there are lots of There are lots of non-residents wandering the halls and people traipsing up and down stairs for a lot of the night including using the shared bathrooms.

Room Tip: Higher up is better. Beware building work at back (Jan 2013) which is quite noisy in the mornings an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked a private room with bathroom but there is an open area above the door and it was next to a shared bathroom and a dorm so there was constant noise throughout the evening.There is a ceiling fan in the room but it was very hot - over 30*. The wifi was strange in that there was one login only so I had logged in on my pc I then couldn't use it on my phone. On the plus side the views are great and the rooms are v large and clean along with hot water etc but I wouldn't stay in Panama City again without aircon - this was the only room I had without it. Private rooms would work but maybe they need to be on a separate floor

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCocktailGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hostel was great to my wife and I, giving us information and setting up a trip to the San Blas before we arrived. They didn't take the initiative to give advice on tour ideas or maps but if asked were glad to help or point you in the right direction.

It is loud, but it was also the weekend and Christmas eve when we stayed so it was expected. The rooms in the front overlooking the square were great. It was a private room with private bathroom and shower, plenty of hot water and a decent bed.

We did not feel the welcome vibe from the other travelers but didn't make a big effort either, although there was always an English movie on the TV mid day, and people laying about so wouldn't be hard to pop in and say "hi".

The location is terrific!

Room Tip: Top floor gets the bar noise on the weekend, rooms facing the square have big french doors and balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calamba, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were so happy to relocate here after staying in the more popular hostel L. C.
I liked the decor and the couch at the common are was so comfy i was laying down and reading a book. =D
Although i think the lighting should be improved.. blue light gives quite a sterile hospital effect.
A plain fluorescent white would have been better for reading or a yellow one would have given a nice warmer friendly glow.

(+) spacious rooms
rooms have shared bathroom at the end of the hall and also spacious with hot water
i saw this guy cleaning lil corners almost every time i was walking or passing by a hallway. i would give him a raise!
breakfast was bananas, toasts, peanut butter, butter and jams with coffee

(-) just one computer to share with guests, tempers may flare when some guests monopolize it we witnessed several times a fight happening because of it.
a dismissive staff that was only interested in flirting with the girl guest he fancies. but rest of the staff were helpful and nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hostel has great potential but no aspirations for being anything more than a bar. Even with a sleep mask and ear plugs, I couldn't sleep and the staff didn't help control the noise level. The slamming doors, music, and roof bar all contribute to noisy hallways and the ventilation openings over the door mean you hear everything. Only stayed one night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#7 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#58 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.5 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 110 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Nativa
Hostel Casa Nativa
#8 of 110 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericana Hostel

Property: Panamericana Hostel
Address: Calle 10 y Avenida A # 8-15 Plaza Herrera, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Panamericana Hostel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing