We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit in Panama City - Details Belows”
Review of Casco Viejo

Casco Viejo
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Panama City Tour And The Canal
Ranked #2 of 172 things to do in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This charming old community’s churches, pedestrian walkways and historical plazas and palaces make it a must-see on any tour.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Must Visit in Panama City - Details Belows”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We rented a car at the airport and drove into Panama City.

Old City (Casco Viejo) is a 15 min drive from Panama City Center. You will have to drive through a poor neighborhood to get to the Old City.

We parked the car on the street for free (avenida A) and walk the Old City, which is about 8-10 blocks of history. The walk took about 2 hours. There are several expensive (for Panama) restaurants and shops.

Currently a heavy renovation is under way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,246
    2,738
    836
    137
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Work in Progress”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

You can see that much has been done to restore the old city within the past few years, but much remains to be down. Nonetheless, it is definitely worth the visit to see the architecture.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnBrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always a festival”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I suspect that there are many festivals in the Old City. We felt very safe and welcome there. The restoration is going full speed ahead. There was an arts/crafts festival and one was given a bag to commemorate the festival IF a product was bought. I wanted just the bag and was willing to pay for it, but they made a gift out of the bag for me. Panama City is a welcoming friendly place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“amazing old city”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

casco viejois where the presidencial palace is. and it has a vibe of its own, o frecomend it for sight seeing , culture experience and fine dining . now they also have some of the best bars and restuarants in panama. has its own modern bohemian scene.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maxiroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Under Construction!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It was beautiful... but wow... it seemed like everywhere we turned a street or sidewalk was closed. Talk about construction, it is very clear panama realizes it is on its way to being a big tourist destination so they are really working on it. Go on the weekend, we were there on a week day and the big sites were closed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schmittyrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casco Viejo also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Casco Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing