We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect evening”
Review of La Trona

La Trona
Ranked #242 of 1,016 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I would rank La Trona next to many of our best dining experiences around the world. The service, atmosphere and food each met our exceeded the expectation we would have for our favorite restaurants in New York and DC. The smoked duck risotto comes in at #2 on our top risotto list. The short ribs melted in your mouth. From appetizers through desserts it was a perfect evening. We were especially pleased by the attentive service. Even on a busy Friday night the wait staff paid us constant attention without hovering or becoming overbearing. Their recommendations for wine, food and dessert were all attentive to our preferences and exactly what we were looking for. And at the end of the meal, the bill was a pleasant surprise! Dinner for 2 with a bottle of wine, appetizers, entrees and deserts was a little more than half what it would have been in NYC. If you are in Panama City, you must go to La Trona.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    11
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A friend recommended us this place.....all i can say is that we owe him. This restaurant is good in every way. The first thing that hits you is the decor and atmosphere. Very well done. The service is suprisingly good. The food is a Peruvian Gourmet style, it is really well done. Everything we had was great, Tuna Tartare, Sushi Tower and a Grouper that came with the most exquisite sauce. It left you asking for more. Definitely give it a two thumbs up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Magellan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Currently One of the Best in Panama City”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Let's be honest. It is not easy to find a restaurant in Panama City that offers great food AND great service. Here it is.
Formerly called Eurasia, La Trona is situated in a lovely old house in the calle Uruguay area, quite close to Avenida Balboa. It is a restaurant for grown-ups - the decor is lovely, mature and it is a place to go for a special night out, or simply a decent meal.
This was my first visit to La Trona, with three friends, and each of us enjoyed our chosen meals very much. My seafood dishes were terrific. However, it is not just the food but the service that stands out at La Trona. Our waitress was attentive, fast and polite, without hovering over our table. We did not feel hurried and I was impressed.
My husband and I are planning another visit to La Trona soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaramutJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

It is a very romantic place that serves amazing food with great service...It has three different environments, one of them allows the people to smoke. We order seafood and it was great! Our highlights was the dessert: the sorbets we order was amazing!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktycastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Dinner We Had in Panama! Used to Be Called Eurasia...”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I took my wife here on our first night in Panama City. It was fabulous. I found it under TripAdvisor as "Eurasia" - but our cab driver drove us up and down Calle 48 in the Bella Vista area, and he couldn't find Eurasia. He asked a local, and they pointed us inside La Trona. Apparently, it changed names and owners a few months ago.

The location was very romantic, there is inside seating in several different rooms as well as an outside terrace in the back. We sat outside but also had a drink at the bar. The ambiance of the whole place is great and very classic modern.

I would categorize the food as Panamanian meets Italian and Asian. We had a fabulous deconstructed sushi appetizer, while I had the skirt steak with garlic and truffle potatoes and my wife had the shrimp risotto for our main course. We finished with a crème brûlée for desert and also enjoyed a nice bottle of wine. The meal was around 100 USD.

There was one waitress who spoke English, which was great as the menu is in all Spanish. Bring your dictionary!

Finally, the staff was very attentive - and they even gave us a free drink while we waited for our cab after our meal. What a treat! I would come back here for sure!

TIP - I would recommend a reservation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaymanDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trona also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to La Trona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing