We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You would think he would look after the expats wouldnt you” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balboa Yacht Club

Balboa Yacht Club
Ranked #175 of 961 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, American, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Best place for casual dining in Panama City, Panama...located on the banks of the canal , always a great view, plenty of friendly expats and locals
Panama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You would think he would look after the expats wouldnt you”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Aside from catering to expats and overseas visitors, and that english is heard being spoken about the place, one would have to stop there in compliments.
$5.00 for a vodka and cranberry, mind you the cranberry is syrup from the tap. The vodka weak and more ice than the titanic hit. If you like beer, $9.95 for a bucket of 6.
The food, well, nachos chilli or nachos anything...cold and very unappealing. The burgers, tasteless unless you have BBQ sauce or something else with it, which they charge $1.00 or $1.50 for !! Ceviche $10 !! you have got to be kidding.
The staff... well depends on the day and the time you go there. So far the staff i have had have been quite attentive, more so because we were a larger group thus ensuring a tip would be coming their way.
The atmosphere....unless you go with a group of friends...its just a bunch of boaties sucking down a few cold beers...friday nights not too bad , the band... again...depends on which one it is.
The prices are way too high for what you get...TGIF's is right next door , great food, prices around the same, its air conditioned and the staff are attentive. The drinks are also cheaper.

Cant say that i would recommend this place for anything other than a quick pit stop from the ferry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WellHeeledAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    25
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst restaurant in the world?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was beginning to get used to the extraordinarily slow service in Panama, but this place managed to combine that with the lowest quality food I've eaten for many years - and at a stupidly expensive price. Hard to know what to say in favour of the place, other than the location, which is passably pleasant. Ok, and the staff, despite being useless, are friendly enough.

We arrived at 6.15 and the food we ordered then arrived at 7.15. Foolishly, we ordered a main course, which arrived at 8.15. The seafood platter was cold and most of the shell fish were not open and hence inedible. the tenderloin steak was not tender - we can only assume they cooked the seafood and left it to go cold whilst they cooked the steak. For about half an hour. If we had not been so hungry, we would have sent it all back. And, at $110 for 4, it was truly appalling value

I cannot counsel against going here more strongly

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fine fresh, and usually fried seafood at the Canal entrance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location of the restaurant at the Panama Canal entrance/exit on the Pacific side is an ideal place to dine, especially at sunset. the sampler platter of fried seafood is exquisite and filling. A great family location with excellent service and local character.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MRCONNOLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Bar in Panama City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Balboa Yacht Club has been my regular Friday night after work drinks venue for almost two years now but frequent visits at other times as well. Good selection of local and imported beer (the local Balboa by the bucket is hard to beat) and they make a fine G&T but the wine selection is limited. The bar menu is reasonably priced and varied with regular specials, try the mixed seafood platter, plenty for six or even eight as a snack, and the octopus ceviche is also very good. Service can be a bit patchy at busy times but the view of ships entering and leaving the canal from the outside deck as the sun sets more than compensates. Live music some nights can be intrusive but you can always sit at the far end of the bar if you want quiet conversation. In my view the best bar in Panama City!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were in Panama for 6 nights and ate here every night. We tried something different every night. The food and cold buckets of beer was great. The staff were most accommodating , we never felt that we had to hurry. We met a wonderful waitress named Abdelys. A friend for life. They had live music and also played great music. It was always full of laughter and fun! There was a dock that you could take a walk on and see the boats anchored also watch all the ships sail by!
We stayed at the Country Suites so it was perfect.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VegasGal55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Yacht Club also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Balboa Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing