We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff, Great sangrias!”
Review of Hotel DeVille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel DeVille
Ranked #65 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed January 31, 2012

From the moment we entered Hotel DeVille, we were greeted by the most beautiful smiles and engaging personalities of the women (Anik) working the front desk. They could not have been more gracious and helpful. Our room was a good value - it was very large, impeccably clean and well appointed. There was no view to speak of, but we weren't in the room during the day, so it didn't matter. The restaurant has some very nice tapas and serve the best white sangrias I have ever tasted! I'd highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, ask some questions first....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraGrace1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 304 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is a gem nested between the skyscrapers of the modern Panama. We had a great stay.
We booked the hotel through Ancon Expedition, who organized a great 4-day Panama trip for my wife and I.
I was looking for some charm, in addition to comfort, and I was very pleased I found both in spades. The hotel has only 33 rooms, beautifully furnished in a European style from early century and has a lot of charm. There are plenty of hotels in central Panama but they all seem to be a big worldwide chain with modern deco. We were looking for something more authentic for our trip.
The hotel is very centrally located to all main restuaruant and attractions, the beds are very comfortable, bathroom is spacious and finished with real marble and the staff was helpful and corteous.
Really nice hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sea_Man_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hotel is lovely, well-apponited, and formal yet maintains a small hotel ambiance. .The room was clean. Its located in the middle of the city, great location quiet and safe.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

First, I have to say that the bed we had was absolutely the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The linens are high quality and the mattress is supreme. The room was VERY clean and spacious, and the bathroom was very nice-- large shower, pretty sink area, etc. The room is dark and there's no view, but this doesn't matter because the hotel is located in a dense area and so there is no scenery.

There are a couple of good restaurants very close by. We went to Beirut, which had surprisingly good Lebanese fare.

Staff was friendly and helpful, and there was always someone around when we needed something. Good value considering other options.

Hotel is about 15 minutes from the regional airport and about 20-25 minutes from the international airport. Taxis aren't cheap-- don't expect to pay much less than you would in the States. We paid about $30 each way.

Great hotel. We had no complaints. Also, breakfast was pretty good, with a lot of options.

p.s. Don't come to Panama expecting good coffee. We could never find any.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

First, the positives: Fantastic location on the edge of el Cangrejo, near everything but quiet and safe.

Pleasant, mostly accomodating multi-lingual staff.

Large, clean, quiet rooms.

Huge bathroom with good amenities, robes, slippers, lots of towels, etc.

Decent, filling breakfast included (fair, not gourmet).

However, this is not a 5-star hotel. No matter what rate you pay, don't expect 5-star quality or service (and I pity anyone who pays the hotel's listed rack rate). I found a "Stay two nights, get the third night free" deal on Orbitz, which made the price more reasonable in my case. Perhaps because I had this discount they put me in an older room (the hotel didn't seem too crowded). Arriving late at night, I didn't bother asking to see other rooms, and anyway the deficiencies were not immediately evident.

First of all, when I arrived there was no one to help with the bags out front at the taxi stand, and I was left to lug my stuff up the stairs and navigate the front door alone. Only after I was inside the lobby with my luggage on a cart did a bellhop finally appear.

At check-in there was no orientation about the hotel or area, and no maps or information were offered. I had to ask about where breakfast would be served and at what time.

The room was large and clean, but there was no view or natural light and the setup was strange. For example, the TV was not visible from the couch, only from one of the two beds. It was a tiny, old non-HD television anyway so watching it was nothing special.

The bed was comfortable, but the headboard was noisy and banged into the wall if you moved.

There were several cracks in the paint on the ceiling and walls.

There were some mildew stains in the shower.

To summarize, the DeVille Hotel is a clean, quiet, safe option in a very convenient location, but it's overpriced and nothing special, really.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCTraveler1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex D, General Manager at Hotel DeVille, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

First, thank you for the feedback, this helps us to concentrate on improving our service whenever a deficiency is pointed out to us.
We apologise for the shortcomings in baggage attention and initial orientation, the staff in those departments are now fully trained.
We are in the process of replacing our old TV sets for modern and larger flatscreen ones and expecto to finish replacing all by end January, with almost all rooms have been replaced already.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here on either end of our Panama adventure. Most of the staff were very helpful, accommodating our needs with warmth and efficiency. Rooms are large and comfortable with AC. No view from the rooms but we weren't in them long enough to coplain. The suites are interesting - very high ceilings in the living area making for a climb up the lovely banistered stairs to the upper bedroom. A nice assortment is served for breakfast in a lovely if out of way room on the lobby level.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rbj2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed a few days on a bussines trip last August at the Hotel and I was greeted at the reception by Miss Candy with a lovely smile and friendly attitude. Her and Jose made sure my stay was as pleasent as the comodity of my own home. I travel often to Panama City and I always stay at the Hotel Deville for its great service and welcoming environment. It also has a great location. I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Panama City
Eurostars Panama City
#42 of 115 in Panama City
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#57 of 115 in Panama City
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#17 of 115 in Panama City
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Saba Hotel
The Saba Hotel
#60 of 115 in Panama City
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeVille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeVille

Address: Calle 50 y Beatriz M. de Cabal, Panama City 0832, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Panama City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#21 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#36 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $51 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel DeVille 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeVille Hotel was conceived as a Beautiful Boutique Hotel, taking you back in time, all the way to the romantic era when Ferdinand de Lesseps was making the first intent in digging the Panama Canal; hence its French name, its comfortable furniture imported from former French colonies, its cozy, quiet oversized rooms, reminding you of other epochs; but also with all modern amenities and services, like Cable TV, minibars, WiFi Internet Access, coffee makers, hairdryers, safety deposit boxes and all other amenities you have come to expect in the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel DeVille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deville Hotel Panama City
Hotel DeVille Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing