We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience at continental” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continental Hotel & Casino

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Continental Hotel & Casino
Ranked #38 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad experience at continental”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We booked this hotel starting Feb. 28/ 2012, thru March 1, and were going to stay here until 3/12/12. After 3 days we could not stand it any longer and moved. We were on the 9th floor with courtyard view, we arrived about 7P.M, The band started about 8 and went until well after 1. It was very loud in our room,needless to say we got very little sleep after a loooong day of travel. The next morning I was taking a shower when the water just quit, not happy, about 15 later it came on and I was able to rinse off, the water in the sink and toilet were ok the whole time. When I went to the front desk and very nicely inquired about the water and noise, they acted like it was funny among themselves and assured me there would not be any more bands, not true, they pretty much acted like they didn,t believe them about the water. Nobody seemed concerned, after checking, it was not a hotel wide or area wide problem, as they are working on the subway it does happen sometimes, but they are advised well ahead of time At check in they gave us two free drink tickets and said that they would be good the entire stay, but on the back they had written good until the 28, the same day as we checked in, we went to the bar and got drinks the next evening and were told tht the drink coupons were expired, period. There is nobody in the buiness who speaks english, so it is difficult to use. If you want wifi in your room it is $12.95 per day. No breakfast included, not a problem except many other comparable properties give breakfast and wifi with the room.The location of this is very good if you want the downtown area. The rooms are on a scale of 1-10, a 5-6. The price I got for booking very early was good, but not great. We moved to a new Marriot, with wifi, full breakfast buffet, and bigger room and better bedding, for the same money. I would not choose this hotel again due o my experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank griffithross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Panama It was a pleasure to have you with us. We appreciate taking time to review our services, and I am glad you have rated most of our services very high.
I would be checking on the issue related to the music until so late, i can tell you that we do not allow this to happen and are looking for the responsibles on this matter, the music should on until so late.

Thank you for choosing Continental Hotel & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    234
    110
    40
    37
See reviews for
147
166
63
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Continental Riande several times, including March 2 through the 10th of this year. It is true that the hotel is an older property; however, we like the atmosphere at the entrance and in the lobby. We found the desk personnel to be quite polite and helpful. The lady in the business office went the extra mile for us. The beds are comfortable enough and the bathroom is totally adequate. We did experience a dripping showerhead which was fixed upon request. The buffet breakfast was included in our hotel fee; I would not want to pay the going rate for it. Pastries are cold and tasteless. There is always offered French toast or pancakes which are warm and an omelet station is available. The ladies who work in the breakfast area have a way of ignoring the guests. Getting a second cup of coffee was a major undertaking and annoying. I found that putting a tip out on the table encouraged the offering of coffee. All in all we found the Continental to be a great base for our Panama trip. It is within walking distance to all grades of restaurants, including Costa Azul for a quick inexpensive meal, Machu Pichu for excellent Peruvivian food, Gauchos for beef and La Posta for novelle cuisine.

Room Tip: Pick an inside room if street noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathym3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Panama It was a pleasure to have you with us. We appreciate taking time to review our services, and I am glad you have rated most of our services very high.
I would be checking on the issue related to the waiters in the restaurant and work with them to better the service
Thank you for choosing Continental Hotel & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey ,BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Hotel is in Panama city so consider that it is on a very busy intersection and you wont want a room on the front side due to the noise from the horns. We moved to pool side and the rooms were clean and much quieter. Maid service was great,beds were fine for the 5 day stay.
Pool was ok and we did have some sun time but again older chairs and you only get a few hours of sun due buildings.
This is a very old hotel and it is in an area of constuction but we found some great resaurants and casinos,sport bars within a few blocks.
Service is very slow but prices are super cheap for good food and beer,buffet is expensive unless its included so watch out on that.

Room Tip: Inside rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Customer
Thank you for choosing the Continental Hotel & Casino during your trip to Panama. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is terrible.

1. We arrived and there was no electricity. There was no warning given. They gave us the room keys, we get up there, and there is no power. They don't pick up their phone, you have to go down, and then most of them are talking to one another, rather than helping customers.

2. Extremely rude staff with a serious attitude. Definitely not what you want to be greeted to.

3. The rooms have been built with no workmanship. Loose tiles, poor caulking, things falling apart, a TV that isn't straight.

4. Way too expensive given that for the same price I can go and stay in a 5-star hotel for the same money.

5. Kind of eerie, gives off a very odd vibe.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treepondersleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear rrafay:

we apologize by the inconvenience of the electricity it was a matter of the city and the metro construction out of our hands, for the means of the employees that where rude i would love to have a more detailed version of what happened to you, i would appreciate if you send me your comments to reservations@continentalhotel.com.

sincerilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I just left there yesterday, Sun Feb 5th so this report is accurate, I am currently staying at a different hotel because of the terrible noise, this hotel is located at a very busy intersection. I was on the 6th floor facing the street and believe me the traffic noise is horrible, the honking of horns is incessant day and night and the sound of trucks, cars and motorbikes will drive you crazy, there is construction going on all around this hotel so you will not get peace and quiet anywhere, they are building a Sonesta Hotel next door. One review said the pool view is inspiring...Huh! were we at the same hotel?...the pool view rooms face a huge ugly wall that is part of the construction and the pool is tiny, I never saw anyone in it during the 3 days I stayed at this hotel. The work out room is tiny and terrible, no towels and very limited equipment. I read other reviews, first of all breakfast is not free, it is $17 for buffet or $9 for continental style unless you get it included in your price of the room. The breakfast buffet is mediocre at best. The service was quite good and the people that work there are very friendly. The rooms are decent and clean. This hotel is cheaper than most in the area, so I guess you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street on any level otherwise be prepared for a sleepless night and 4am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gedly888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to explain your experience during your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are taking care of all your recomendations in order to take the proper actions to resolve it. Again we apologize for all the inconvenience during your stay, we always strive to provide an excellent services to our guest. We would like to welcome you back in the near future and have the opportunity to make your stay an extraordinary experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

people were very helpfull, desk, restaurant. The price of the food, very cheap and very good. room was very clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerninT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
thank you for giving us the opportunity to offer you our hospitality and service. your suggestions and opinions are very appreciated. Please forgive any inconvenience this may have had on your stay. We hope to see you again at our hotel during your next travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

A booked a package and wasn't sure about the hotel I got, got to the airport and my transportation wasn't there so I took a cab, worst mistake I could have done, the taxi drivers are crazy It is something NY wise but without the steess and streets they have, got to the hotel and thought this is as old as me, reception a great service, bellmen the best, I even met the lady who made my reservation, they have really big rooms, clean, a pool view that is inspiring, I'd love to come back on my next trip

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpnavy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpgiesemann, Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Customer
Thank you for choosing the Continental Hotel & Casino during your trip to Panama. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Cancun in the future.
Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.5 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#17 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Panama City
Eurostars Panama City
#43 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
#26 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel & Casino

Property: Continental Hotel & Casino
Address: Via Espana and Ricardo Arias Street, Panama City 0823, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#8 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
#22 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Hotel is strategically located in the heart of Panamas business and financial district, within the most privilege spot of Via España. This beautiful hotel is conveniently surrounded by important banks and headquarters of the major corporations in Latin America. We also include among our neighbors, fancy restaurants, designer boutiques, famous shopping centers, popular night clubs and glamorous lounges. Visitors can attend their business affairs or take shopping tours within only minutes from their room, while taking advantage of all the amenities of a comfortable and elegant hotel that is centrally located, offering easy access to a variety of landmarks and places of interest. Situated only 20 minutes from the international airport - by highway - and less than 30 minutes from the Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Continental Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel And Casino
Continental Hotel Panama City
Continental Riande Hotel
Hotel Continental Panama
Riande Continental Panama
Hotel Riande Panama
Continental Riande Panama City
Continental Hotel & Casino Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing