We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for such quality”
Review of Hotel Roma Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Roma Plaza
Ranked #82 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Too expensive for such quality”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed there just for one night and it was definitely too expensive. Some rooms do not have windows so you feel imprisoned. No hair dryer.
The breakfast is very poor and tasteless. The good thing is the location. It is within walking distance to old town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berta2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    45
    19
    32
See reviews for
41
53
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you want to be awake all night this is the place to be. Not because there is a party all night or because it is surrounded by places to go during the night hours, it is because of the traffic and the necessity of every Panamanian driving by the hotel to sound the horn of their car. If you want to hear a biiipppp, waaaaaaahhhhh at 2:00am, 3:00am or even 4:00am this is your place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights at this hotel. This was after leaving a much more dreadful hotel, the Hotel Latino (don't even think about it). We found it to be above average for cleanliness by Central American standards. It also had a fresh bedspread which is rare in most hotels in this category. The rooms were being remodeled and were very doable. The hallways are in dire need of refreshing. We used the rooftop pool and found it clean and inviting. I thought the breakfast was very average but had enough fruit to offset what I did not like. The 24 hour on site restaurant was fine. We did walk the neighborhood more than once and felt safe. There is a huge supermarket 4-5 blocks away. Enough towels if you ask.

Room Tip: I felt the upgrade to a mini-suite would not be worth the money just to get a small table and refrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We found it on the internet. It's in a tough neighborhood, nothing to walk around in. The staff is sullen and not at all helpful. Our room had a narrow window above eyelevel and the bellboy never showed us how to work the air conditioner. Wifi was only on the ground floor.

The breakfast is OK. There are easily available taxis. Overall it was adequate but we found better closer to the center of town, lower price, cleaner, less sullen staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

nothing very bad to say about the place, nor anything very good. it was okay for the price. only complaint about the room was that the windows wouldn't secure very well at all. the staff didn't consider that a problem because we were on a street and on the second floor, but we didn't feel good about that anyway, to the point where we blocked the doors so that anyone entering in the night would have made a lot of noise and awakened us. the high point: breakfast. good selection, good quality, all you can eat, and fresh!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank zukepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We spent our first and last nights in Panama in this hotel, the room was cheap and clean enough, but I wouldn't have wanted to spend the whole 9 days there. This is not the type of hotel you hang out by the pool, it's a good cheap home base if you plan on spending most of your time exploring the city. Some pluses were an excellent AC unit, free internet access, free breakfast and a 24 hour diner downstairs. Some minuses, the place is a little run down and nothing of interest within walking distance. The front desk was helpful arranging transportation to Colon and spoke enough English. One final tip, get the seafood soup in the diner, it is awesome.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneromc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We arrived in Panama with no reservations and no Spanish. Picked Roma from a tourist guide at the airport because it was a median priced room. Far away from the airport, it was an expensive cab ride. Front desk spoke limited English, weasked for the room rate advertised in the guide. The room we got was no bigger than a closet and had no windows at all. The next day we "upgraded" to a slightly more expensive room, which for $10 more was actually quite nice, had big windows and even an mini-fridge. We have seen more than one review indicating this same situation, so we can only conclude this is the hotel's policy. Roma does have a fairly nice 24 hour cafe on the main floor, and a pool on the roof. If you are looking for a cheap, clean no-frills place to stay, go across Calle 33 from the Roma and stay at the "backpacker hotel" Vista Mar for $25 a night. We were at Vista Mar for a month and found it to be quite satisfactory for the price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkyle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#79 of 114 in Panama City
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 114 in Panama City
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Suites Hotel
Bahia Suites Hotel
#97 of 114 in Panama City
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#86 of 114 in Panama City
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#68 of 114 in Panama City
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marparaiso
Hotel Marparaiso
#74 of 114 in Panama City
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Plaza

Property: Hotel Roma Plaza
Address: Avenida Justo Arosemena y Calle 33, Panama City 0816, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Roma Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Roma Plaza is located in the business center of the city, between the most popular shopping area (2 blocks away), and the Bay of Panama. 2 blocks away from the office of the Chamber of Commerce of Panama, airlines, embassies and consulates, banks, public offices, 24-hour clinic, pharmacy, beauty salons and parks. Internet lobby, free wireless, cafeteria, rain forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Plaza Hotel
Roma Plaza Panama City
Hotel Roma Plaza Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing