We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greate Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Panama
Ranked #39 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greate Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Excellent service in a great location. In the heart of Panama City walking distance to most malls and casinos.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrpancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    158
    74
    25
    13
See reviews for
69
99
37
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The Crowne Plaza is more than adequate for the business traveler in Panama City. Bring earplugs, though...The hotel sits on the corner of via Espana (very busy, with many Diablo Roja busses) and directly across from a church. The church bells ring promptly at 6 a.m every day. Not a problem during the work week but not pleasant on a weekend...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenngregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed here on our first night in Panama.. and to be honest we were a bit worried after reading all the reviews.. I was expecting a total dump. What we found was a very friendly staff -- both at reception, in the bar and at the restaurant. and a nice clean hotel in a great location. The rooms were large and clean.. we did not have or encounter a musty smell as the previous reviewed noted... We did ask for a room on an upper floor and I do recommend doing that as there was some street noise... we stayed over a Friday night and they have party buses ( El delabo rojas?) that at first we thought was a bar located near by due to the noise... the bus went around 4 times throughout the night and did wake us up but I don't blame the hotel for that. We asked for a restaurant suggestion when we arrived and were told to go to " El Trapiche" and I would highly recommend.. this was one of our best meals in Panama-- very authentic and very inexpensive... not glamours .. more like a good cafe and we were the only Americans there with all the Panamanians (you know when the locals go there it has to be good!) We went during the World Cup so you could only guess how excited they all were.... Our first night we went to Beirut restaurant for dinner... just ok. Great appetizers.. just so so dinner. We sat outside..be warned that they are a hookah bar so we encountered smoke which was unpleasant while your eating.. it's right across the street from the Marriott. We had breakfast included in our stay the next morning and it was good.... a buffet that had lots of choices and a cook making fresh eggs. Overall I would go back and stay here... it's located in a prime part of town and you can walk to lot's of places.. beware of the cab fares from the hotel..they are very high compared to walking just a block and hailing a cab (just remember to get the rate up front before you enter the cab)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovetotravel1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
642 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

The benefits of the Crowne arre the location -- very close to great restaurants; and the staff who work hard to make your stay the best possible. Overall the hotel is quite worn, the rooms are very musty and noisy (both from hall noise) and the street noise of the cars passing by in the night. Since my 1st time to Panama I cannot comment on other hotels or how the Crowne compares; however I have stayed at numerous hotels in many Asian countries throughout the year...and would place the Crowne in the lower 50%. The rooms were quite large, however very musty, and the bed was comfortable yet had stains on the top cover....the bathroom was average, water warm and the towels were of decent quality.

Breakfast is included (was for me) and was OK. If you are looking for some nourishment before beginning the day -- it will work; if you like a nice buffet with good choices then you will not be happy. The bar has a Happy Hour from 5 - 7 pm and the drinks seem reasonably priced...you can purchase food, however I never ate in the bar.

The gym -- forget it...looks like something from the 1960's...old and very limited equipment. Very old and limited.

An advantage of the hotel is the location -- very close to a supermarket (get your water and beer there) to fill up on snacks a t a great price; the hotel is very close to some good shopping and great restaurants and Casinos (5 minute walk). The staff told us about a great steak and seafood restauruant (out the door, right and then right and go for a 5-7 minute walk). The food and wine was fantastic! Can't remember the name....ask the staff for a recommendation...we did and were always pleased.

The best part is the staff who go out of their way to make your stay as good as an old hotel can perform...seemed that lots of things look old and in need of repair in and around Panama. Although there im much construction (Condos) rizing up everywhere...

I'd stay again but I'd 1st see if I could find a newer hotel with a better gym and didn't smell so musty or be so loud at night! The sound from the outside was quite obvious at 2 to 3 in the morning...some of the bus' have loud sound systems....Also the Internet is quite pricy ($42.00) for three days. I negotiated to have it included in the room rate...recommend you do the same.

So some tips:

1. Negotiate the price before getting in a Taxi -- they have no meter and if they determine you have cash; will raise the price. Be willing to walk away if it seems to high. A normal cab ride to/from the airport should be approx $25; around the city about $3.00. Also don't get in a taxi that the hotel calls for you...they add a surcharge. Go out and walk away from the hotel and get a taxi..they are everywhere and cheaper. Seek the Yellow Taxi's

2. Ask for recommendations on restaurants -- there are some very good places at super prices. We had some Argentina beef and Spanish wine one night and it was fantastic...

3. People are very friendly and willing to help -- the Latin American culture is so full of life

4. The Panama Canal is a 10-minute cab ride (approx $10.00) and worth the visit....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarenville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I already knew this was more business than resort oriented, so I wasn't surprised by the minuscule hotel pool. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable, nice details like a makeup mirror and a coffeemaker. The included buffet breakfast was good (toast, cereal, fruit, yogurt, eggs, and even waffles, plus the excellent coffee I found everywhere in Panama).
I was pleased when the concierge quickly found an English-speaking driver for a city tour.
Do get a room on an upper floor: I was on the 11th, and even there the traffic noise could be heard at times(it's on a main intersection, and Panama City traffic is ferocious).
I thought the location was good; there's a "restaurant strip" and a casino within a couple of blocks, there's shopping around the corner, and a quick taxi ride will take you to the historic centre or a modern mall.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centralNFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Very average hotel in terms of what was provided.

Bathroom was very small and poorly laid out in my view; shower did not get very warm. Room itself was adequate, although it was clearly a "now non smoking but previously actually lots and lots of smoking" room. On the advice of other reviews I requested a room at the back side of the hotel for more quiet and was told it was not possible. Internet was a on a pay basis in the rooms. I did not purchase it.

Restaurant is strange in that they change the theme of the menu every day, so you never really know what kind of unusual food you'll see. I found it very slow and poor service, and the buffet was very small in terms of options.

The gift shop on the main floor had a nice feature of a few free internet accessibly computers. Some danger in that they all seemed to have the default to be saving passwords, which obviously is a very bad feature on public use computers.

Room service was generally very fast and great service. The pool on the 4th floor was not appealing in the least. Exercise room was a relative afterthought with a few machines.

It got the job done as a place to stay, but it certainly wasn't any kind of luxury relaxation experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanchez888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

This is not a tourist hotel. There is no resort ambiance, and the few amenities are geared toward the Panamanian business traveler. Nonetheless, hotel service was polite and friendly at the Crowne Plaza, and we were treated to an upgraded suite as Priority Club members. The hotel was clean and our top-floor back of the hotel suite was quiet and comfortable. The hallways and rooms had tile floors so I could see that under other circumstances, quiet might be more elusive when you add in the deafening traffic noise in front of the hotel. The fitness center was poor – two machines, one out of service. Although a spa was advertised, we never saw it. The small pool was mostly unused, offered no drink service or ambiance of any kind; but clean nonetheless. To enjoy a friendly tourist oriented hotel, just walk around the block to the El Panama Hotel. There you'll find a open spaces, a nice pool, swim-up bar, patio dining and drink service.

The restaurant was a surprise. After reading negative reviews, we didn't expect much (it IS a hotel restaurant after all). We found the food and service to be quite good. Standouts were the pineapple chicken salad (served in half a pineapple), and the sea bass (delicious, fruity sauce). Room service was excellent and timely, offering great breakfast food and fresh fruit. The bar, however, was disappointing. There were no “light” appetizers, although the cheese plate was quite good. Bar service was slow regardless of occupancy, and the Priority Club free drink we were offered was so restrictive we nearly didn't bother. There were also two mistakes on our bill; although they were corrected, they should not have happened in a hotel of this caliber.

The Crowne Plaza has the curb appeal of a 4 or 5 star hotel, and in fact, some of those flourishes were evident at the front desk. The restaurant was not quite of that stature, but better than we expected. The bar was definitely not classy; we've encountered budget oriented hotels with better bars. Our suite was good, but had a minimal vanity, tiny shower and toilet room (there was barely room to move around – the door cleared the toilet by less than 1/4”), and huge apartment-sized kitchen in which you had only a microwave to prepare food. For an overnight stay, it is a safe choice, but frankly comparable quality is nearby at considerably less expense.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Island-Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#28 of 114 in Panama City
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
829 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
#44 of 114 in Panama City
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Panama Distrito Financiero
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#23 of 114 in Panama City
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Panama

Property: Crowne Plaza Panama
Address: Ave Manuel Espinoza Batista, Panama City 816-2007, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you walk into the marble-floored lobby with grand columns and modern furnishings, you'll be greeted by the warm, welcoming staff of our Crowne Plaza(R) Panama hotel. And, if you're seeking hotels near the Panama Canal or near the banking area, we're just minutes from both destinations. Ideal for corporate travelers, our accommodations include a Business Center with personal computers and copy, print and fax capabilities. We have five banquet rooms, which can host parties of 200, and perks like Daily Meeting Debriefs by a dedicated Crowne Meetings Director, making us "The Place to Meet" in Panama City, Panama. When our hotel's guests choose to stay with us, they are only a few miles from first-class restaurants, nice casinos and great shopping. Pick up souvenirs from the Multiplaza Shopping Center and Albrook Mall, walk down to Casco Viejo, the historic sector of the city, or catch a performance at the National Theater. In addition, guests need travel only two miles from our hotel's location to reach the Panama Canal. After a long day of touring Panama City, Panama, our hotel's facilities can help you relax. Enjoy a traditional dish at our on-site restaurant, La Galeria, then grab a nightcap at the Memories Sports Bar & Lounge. With a Fitness Center, outdoor pool and the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage(R) Program, we have everything you need to stay comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Panama Hotel Panama City
Crowne Plaza Panama City
Panama City Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing