We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Hotel & Casino
Ranked #38 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Continental Hotel and Cassino in Panama City (September 2011). The room was big and clean, good amenities and great breakfast. The staff was very helpful. One very important thing: they don't offer free wi-fi. There are good and inexpensive restaurants nearby (I recommend Restaurant Beirut) for a good meal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaBBlake, E-Commerce Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for choosing the Continental Hotel & Casino during your trip to Panama. Thanks for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to tell us your experience. Note that the hotel does offer free wi fi.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
There are newer reviews for Continental Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 700 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Some years ago I decided to stop staying at this property. However, I had to attend a meeting organized by other organization. The Continental was the meeting headquarters. I have to say I was surprised with some changes they have implemented. The rooms were renovated and look much better than before, more comfortable too. The meeting room where we worked was also rejuvenated. The service has improved a lot. The wifi worked very well. Unfortunately the food is still in desperate need of help, particularly the breakfast.

Room Tip: Higher floors to stay away from noise
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaBBlake, E-Commerce Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest: thank you very much for taking the time to explain your experience during your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again at our hotel during your next travel.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is clean, has big rooms and excellent breakfast. On the other hand it does not offer free wi-fi, the queues checking in and out are terrible and there is a casino inside the hotel which I really dislike, but that's a matter of personal taste.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your opinión, it is very important to us. We are sorry that you left with mixed feelings, we hope to have a next opportunity, to fulfill your expectations.

Best regards,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel is not for the family minded or safe for couples with kids. They do not allow family visitors and this is an uncommunicated rule. I brought my wife home to Panama to visit and meet her family after many years in the USA and the hotel does not allow family visitors unless you sit in the lobby. They were disrespectful and rude to members of my wifes family. They also do not allow you to bring in a family member as a baby sitter unless you get them their own room. (another unknown and uncommunicated rule). Should you have a complaint do not expect management to speak with you as they were never available to voice your concerns with. I will never return to this hotel and absolutely do not recommend them especially if you have a family vacation in mind or little kids. The managers did not care about our kids safe concerns.

If you want to have a family vacation please do not choose this hotel. Our family did not get the customer service we were expecting. Managers are rude, they do not care about kids safety and they do not want you to even show your room to your family.

The place is located close to a prostitution area and it's not good for your family.

We are sad we choose this horrible hotel for our vacation. We then went to the beach rent a cabanna for $50.00 for 2 days and we have so much fun in this little cabanna surronded by a beatiful beach and very nice people who made our trip enjoyable. The city is horrible, the towns what they call "El Interior" is very nice. We recommended all family to go to Coronado, Santa Clara, but stay far away from the city and especially from this hotel with a horrible cust. services and management.

Sadly disappointed from the USA!!!

Room Tip: If you want to have a family vacation please do not choose this hotel. Our family did not get the cu...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest:

We are sorry for the inconvenience during your stay in our hotel.

We offer to you and family our sincere apologies and assure you, that your complaint has been taken very seriously. Your opinión is very importan to us.

Sincerely,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Continental Hotel and Casino in Panama City is an older hotel, but it is located adjacent the downtown business district. It is convenient to restaurants, shopping and night life. The rooms are nice sized, and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DennisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Mr. Atkinson:

Thank you for your response, your opinión es very important to us.

We are glad that you find our hotel a Nice place.

Best regards,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Wait forever in the restaurant

Rude manager in the business center

No coordination with the airlines that stick you here and forget about you

Try to charge thirty five dollars a person to go to the airport when for ten dollars you can stick four people in a taxi

Staff to busy with their airline stuck guests to bother with the regular guests

For the price plenty of places to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank honey40921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest:

We are very sorry that you felt that our staff did not care.
.
We do apologies for the inconvenience and want to assure you, that your opinion is very important to us.

Sincerely,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Worst hotel ever been.45 min check in.Hotel is old and decay.The staff is lazy and unfriendly.
Don't go !!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BucharestCatalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear BucharestCatalin:

Thank very much for your generous comments regarding our hotels and Staff. Your feedback and recomendations are very ìmportant for us. Please excuse any inconvenience during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#30 of 115 in Panama City
777 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Panama City
Eurostars Panama City
#40 of 115 in Panama City
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#21 of 115 in Panama City
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 115 in Panama City
858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#19 of 115 in Panama City
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel & Casino

Address: Via Espana and Ricardo Arias Street, Panama City 0823, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#11 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
#24 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $60 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Hotel is strategically located in the heart of Panamas business and financial district, within the most privilege spot of Via España. This beautiful hotel is conveniently surrounded by important banks and headquarters of the major corporations in Latin America. We also include among our neighbors, fancy restaurants, designer boutiques, famous shopping centers, popular night clubs and glamorous lounges. Visitors can attend their business affairs or take shopping tours within only minutes from their room, while taking advantage of all the amenities of a comfortable and elegant hotel that is centrally located, offering easy access to a variety of landmarks and places of interest. Situated only 20 minutes from the international airport - by highway - and less than 30 minutes from the Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Panama City
Continental Hotel And Casino
Continental Riande Hotel
Hotel Continental Panama
Riande Continental Panama
Hotel Riande Panama
Continental Riande Panama City
Continental Hotel & Casino Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing