We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel DeVille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel DeVille
Ranked #64 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Clean, charming room with a wonderful slanted marble shower which felt like being in a pyramid, although no balcony nor view were available. Best possible service from Madeleine at the reception and Alcibiado. But the most important were the hotel's trusted taxis provided. Franklin was a real treat: not only a trustworthy driver, but also a wonderful guide at the same time.
Breakfast: try the sausages with your eggs, a local specialty. Taxis: it is important to take only a driver acredited by the airport (yellow T-shirt and official badge) for safety reasons. Wifi in all rooms and also possibility of using lounge computers and printers. We e-mailed the hotel previously for more information, but received no answer, perhaps because our request was in English (?). This would be the only negative comment I would have. Visit the Panama canal by all means.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, so try getting further information if you have special requests - probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semagora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    107
    35
    15
    10
See reviews for
45
143
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a much nicer place to stay in the city than the Doubletree. The lobby is inviting, the staff helpful. The first room we were given was a connecting room and the men next door were yelling about some game on TV so we knew we could not sleep. We called down to the front desk and they gave us a different room. Much quieter on the third floor and in a non-connecting room. Both rooms were well-appointed and had nice furnishings, robes, slippers and turn-down service. They helped us with directions to neighborhood restaurants (so much so that the bellman wanted to walk us around the area to take us to them!). Nice computer center with printer on the first floor. When our airport shuttle did not arrive the next morning, the lady at the front desk found the right people to call to help get us on our way. We left around 7:15. No breakfast bags were given as other folks have stated, but still a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-connecting room to ensure quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

A piece of history tucked into the bustling and casino filled Bella Vista area of Panama City. The hotel is not fancy, but it is clean, classy, comfortable and full of history. There is a plaque on the door of one of the rooms that says "John Frank Stevens" (Chief engineer on the Panama Canal). I don't know if he stayed there or if it is just for fun, but it took me back in time. I could easily imagine the great pioneers of engineering staying in a place like this---and I was grateful that the building had been updated with air conditioning since then!

The staff is friendly and ready to help with any issues.

We were leaving early in the morning and since we were missing the breakfast, they packed a lunch for us in a little black canvas cooler bag. The next day, we were leaving early again, only this time we were checking out of the hotel. I figured we would get our lunch in a paper bag, but they gave us a cooler again and told me to keep it.

Since we were getting up early, we did not explore the nightlife of the area, but there are several great restaurants and bars around, and as mentioned above, a fair share of casinos. It is also in a very central business area with several car rental companies within walking distance (do not listen to those who tell you not to rent a car in Panama City. True, the streets are poorly marked, but if you have a decent sense of direction and a good navigator, you can follow a map to the highway. We got lost once and easily found our way back....)

Again, since we were getting up early, a good night's sleep was essential. The room was comfortable and quiet (complete with slippers and dressing gowns). The only complaint is that the front desk forgot to give us our wake up call. Fortunately, we had alarms set.

When we returned to Panama City later in our trip and had a disastrous stay at an (undeservedly) higher rated hotel in the Casco Viejo, I cried that I wanted to return to the DeVille. If I do return to Panama, I most certainly will stay at the DeVille.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blazerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Saboga, Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here on our first trip to Panama, and was very impressed by the attention to detail they showed. The hotel is not in the best area for taking walks around the city, we discovered, but it is close to casinos and restaurants, and has a nice restaurant of its own on site.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelly G, General Manager at Hotel DeVille, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear lscott35143 ,


Thank you for your generous compliments which are very much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear your stay with us was a remarkable one. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to your return in the near future.
Sincerely,
Nelly Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The rooms are spacious, the beds are very comfortable, the staff polit; just don't let them call you a taxi. The one they called asked $15 to go to Casco Viejo, I offered $10. On the way home I paid $5 for a regular, yellow taxi.
The hotel is very well located in the banking area, walking distance to local restaurants.
The on site restaurant is excellent, although it is not clear if it is part of the hotel.

The negatives:
Breakfast only as room service, which limits the choices.
Most rooms overlook a wall, about 1 foot away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PalmBeach9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelly G, General Manager at Hotel DeVille, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear PalmBeach9,
We greatly appreciate your feedback.
We would like to tell you that during your stay, we offered you the breakfast in your room because we were working to have better installations in our buffet.
Please forgive any inconvenience this may have had on your stay. We are grateful to have had you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Nelly Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed for two nights ...very nice rooms...staff is very nice....Very nice rooms with good beds(I have a bad back). Not ideal for families with younger kids...They could do a better job of giving info on sites to visit ...staff really not sure of destinations ...but they are very nice...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aabas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelly G, General Manager at Hotel DeVille, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear aabas4,
Thank you for your comments.
Please forgive any inconvenience this may have had on your stay. We are grateful to have had you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Nelly Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a superb luxury hotel. The posted prices are quite expensive, get it in a package deal. The rooms are large, very well-appointed. Buffet breakfast is good. The best is the staff, they are sensational. I couldn't get through on my cell to the US and asked them where to get a calling card. They sent out someone to bring it to me. They are young, extremely attractive people. Overall, this hotel is a winner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelly G, General Manager at Hotel DeVille, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Laurence S,
Thank you for your generous compliments which are very much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear your stay with us was a remarkable one. We work really hard to give you the BEST.
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to your return in the near future. I am looking forward to seeing you soon, here at the DeVille Hotel Boutique
Sincerely,
-Nelly Goff-
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
2.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
#27 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#36 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#53 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Panama City
Occidental Panama City
#50 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeVille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeVille

Property: Hotel DeVille
Address: Calle 50 y Beatriz M. de Cabal, Panama City 0832, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Panama City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#21 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#33 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel DeVille 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeVille Hotel was conceived as a Beautiful Boutique Hotel, taking you back in time, all the way to the romantic era when Ferdinand de Lesseps was making the first intent in digging the Panama Canal; hence its French name, its comfortable furniture imported from former French colonies, its cozy, quiet oversized rooms, reminding you of other epochs; but also with all modern amenities and services, like Cable TV, minibars, WiFi Internet Access, coffee makers, hairdryers, safety deposit boxes and all other amenities you have come to expect in the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DeVille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deville Hotel Panama City
Hotel DeVille Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing