We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try someplace else”
Review of Balboa Yacht Club

Balboa Yacht Club
Ranked #186 of 1,005 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Best place for casual dining in Panama City, Panama...located on the banks of the canal , always a great view, plenty of friendly expats and locals
French Polynesia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Try someplace else”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have eaten 6 different times here and had 1 decent meal. It's expensive, the food is just ok and the service could be better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    41
    26
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canmore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice option rather than dining at hotel”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

2 minute walk from Country Inn and Suites. We would much rather go somewhere "local" than a branded American concept restaurant in the hotel. We ate here twice at the beginning and the end of our stay in Panama. The first time we shared a calamari and the fish tacos, both were fresh hot and tasty. The service was efficient and attentive. The second time we had a burger and a quesadilla. Both were good size portions for the price. On our second visit there was even live music (no cover). The location is great, right next to the Amador causeway the ferry dock for Isla Taboga. Well worth checking out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canmorebackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cold beer, nice view but the food was terrible..”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

A nice place to hang out, drink a cold drink and watch the world go by, but we would not recommend the food. It was worst food we had in Panana.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marijke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great ocean front restaurant.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Tonight for the second time I enjoyed eating at Balboa Yacht club. My girlfriend and I had a three course meal that was unbeatable. First we started with the home made chips and pico then we treated ourselves to the thin sliced onions rings which were a big hit with my girl. After we met Eliot the wonderful manager on duty who was very welcoming and charming. His knowledge of English, Spanish, the menu and panama we found to be very refreshing. Eliot recommended that we try the filet mignon wrapped in bacon with yucca potato and salad. It was cooked to perfection ( thank you chef!). From our table we were able to see the skyline of panama city and special event fireworks. What a night to remember!! WE will be back! A must eat at when visiting Panama city or as any local as the prices are very reasonable. Also a great way to view the panama canal and enjoy lunch or dinner at the same time! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueziders, Austria
Level Contributor
222 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“sitting at the canal”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

a good place to sit in the evening at the canal and let the boats pas by -the food is nothing special but solid. this is a very popular place with lots of people and music... more as a open air pub than a restaurant. -would i go again- most likely not as there are most likely better places for food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Yacht Club also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Balboa Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing