We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night or two”
Review of Hotel Roma Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Roma Plaza
Ranked #83 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We spent our first and last nights in Panama in this hotel, the room was cheap and clean enough, but I wouldn't have wanted to spend the whole 9 days there. This is not the type of hotel you hang out by the pool, it's a good cheap home base if you plan on spending most of your time exploring the city. Some pluses were an excellent AC unit, free internet access, free breakfast and a 24 hour diner downstairs. Some minuses, the place is a little run down and nothing of interest within walking distance. The front desk was helpful arranging transportation to Colon and spoke enough English. One final tip, get the seafood soup in the diner, it is awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneromc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Roma Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 192 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2010

We arrived in Panama with no reservations and no Spanish. Picked Roma from a tourist guide at the airport because it was a median priced room. Far away from the airport, it was an expensive cab ride. Front desk spoke limited English, weasked for the room rate advertised in the guide. The room we got was no bigger than a closet and had no windows at all. The next day we "upgraded" to a slightly more expensive room, which for $10 more was actually quite nice, had big windows and even an mini-fridge. We have seen more than one review indicating this same situation, so we can only conclude this is the hotel's policy. Roma does have a fairly nice 24 hour cafe on the main floor, and a pool on the roof. If you are looking for a cheap, clean no-frills place to stay, go across Calle 33 from the Roma and stay at the "backpacker hotel" Vista Mar for $25 a night. We were at Vista Mar for a month and found it to be quite satisfactory for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkyle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 29, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights at hotel Roma. Although our room was below average by American standards, (very small window, limited furniture, etc.) we definitely enjoyed our stay both at the hotel and in Panama City. Despite the quality of the room, the staff came in every day to clean and replace the towels. In short, if you are getting a room just to sleep and relax in from time to time, this place is wonderful.
The hotel is located in the center of the city, just a $2-3 cab ride from pretty much anywhere you want to go. The most we paid for a cab was $10 to the Panama Canal which is about a 30 min ride. This hotel is also very safe; there is an armed security guard outside at all times. If you stay here, make sure to check out the rooftop pool. Although the pool is a bit on the small side, the whole patio/pool setup is pretty nice. There is also a restaurant in the hotel that serves decent food, and you can buy bottles of liquor and wine there for reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iestokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

This is an average hotel. Rooms are small, but clean. TV was extraordinarily small. Elevator was European type-very small. Situated in the middle of Panama City. It is far from the airport and difficult to find for any foreign traveler with a rental vehicle. This is a place where you are totally dependent on taxi service. Pluses are good buffet breakfast included in price and secure parking for vehicle.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I read several bad reviews about this hotel, but I took the chance and stayed last week, on 2 ocassions, the first room we got was in the middle of the hotel, with no windows, but it was quiet, the AC was either too cold or too hot so we decided to leave it on and after dinner turn it off, that worked. We took one queen bed and the result was a very tiny room. The second room we got we took double beds and had a window that faced the main avenue, the room was bigger but too noisy as the avenue has a lot of traffic. The complementary breakfast was OK, scrambled eggs, sausages, and some time a meat stew. As well cereal, milk, coffee and a sort of different box juices, (apple, pear, orange and Maracuya). Overall this hotel is not as expensive as others we look into and has the basic needs to have a comfortable sleep after a day exploring this city.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patadperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Our room had no window. The air conditioner was extremely noisy and it continued to make a noise also after cutting off the power (I know it seems impossible!). So we could not sleep at all. Moreover the area is ugly and the price is much higher than all the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sfard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#69 of 115 in Panama City
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#76 of 115 in Panama City
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Suites Hotel
Bahia Suites Hotel
#97 of 115 in Panama City
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#80 of 115 in Panama City
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marparaiso
Hotel Marparaiso
#73 of 115 in Panama City
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#68 of 115 in Panama City
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Plaza

Address: Avenida Justo Arosemena y Calle 33, Panama City 0816, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: $43 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Roma Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Roma Plaza is located in the business center of the city, between the most popular shopping area (2 blocks away), and the Bay of Panama. 2 blocks away from the office of the Chamber of Commerce of Panama, airlines, embassies and consulates, banks, public offices, 24-hour clinic, pharmacy, beauty salons and parks. Internet lobby, free wireless, cafeteria, rain forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Plaza Hotel
Roma Plaza Panama City
Hotel Roma Plaza Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing