We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for one night layover”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riande Aeropuerto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riande Aeropuerto
Ranked #34 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Southern California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient for one night layover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for a night due to a long layover. It's not the least expensive place but it's close to the airport so it's either this or pay for a cab to take you into town and back. The food was good and the atmosphere was nice. Lots of people hanging out in the lounge area having drinks and/or dinner probably due to long layovers as well. It was clean and comfortable with a pool that appeared to be open at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    459
    154
    53
    33
See reviews for
241
392
140
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent a night here prior to airport departure from Tocumen early the next morning. They have upgraded facilities from previous time we spent here 8 years ago, and seem to want to appear to be a "luxury resort" but they are not meeting the mark. Service was consistently aloof and borderline-unfriendly to requests. They made us pay extra for minor children staying with us, to the tune of $22 each, in addition to already-high price for quality of room, despite reserving and already paying for four persons on online reservation. Other hotels in Panama CIty do not charge for children staying with parents in a room. They seem to take advantage of no other hotel being as close to airport, and without competition, charge a lot for minimal quality.

The room was small. We walk in and it was horribly hot and humid in there. Not a good first impression. Asked bellperson how to turn on A/C. Only one electrical outlet in the entire room, not enough to recharge electronics. Weird thing about the room--you have to put your key-card in a slot to turn on the lights in the room ,and when you take it out to leave, all the lights turn off, and electronics stop charging. So, one person takes the key to go out of the room and the rest are in the dark. Weird.

Toilet in room didn't flush well--low water pressure, so had to call maintenance to fix it. Also, toilet paper holder fell off. Daughter couldn't get hot water to work for shower--again, unusual setup and took about 10 min for it to warm up. Not enough towels for four people-even though we reserved for 4, only towels for 2 people. Had to call to get more.

Business center had only one working computer (of 5), and the no ability to print out boarding passes, so had to ask, and their policy is to send them to check-in desk and they will print. Then, they balked at how many pieces of paper printed, and were surly about doing it, despite my "asking very nicely".

Morning "breakfast buffet" was beautifully set-up, but food was poor quality. Not much variety, and much of it lukewarm and not well prepared. Maybe equivalent to a cheap 1-2 star US hotel food.

Shuttle service was great, and right on time. No issues and driver was friendly.

Pool area is nicely landscaped, but after dark, almost no lights around it are lit, only a few tiki lamps--makes for unsafe walking around the grounds or you will fall. But, there are lights set up--just not lit. Takes energy conservation to a whole new level.

Would not recommend this, and even though others are farther, would find someplace else next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyGirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan G, General Manager at Riande Aeropuerto, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear KittyGirl34,
I appreciate your comments but many of them don't match with the reality of the Hotel. All our romos have three plugs and two in the bathroom.
We are a Eco-Friendly Hotel, in our romos we have the card system to reduce the energy consumption. If you needed another card you can be able to ask for in the front desk.
We apologize for the inconvenience in the Business Center, that day we face problems with our Internet Supplier, the next day everything was resolved.
As for your comment about the breakfast, I do not share that opinión. Our free breakfast is very complete; included several types of bread, fruits, yogurt, eggs, ham, bacon, cheese, pancakes or waffles, different types of juice, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. We can't be compared with a 1 or 2 star hotel.
On your next visit to Panama please contact me aeropuerto@riandehoteles.net and I will gladly recommend another Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ask for the jubilado discount, and the rack rate for the room leaps to $220 so they can claim they're giving you the discount. I've been in hotels around the world, and neither their rooms nor their hotel are not worth anything like $220 a night. They're just ripping off people because they're still the only airport hotel. If there was another one, and I hope there will be soon, I will never return to this place. If there is any way to avoid going to this hotel, unless your flight is at 7am, stay somewhere else, anywhere else, at much better hotels in the city. I stayed at the hotel in March and unfortunately I have to stay there again this month and got the same rate scam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan G, General Manager at Riande Aeropuerto, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mr Tom,
I´m afraid the jubilado and pensionado discount apply only to the rack rates, not only at the our hotel at any business in Panama. Your discount lowers your rate down 50% off on weekdays down to U$110.00 including taxes and 30% off on weekends.
I think your comments and assessments hotel are not correct, you will find a modern hotel with clean rooms, comfortable beds, good service, excellent location and transport included return to the airport at a preferential rate of U$110.00.

Regards,
Juan Garrido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

If this hotel had an elevator and if the staff spoke better English I would have given it a very good rating. The wifi did not work when we checked in. It was only several hours later after one of the staff resent the router that it worked. Breakfast nor what was on the menu was not designed for the very healthy conscious. The ambiance was very good. The grounds, decor and tropical atmosphere was excellent. There is a reliable shuttle service to and from the airport and also to two different shopping malls. To extend my stay I was asked to go into their office and it seemed to be a cumbersome process. Renovations are being done on some of the ground floor rooms and workers start about 7 am.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the first floor looking towards the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eztourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I enjoyed my second stay at the Riande. The hotel is in a good location for a short stay; close to the airport and 10 minutes from Metromall.The facilities are clean. I liked the interior decor of the rooms- very modern. I had a room on the ground floor with a terrace view of the pool. There was also a snack machine very close by.

My first stay, my room was not so conveniently located. I had a lot of walking to do that first time around!

On both my trips though, I found the staff a little bit aloof and not that warm. On my first stay I remember that one of the waitresses in the restaurant actually did not pay much attention to my request for hot water for the tea. The second time around I noticed that my safe was sealed on arriving and instead of contacting someone to assist me in opening it, I was told to return to my room and call a number to have someone come. I ended up not bothering with using the safe.

I had travelled to a Caribbean island in February and the atmosphere at the hotel there was a lot warmer. Staff smiled at you all the time and referred to you by your name whereas not once did I encounter a smile from the staff at the Riande. The only smile I received on my trip was the airhostess on the plane from Panama to San José!

Apart from that I would visit with my family again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor pool side are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice21_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We chose the Riande because of its location - 5 minutes from the International Airport, but were surprised at the beauty of the facility. The ambiance is pleasantly tropical and the pool is clean.

There is some remodeling going on, so it's possible that some things might not work as well as you would like. The lights in our room were not working - even after a technician came and checked things out. They offered a new room, but we chose to go to Dinner before deciding. When we returned, everything worked!

The maids were kind, courteous and quick. The front desk folks were slow and rather disinterested. the welcoming porters were wonderful. The morning buffet was skimpy but OK. Three hot dishes, dry cereal (with fantastic nuts) and three different kinds of fresh fruit.

We will use this hotel whenever we overnight in Panama City.

You will love the pool area.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor. The views are better and much of the remodeling has been completed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainFriendsPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Lobby is very artsy and very helpful hotel porter. The staff does speak reasonably good English so it's easy to communicate your necessities to them - towels, breakfast voucher, etc.

The outside bar is great and surrounded by Panama's greenery. We enjoyed our free first drink aka night cap outside without much mosquitoes bothering us.

As for the rooms, the beds are double so if you are sharing a room with more than 2, I would suggest a another room. Our booking also had breakfast and a bottle of wine added so it was a great bonus to have by all!n Showers are the rain shower right from the ceiling.Modern and clean.

The pool wasn't busy but very serene with the water falls and it blocks a lot of the outdoor noise ie traffic, cars and planes. Huge with a swim up bar. I was with family so I didn't drink as socially. Towels available beside the pool but ask the bar staff and they will direct you to the right area.

Didn't check out the casino but there is a lot of security/policia running around the casino to the lobby and front of the hotel.

The trip to the airport from the hotel is 5 mins. There is free shuttle to the airport but my family drove me so check with the staff about their schedule.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawt_cbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
#41 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
10.2 mi away
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
#24 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#18 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
9.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riande Aeropuerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riande Aeropuerto

Property: Riande Aeropuerto
Address: Via Tocumen | entrada al Corredor Sur Panama, Panama City 0819, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#14 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#21 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riande Aeropuerto 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who said airport hotels had to be boring? Entirely renovated in 2012 and located 5 minutes away from Panama Tocumen International Airport (PTY), the Riande Aeropuerto Hotel, Casino & Resort offers an oasis of calm and resort like facilities for business, leisure and transfer travelers. For the business travelers, we offer free Wifi throughout the property, various meeting rooms, a business center, plus free shuttle service from and to the airport. Sport lovers can choose to do their fitness routine inside our well-equipped gym or at our outdoor exercise area overlooking the tropical green gardens, swim in a pool or maybe try one of our new Paddle Tennis courts (Padel). The kids can also join the fun spending time at our playground! Feeling lucky tonight? Do you hear your name being called with every turn of the roulette? Then, the casino is the place for you. Travelers in need of well-deserved relaxation before or after a long flight will feel the bubbling waters of the Jacuzzi melt the stress away while enjoying a drink from the H2O bar, knowing that a relaxing massage awaits them in our brand new spa. All of our 178 luxurious sleeping accommodations all include free internet access, flat screen TVs and our Signature Bed with heavenly linen. We have three dining options and cater for a wide range of tastes; guests can enjoy a meal or snack in the RAH Sushi Bar, la Veranda cafe and H2O Bar. 24/7 Room service is also available for our guests' well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riande Aeropuerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riande Aeropuerto Hotel And Resort
Riande Aeropuerto Hotel Panama City
Hotel Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Hotel Panama
Riande Aeropuerto Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing