We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid straight forward pretty hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Ranked #30 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Since last October I staying in this hotel every second week for two nights. The staff is very helpful and welcoming, the rooms are surprisingly spacious for that price category, and their mattresses with comfort-adjusting control are great! Good choice at breakfast, very tasty, but the teas are bags only and not the very best. Like all over Centralamerica.... try and get rooms on the side facing the Hotel Panama, or else you'll be looking at one of these skyscraper constructions sites. Avoid level 15, you might just find yourself one level beneath the whirlpool on the terrace on level 16 ...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank HajoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene P, Gerente at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of the Hilton Garden Inn Panama Staff we thank you for choosing this hotel and for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor.
Our main purpose is to exceed each of our clients’ expectations and we are very pleased to learn when we achieve it.
We do hope to welcome you again as a guest at Hilton Garden Inn Panama during your next visit at Panama City.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Panama
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 777 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. While there was no concierge (typical for the Garden Inns, I believe), the desk staff went out of their way to answer questions and accommodate our requests. Rooms were clean, AC lovely, our travel companions said the breakfast was great (although, expensive -- what else is new in a hotel -- we went down a street, and across from the casino, NEXT to the Greek place, found a great breakfast option), location a bit out of the way, but the price was right. I found the bed to be very comfortable, our friends said their second one (we stayed at the beginning and end of our trip) was lumpy.

Room Tip: We had rooms over two stays on both sides of the hotel, and one night next to the elevator. Never h...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlnsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene P, Gerente at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

On behalf of the Hilton Garden Inn Panama Staff we thank you for choosing this hotel and for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor.
Our main purpose is to offer a memorable service and great stay to each of our client, we are happy to learn when we achieve it!
We will be very pleased to welcome you again during your next visit at Panama City.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed here Feb. 12 for one night.

I had a very good stay at this hotel. It is in a great location for walking to restaurants and other places. It is very clean and quiet. I also ate at the restaurant in the hotel in the food was good.
We stayed here one night, as a layover for our flight to Aruba the next day.

The hotel is not near the airport and we reserved a rental car before arriving to drive to the hotel. The freeway is the best way to Panama City from the airport AND YOU MUST HAVE A GPS OR YOU WILL GET LOST. There are very very very few street signs in Panama City (and Panama as a matter of fact), so just having a paper map will not help - YOU WILL GET LOST WITHOUT A GPS; TRUST ME ON THIS. If you take the freeway to Panama City, be sure to have at least $10 on hand so that you can pay the tolls - there are about 3 of them. When you get to the first toll, ask them to give you a toll pass so that you can put the $10 on it and just flash the toll pass when you get to the next toll booths. If you are driving on the freeway between the airport and Panama City at night, there is no one at the toll booth and no place to insert money - at least that what we saw when heading back to the airport at 4am to catch our flight. So, make sure that you have enough money on the toll pass to get you to Panama City and back to the airport. You can take the city streets to Panama City from the airport, but just beware of all of the crazy drivers and all of the traffic. They appear not to have any rules of the road on the streets.

Lastly, I had to haggle with the management of the Hilton Garden Inn for about an hour for them to give me my free breakfast. I am a Hilton Gold member, but the front desk told me that they only give free breakfast to Diamond members. I told them that was absolutely incorrect and that I stay at Hilton hotels all over the world and have never been denied free breakfast at a Hilton Garden Inn as a Gold member. In order to fix this problem, I had to email Hilton Honors (no toll free number from outside the US) and explain the problem. They immediately emailed back and explained that both my wife and I get free breakfast as a Gold member and to provide management with the email that they sent me. After presenting the email from HH to management, my two kids, wife, and myself were given the free breakfast.

One more thing! If you want to visit the Panama Canal tourist area, you must be there before 5pm - they absolutely will not let you in after 5pm. They close at 5!! If you can't make there by 5pm, you can still see some of it and where the ships enter. Just drive up the road from the main entrance, about 3-5 miles, until you see the train tracks and a fence on the left side of the road. There is parking there and you can watch lots of activity.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILoveToRoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene P, Gerente at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

On behalf of the Hilton Garden Inn Panama Staff we thank you for choosing this hotel and for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor.

Our main purpose is to offer a memorable service and great stay to each of our client, we are happy to learn when we achieve it!

We will be very pleased to welcome you again during your next visit at Panama City.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a desirable hotel location and offers a service that is equal to many other higher priced hotels in the same area. Put yourself in a clean room, excellent comfort and a staff that delivers service. Usually an English speaker is at the front desk, and the lobby is a comfortable place to meet friends, family or business associates.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank arnebrichsjensenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene P, Gerente at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

On behalf of the Hilton Garden Inn Panama Staff we thank you for choosing this hotel and for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor.

Our main purpose is to offer a memorable service and great stay to each of our client, we are happy to learn when we achieve it!

We will be very pleased to welcome you again during your next visit at Panama City.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We got a good rate from the HGI website. The location is right near all the action in Panama City.

Pros:
-Closer to the canal than most other downtown hotels
-Clean
-New
-Typical Hilton Garden Inn quality you would expect anywhere else
-5 minute walk to a Mcdonalds if you crave fast food
-Roof top terrace has a nice pool and a great view of the skyscrapers of Panama City

Cons:
-Shower water was not hot, a repair man came up and fixed the temperature control soon after we complained
-It took about 20-30 minutes for the taxi to get from corredor sur to our hotel due to traffic. There were no issues on our way back to the airport in the morning.
-The traffic was very bad getting to the canal. I suppose traffic is a serious problem everywhere in this city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernCDNTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene P, Gerente at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

On behalf of the Hilton Garden Inn Panama City staff we really appreciate your comment.
We do hope to welcome you again during your next stay at Panama City.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Non-english staff, not a "typical" Hilton esperience. Poor a/c and non-distinguished hotel. Immediate street surroundings were extremely dirty and unkempt. I would not rcommend to anyone. Poor reflection on such a great Hotel name and reputation. A very small water feature which was not a pool, more like an unheated sauna.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank royv757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene P, Gerente at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you taking the time to share your review in the Trip Advisor.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We take our guests comments very seriously, and we will be sure to pass yours along for future improvements. We hope that you choose to stay with us in the future so that we may show you an improved experience and a stay.
We do hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to show you our true hospitality and the improvements we have made from your helpful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have spent 3 days, in January 2014,in Panama City and having chosen this hotel was just a perfect solution for our business trip in Panama. Check-in in was quick, accommodation quite convenient with a comfortable desk and HiSp Internet for our computers' use.
Location is central and close to many good restaurants and just across the Veneto Casino.
Breakfast was included in our booking and was very rich in its contents.
Bed comfortable but ...pillows kind of soft for our taste.
Roof top jacuzzi interesting but unable to use it due to lack of free time.
Same story for a well equipped gym ...but no time!
I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone with business interest or wishing to stay in central area of the city.

Room Tip: Hi floors rooms are recommended.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene P, Gerente at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

On behalf of the Hilton Garden Inn Panama Staff we thank you for choosing this hotel and for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor.
Our main purpose is to offer a memorable service and great stay to each of our client, we are happy to learn when we achieve it!
We will be very pleased to welcome you again during your next visit at Panama City.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.1 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 115 in Panama City
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#23 of 115 in Panama City
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Panama Distrito Financiero
0.6 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#18 of 115 in Panama City
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Panama

Address: Eusebio A Morales y calle 49 A oeste | El Cangrejo, Bellavista, Ciudad de Panamá, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: $61 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing