We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a safe place for kids, not a family minded hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Continental Hotel & Casino
Ranked #35 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a safe place for kids, not a family minded hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel is not for the family minded or safe for couples with kids. They do not allow family visitors and this is an uncommunicated rule. I brought my wife home to Panama to visit and meet her family after many years in the USA and the hotel does not allow family visitors unless you sit in the lobby. They were disrespectful and rude to members of my wifes family. They also do not allow you to bring in a family member as a baby sitter unless you get them their own room. (another unknown and uncommunicated rule). Should you have a complaint do not expect management to speak with you as they were never available to voice your concerns with. I will never return to this hotel and absolutely do not recommend them especially if you have a family vacation in mind or little kids. The managers did not care about our kids safe concerns.

If you want to have a family vacation please do not choose this hotel. Our family did not get the customer service we were expecting. Managers are rude, they do not care about kids safety and they do not want you to even show your room to your family.

The place is located close to a prostitution area and it's not good for your family.

We are sad we choose this horrible hotel for our vacation. We then went to the beach rent a cabanna for $50.00 for 2 days and we have so much fun in this little cabanna surronded by a beatiful beach and very nice people who made our trip enjoyable. The city is horrible, the towns what they call "El Interior" is very nice. We recommended all family to go to Coronado, Santa Clara, but stay far away from the city and especially from this hotel with a horrible cust. services and management.

Sadly disappointed from the USA!!!

Room Tip: If you want to have a family vacation please do not choose this hotel. Our family did not get the cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are sorry for the inconvenience during your stay in our hotel.

We offer to you and family our sincere apologies and assure you, that your complaint has been taken very seriously. Your opinión is very importan to us.

Sincerely,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    216
    94
    36
    35
See reviews for
128
157
60
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
356 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Continental Hotel and Casino in Panama City is an older hotel, but it is located adjacent the downtown business district. It is convenient to restaurants, shopping and night life. The rooms are nice sized, and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Atkinson:

Thank you for your response, your opinión es very important to us.

We are glad that you find our hotel a Nice place.

Best regards,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Wait forever in the restaurant

Rude manager in the business center

No coordination with the airlines that stick you here and forget about you

Try to charge thirty five dollars a person to go to the airport when for ten dollars you can stick four people in a taxi

Staff to busy with their airline stuck guests to bother with the regular guests

For the price plenty of places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank honey40921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are very sorry that you felt that our staff did not care.
.
We do apologies for the inconvenience and want to assure you, that your opinion is very important to us.

Sincerely,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Worst hotel ever been.45 min check in.Hotel is old and decay.The staff is lazy and unfriendly.
Don't go !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BucharestCatalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear BucharestCatalin:

Thank very much for your generous comments regarding our hotels and Staff. Your feedback and recomendations are very ìmportant for us. Please excuse any inconvenience during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Poor service, old rooms, one elevator per tower, huge lines to check in/out...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RafaelZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
I want to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. For us your opinion is very valuable and we regret not being able to meet your expectations. We have making major changes in our property, to make your next visit, a very favorable experience. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

After waiting at the Panama City airport for 10 hours I wasn't exactly thrilled to be told by the United Airlines staff that our plane would not be repaired that day and we would be taking a bus back to Panama City to a hotel and we would try again in the morning. Standing in line at the hotel to check in were 120 people. No AC and no WIFI and no internet in the rooms. you could purchase a wifi 24 hour access card for 13.00. I get to my room facing the courtyard and from the 6th floor all you can hear is the live band playing until 11:00 PM. My room was hot with AC barely functioning in the room. The hallway was freezing. I wasn't the only one that had no AC in their room.

I will say that the food was good, they set up a buffet with chicken and corvina, some cheese and deserts. The vegetables were mushy cauliflower and broccoli. The corvina (sea bass) was outstanding!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GaryRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Mr. Garyrama:

Thank you very much for taking the time to explain your experience during your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are taking care of all your recomendations in order to take the proper actions to resolve it. Again we apologize for all the inconvenience during your stay, we always strive to provide an excellent services to our guest. We would like to welcome you back in the near future and have the opportunity to make your stay an extraordinary experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We booked this hotel starting Feb. 28/ 2012, thru March 1, and were going to stay here until 3/12/12. After 3 days we could not stand it any longer and moved. We were on the 9th floor with courtyard view, we arrived about 7P.M, The band started about 8 and went until well after 1. It was very loud in our room,needless to say we got very little sleep after a loooong day of travel. The next morning I was taking a shower when the water just quit, not happy, about 15 later it came on and I was able to rinse off, the water in the sink and toilet were ok the whole time. When I went to the front desk and very nicely inquired about the water and noise, they acted like it was funny among themselves and assured me there would not be any more bands, not true, they pretty much acted like they didn,t believe them about the water. Nobody seemed concerned, after checking, it was not a hotel wide or area wide problem, as they are working on the subway it does happen sometimes, but they are advised well ahead of time At check in they gave us two free drink tickets and said that they would be good the entire stay, but on the back they had written good until the 28, the same day as we checked in, we went to the bar and got drinks the next evening and were told tht the drink coupons were expired, period. There is nobody in the buiness who speaks english, so it is difficult to use. If you want wifi in your room it is $12.95 per day. No breakfast included, not a problem except many other comparable properties give breakfast and wifi with the room.The location of this is very good if you want the downtown area. The rooms are on a scale of 1-10, a 5-6. The price I got for booking very early was good, but not great. We moved to a new Marriot, with wifi, full breakfast buffet, and bigger room and better bedding, for the same money. I would not choose this hotel again due o my experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank griffithross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Panama It was a pleasure to have you with us. We appreciate taking time to review our services, and I am glad you have rated most of our services very high.
I would be checking on the issue related to the music until so late, i can tell you that we do not allow this to happen and are looking for the responsibles on this matter, the music should on until so late.

Thank you for choosing Continental Hotel & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.5 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#20 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Sonesta Hotel & Casino Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
#27 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
TRYP Panama Centro
TRYP Panama Centro
#19 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toscana Inn Hotel
Toscana Inn Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel & Casino

Property: Continental Hotel & Casino
Address: Via Espana and Ricardo Arias Street, Panama City 0823, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#23 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Hotel is strategically located in the heart of Panamas business and financial district, within the most privilege spot of Via España. This beautiful hotel is conveniently surrounded by important banks and headquarters of the major corporations in Latin America. We also include among our neighbors, fancy restaurants, designer boutiques, famous shopping centers, popular night clubs and glamorous lounges. Visitors can attend their business affairs or take shopping tours within only minutes from their room, while taking advantage of all the amenities of a comfortable and elegant hotel that is centrally located, offering easy access to a variety of landmarks and places of interest. Situated only 20 minutes from the international airport - by highway - and less than 30 minutes from the Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Continental Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel And Casino
Continental Hotel Panama City
Continental Riande Hotel
Hotel Continental Panama
Riande Continental Panama
Hotel Riande Panama
Continental Riande Panama City
Continental Hotel & Casino Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing