We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always grate !!!”
Review of Cafe Chic - CLOSED

Cafe Chic
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A European French styled restaurant- bar- terrace, a very upscale nice place for an international crowd. 55 seats inside, 24 seats on the terrace for lunch, tea & drinks and dinner. Open from Monday till Saturday from 11pm to 3pm and from 7pm to 11pm. The menu does have French & Mediteranean classics with daily fresh "honest" food for reasonable prices, a very smart bar and a Paris styled terrace.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Last week we decided to check out Cafe Chic for lunch. My girlfriend ordered the "plat du jour"
and had a pleasant surprise, she was served a nice chicken curry with fresh vegetables, it looked great, the smell was great and the taste delicious! I ordered the chicken dish with mashed potatoes, it was exactly like we had in France, 1/2 chicken baked in the oven with the "jus" amazing! To finish our meal we shared a chocolat mousse with 2 espressos, too good to be true! The service was very efficient, the waitress very kind and professional
and the bill very reasonable, we will be back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SOTOLONGOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Always a pleasure for us to receive such great reviews! Yes the "plat du jour" is a big success in lunch time! 2 different dishes every day with fresh products for reasonable prices. The chicken curry you refer is indeed a bestseller and the 1/2 baked chicken with the mashed potatoes is the traditional French "grand mother's dish! We are so happy you enjoyed our food and our service!
Please try to join us for the Live Jazz on Wednesdays with the Arturo Villarreal Trio. It's a great jazzy atmosphere with a very nice international crowd!

Thanks again for your great feedback about Café Chic!

Soulful regards,

Roeland Biever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 150 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

the people of panama are wonderful, but no more so than the staff at cafe chic-we were lucky enough to arrive early -got a corner table, but even as the place filled, you felt like you had your own wait staff-the food was outsatanding -wine list limited but excellant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank safetybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your compliments! It's great to know that you are happy with the quality of our food and the outstanding service! We hope to welcome you again any time soon!

Kind regards,

Roeland Biever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Having had some disappointing experiences in restaurants higher ranked on tripadvisor the nights before in Panama city, I was curious about Cafe Chic . It made up for everything, it is possible to have a really good dinner in Panama City! I had spaghetti Thai , my friends had risotto and steak frites, everything of excellent quality, the service was very attentive and patient (it took us some time to decide) , for dessert we shared homemade pastry and creme brulee, just the right taste.the atmosfere was easy tastefull but not to chic , we really enjoyed the music. (not live that evening but we will be back at the end of our trip)
so thank you cafe chic for a perfect evening in Panama.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monque S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Well THANK YOU!!!!!!!! We are very pleased with your great feedback! This really sounds very rewarding to us. We try very hard to serve the best home made, fresh quality food we can, we do have a young team with passion in the kitchen. We like to make people happy and comfortable and we would love to see you back for the Live Jazz on Wednesdays.

Thanks once again and AU REVOIR!

Roeland Biever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I planned on dining here before we even arrived in Panama. We were only visiting for 3 days and dining at Cafe Chic was a priority. We were there for dinner on Saturday, March 2 and we were not disappointed. We were a little concerned at first because there were very few customers, but our server approached us with a welcoming smile and we settled in for a delicious meal. Unfortunately, we had a late lunch that day and I wasn't very hungry. Our server mentioned that the salads were quite substantial, so I ordered the shrimp croquettes, which were wonderful, and the salad with warm goat cheese which was perfectly dressed. My husband enjoyed the excellent house-made pate followed by the roasted half chicken which was flavorful and moist. Our only wish is that there were more French wines available by the glass. We will be returning to Panama soon and will definitely return to Cafe Chic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tamara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your very positive review! The fact that you had planned your visit to Café Chic already before arrival at Panama means that Tripadvisor is reliable ! We are very happy we had you as our guests and that you really enjoyed our home made food and service.
We hope to welcome you again any soon soon at Café Chic!

Kind regards,

Roeland Biever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I went to this cafe with with 3 friends on a Wednesday night. It was jazz night, and the music was fantastic. From my experience, table service in Panama City is not very good, but the service we received here was exceptional. We split a bottle of wine, and not once did someone's glass go empty before the waitress was there to top one off. The food was delicious. I had a specialty hamburger with Roquefort cheese, though it wasn't cooked quite as I specified when ordering. The atmosphere was quite "chic" with low lighting and unique ambiance. The overall experience was great, and I think the other people in my party shared the same sentiment.

Thank Kristy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeland b, Owner at Cafe Chic, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for all those compliments!! It's great you had a good time with us at Café Chic!
Yes Wednesday night was a very good ambiance with the Arturo Villarreal Trio.......we are very happy to know that you liked the service and the quality of our food. Enjoy your days in Panama
and hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Roeland Biever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Chic also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing