We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel in good area for tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Ranked #30 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in November 2012 on a trip to tour the Panama Canal. Great location with stores, restaurants, car rental, etc. within easy walking distance. Casino right across the street.

Hotel seems brand new. Nice lobby with restaurant and bar. Front desk staff attentive and professional if not particularly well informed (did not know location of a well-regarded Peruvian restaturant that turned out to be 3 blocks down same street).

One of the best features is the hottub/mini pool on the 16th floor. The pool and patio overlook the Panama City skyline and make a great place to relax after a day on the town or seeing the sights.

Room was well appointed, clean, and quiet. Beds very comfortable and plenty of linens and pillows.

TV has several English channels in addition to the Spanish line up.

There is construction behind the hotel currently, a room on the front will likely avoid any construction noise.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors toward the front are quietests and provide the best views of the skyline
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaribCroozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Panama
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 777 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn and due to our HH status, we were upgraded to a suite. The suite was on the 16th floor, which was great, right by the excellent gym and the amazing hot tub with views of the sky scrapers. It was really one of the nicest hot tubs I've ever been in.
The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, and the showers in the suites are absolutely enormous. They're almost silly large, you could fit 20 people in there if you wanted. But the showers were where we had our major complaint. I don't know if it's like this for everyone or just because we were on the highest floor, but it would take literally 20 minutes for the water to get hot. I'm not exaggerating, we timed it and it really was 20 minutes. Once you're aware of this, it is easy enough to plan accordingly. But it would be a real bummer if you were in a hurry to catch a flight and had to take a cold shower.
The location of the hotel is very good, it felt safe to walk around. During the day we felt comfortable walking from the hotel down to the waterfront. At night just to be safe we took cabs to and from restaurants for dinner and it would only cost a couple dollars. (My favorite dinner was at La Posta.)
Be careful if you take the cabs offered by the people standing right in front of the hotel who say they are the hotel taxi drivers. We had one guy charge us $24 to take us to the old city and back, it should have been no more than $5 but we weren't thinking and just accepted the ride without getting a price ahead of time. We didn't make that mistake again. That's not exactly the hotel's fault, but you would think they would try to screen the people who are calling themselves the hotel taxi drivers and not have them be total scam artists. As an aside, I would really recommend always getting a few quotes from taxi drivers before accepting a ride, as we had prices for the same trip varying from $2 to $7.
One more thing to note, many taxi drivers don't know where this hotel is, so it is a good idea to bring a map with you in your purse, or just tell them you're going to Hotel Panama, which is right across the street and taxi drivers seem to all know.
The free breakfast was pretty extensive, you can get scrambles made to order and there's toast, cheese, lunch meats, lots of fried things, and cereal and juice.
I would absolutely stay in this hotel again if I ever return to Panama City. Viviana at the front desk was excellent, very gracious and polite and helpful.

Room Tip: 16th floor rooms have nice views but the water takes forever to get hot.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carleen_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very pleasant and attentive staff, particularly in a city fairly renowned for pushy and rude people.

Nice lobby and pretty good rooms, a bit small. Didn't get a chance to try the breakfast or restaurants. Not much for views as there are much taller buildings between the hotel and the Pacific.

Enjoyed the 16th floor "rooftop" jacuzzi and deck (though the water was only warm, perhaps because it rained a good bit that day).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osdanuwati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel Hilton Garden Inn Panama, at the same time we woulk like to thank you for your comments.

You can count on us. Your satisfaction is our priority.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Loves the Hilton Garden Inn - we were greeted with a fresh juice drink when checking in, enjoyed the buffet breakfast, and loved the rooftop whirlpool with the beautiful views of Panama City. The location was great for walking or taking a cab. Rates were very reasonable as well!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS12345__9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Hilton Garden Inn for your visited Panama City, at the same time, we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments.

You can count on us. Our Satisfaction is our priority.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I enjoyed my weekend break in Panama. this hotel is brand new, clean, comfortable and perfectly located for shopping, nightlife, great restaurants and more.

The room: I got a good size room with ample room to move around. the bed was adjustable - you can make it softer or fimer depending on your taste
The service: excellent service! from the time I walked in, the staff was quite friendly and willing to assist with any query I had
Breakfast: very good for a budget hotel. there was something for everyone

only drawback - upon checking out, their credit card payment system failed and I could not pay with my credit card. I had to cross the road to find an ATM to withdraw cash to pay.
not only that but because I had reserved the room with my credit card, there is still a hold on it!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel have great Panama city skyline views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laviajera498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Hilton Garden Inn for your visited Panama City, at the same time, we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments. And we really sorry with the inconvenience that you had in check out.

You can count on us. Our Satisfaction is our priority.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I arrived at this hotel at 10 p.m. after a flight delay. To my surprise, I was able to order a delicious meal from their onsite restaurant. The prices were great, about $10 US for a meal. They even offer free internet in your room and free use of the business center. They no longer offer the free airport shuttle bus, but do make arrangements for guests to travel in a private car at comprable rates. The only drawback is they're not located downtown. Their overall customer service was outstanding!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Hilton Garden Inn for your visited Panama City, at the same time, we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments.

You can count on us. Our Satisfaction is our priority.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This brand new hotel is perfectly located as far a restaurants with in walking distance, save area and also entretaiment. Shopping stores with in 3 blocks also. Rooms are large and good amenities. The staff is very friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room facing 49th street, the entrace side of the property, there is constructio...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrp57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Panama, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Hilton Garden Inn for your visited Panama City, at the same time, we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments.

You can count on us. Our Satisfaction is our priority.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.1 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 115 in Panama City
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#23 of 115 in Panama City
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Panama Distrito Financiero
0.6 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#18 of 115 in Panama City
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Panama

Address: Eusebio A Morales y calle 49 A oeste | El Cangrejo, Bellavista, Ciudad de Panamá, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: $61 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing