We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Continental Hotel & Casino
Ranked #45 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed April 28, 2014

this is not a 5 star luxury resort/hotel like a Waldorf. That being said...this is an excellent hotel by all accounts. the rooms were great, staff was helpful, it's in a pretty central location to the city. The Continental appears to be underrated and can't beat it for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthonyj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Mr. Anthony J:

Receive greetings on behalf of all employees of the Continental Hotel & Casino.

We would like to thank you for your comments, it make us feel pleased to meet your expectations.

Your opinion encourage us to continue improving our standards.

We Look forward to host you again


Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 723 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

It is a nice hotel, pretty pool and enormous rooms, so comfortable. You can still tell that the best time of the place was in other time, but it has not loose all the charm. Between the casino, the bar and the pool you will feel just fine in the tropics. Nothing very luxurious but pretty enough. The room was the best part for me, big, comfortable, with perfect AC and totally isolated from any light if you wish during the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Mr. Alberto G:

Receive greetings on behalf of all employees of the Continental Hotel & Casino.

We would like to thank you for your comments, it make us feel pleased to meet your expectations.

Your opinion encourage us to continue improving our standards.

We Look forward to host you again.

Sincerely,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The rooms were clean and well equipped. The only thing missing was a coffee pot. While this is a beautiful hotel, its strength are its employees. They were pleasant and went the extra mile to be helpful. They helped with arrangements for a tour of the Panama Canal and flights to David. Stayed here at the beginning and at the end of our Panama trip. A security conscience establishment. Breakfast buffet a little pricey.

A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Mrs. Susan:

We offer our greetings and appreciate the time you took to write your opinion about our services. We are pleased to know, that you had a good experience with our staff.

In reference to your suggestion about a coffee pot, we will like to confirm you that it been
taken in consideration.

We look forward to see you again. Thank you for the opportunity to host you.

Best regards,

Mirna Capel
Customer Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for only one night, but very happy with my stay. Staff is very courteous and spoke very good english, the rooms are very clean and modern and the breakfast buffet is a nice addition. On the downside, the wifi didn't work all that well in the room (be sure you ask for your username and password). Overall, I would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Mr. Running Ch:

Receive greetings on behalf of all employees of the Continental Hotel & Casino.

We thank you taking the time to write your opinion about our services and likewise your comments, which motivate us to continue to raise our standards.

Looking forward for a next opportunity to host you.

Sincerely,

Mirna Capel

Customer Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I chose a different hotel then got email from a friend telling me about the Continental Hotel. We checked it out and moved to it. I hadn't chosen it originally because of the casino. But while staying there I never even had a sense that there was a casino. We moved to the Continental Hotel largely because of the kudos we were given about the concierge, Mirna Capel. our friend was right. Mirna gave us great advise while displaying her full-of-life enthusiasm. She didn't tell us where to go, she took us. She offered to drive her car and have us follow her in our rental car so we'd get where we wanted to go. While there we also encountered David Stahl who hangs out with a Continental "affliliated" tour bus in front of the hotel. He spent 2 days with us showing us around Panama and Coronado. He is a dual Panama-US citizen, thus speaks perfect English (his first language) and he is a charming delight! The entire front-desk staff made us feel we were frequent and well-known guests of the hotel greeting us was we arrived at the end of each day. The hotel is a bit dated. Older furnishings, mostly. Beautiful pool. The best complimentary breakfast. Not lacking. Quite comfortable.

Room Tip: My room was facing the pool in the interior of the hotel. The hotel is on one of the busiest streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinB1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Mrs. Robin:

Dear Mrs. Robin:

Receive the best wishes on behalf of all employees of the Continental Hotel & Casino.

I have no words to thank such beautiful comments and especially the joy I feel to know that you were happy and we all could help you.

Thank you very much for the opportunity to host you, this will always be your home in Panama.

Sincerely,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Made reservations on the internet and we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, very nice bath, refrigerator, etc. Very clean and pleasant (except for the constant traffic noise outside). The shower was never more than lukewarm. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant had very good food at reasonable prices and the breakfast buffet that was included in our room was wonderful. I will never go back to Panama City but would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go.

Room Tip: try to get one that overlooks the pool and not one on the street side as the traffic noise is non-st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Mrs. Carole M:

Receive our greetings on behalf of the employees of Continental Hotel & Casino.

We appreciate the time you took to write your comments about our services. We are pleased that we were able to meet your expectations.

We are glad to inform you that we will soon be starting our remodeling program and we have included a double glazed windows to isolate road noise.

We thank you in advance for your recommendation.

Cordially,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We didn't know much about the hotel before our arrival, and booking the room turned out to be a great decision. The Continental has old world charm, but it's been renovated so the rooms are comfortable and equipped with safes, although our bathroom did not have a tub (spacious shower though). We also had the minibar cleared out so we could use the fridge.

The hotel has an outdoor pool, a jacuzzi and an exercise room. Drinks are reasonably priced ($5) and it was nice to have them brought to the jacuzzi. There is live entertainment almost every night of the week, with band performances by the pool or piano playing in the bar. The business center has a lot of computers, and staff members were very helpful in arranging tours and suggesting places to visit. The front desk was also very responsive to our requests. The hotel provides free wi-fi, but we had trouble getting our devices to connect to the network. However, the hotel did give us new codes for access when we asked.

The buffet breakfast was good, and the price was decent (about $17.50 with tax and tip). We basically ate enough during a late breakfast to carry us to dinner. Room service and housekeeping could have been a bit better - we never had enough towels or water bottles. But that was a minor inconvenience.

The hotel is located in the center of the city. It's not in the poshest neighborhood, but Via Espana has restaurants (including a really nice 24-hour diner), convenience stores, souvenir shops, and easy access to taxis and buses. We only used the hotel taxi service to go to the airport. It was cheaper for us to negotiate with drivers on the main street. We were only 10-15 minutes away from the Causeway ($5-$8, depending on whether we went during rush hour) and Casco Viejo ($4-$6). Calle Uruguay, a center for nightlife, is only five minutes away ($2-$3).

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't overlook the street - you can hear the noise from the traffic. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Ms. Lauren T:

Receive warm greetings on behalf of all employees of the Continental Hotel & Casino. We thank you for the time you took to write your comments about our services and facilities.

We are pleased that we could meet your expectations. However we can confirm that we have already discussed with the departments of internet, room service and housekeeping to strengthen the sequence of service and do the necessary corrections to guarantee our best service.

We are at your service, for your next visit to the city of Panama.

Thanks for letting us serve you.

Sincerely,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 115 in Panama City
813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 115 in Panama City
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Occidental Panama City
Occidental Panama City
#38 of 115 in Panama City
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#27 of 115 in Panama City
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel & Casino

Address: Via Espana and Ricardo Arias Street, Panama City 0823, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#28 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $62 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Hotel is strategically located in the heart of Panamas business and financial district, within the most privilege spot of Via España. This beautiful hotel is conveniently surrounded by important banks and headquarters of the major corporations in Latin America. We also include among our neighbors, fancy restaurants, designer boutiques, famous shopping centers, popular night clubs and glamorous lounges. Visitors can attend their business affairs or take shopping tours within only minutes from their room, while taking advantage of all the amenities of a comfortable and elegant hotel that is centrally located, offering easy access to a variety of landmarks and places of interest. Situated only 20 minutes from the international airport - by highway - and less than 30 minutes from the Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Panama City
Continental Hotel And Casino
Continental Riande Hotel
Hotel Continental Panama
Riande Continental Panama
Hotel Riande Panama
Continental Riande Panama City
Continental Hotel & Casino Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing