We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Panama
Ranked #37 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed August 1, 2009

While I wasn't wild about Panama City overall, I enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff were really nice and remembered my name, and the room was clean and comfortable. I had to pay for Internet access but the connection was fast. Breakfast was pretty good too. I enjoyed swimming at the fourth floor pool one evening; had it to myself. A good business stay.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
Thank flex_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Panama
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2009

I'm elite in the InterContinental program and was upgraded to what was essentially a one bedroom apt even though I booked the lowest room rate. Kitchen area had a full size frig and included a reasonably priced mini-bar. Dining table for 4. Bedroom was in a separate room.

Rooms were very clean, looked new, bed was very comfortable, front desk helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Only negative was very expensive Internet.

Only stayed one night. For what I paid and what I received, this was bargain. Even without the upgrade, this is an above average Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njfan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

The Good: Clean, safe and secure. Great service from front desk staff and bellhops. Good sized rooms with comfortable beds. Located in a safe and busy area with several hotels, casinos, shopping, and restaurants within walking distance.

The Bad: Hotel is fairly dead compared to others in the area which obviously had more guests and better a vibe overall. Small, un-inviting restaurant and bar. Hotel lacked personality. Noisy rooms on road side of hotel and I could hear everything the people in the room next to me were saying (although earplugs that they put in the rooms help).

The Ugly: Wireless Internet service is a rip-off. Spotty coverage and so slow it was a complete waste of money. Don't even bother.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntlTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

I spent two days in Panama for leisure, on the way back from a business trip. I had booked a room in the Crowne Plaza because I was looking for a hotel with a free shuttle from the airport, with internet and a swimming pool, and that would be centrally located. I was thoroughly disappointed. Although I had been told on the phone that there would be a shuttle, when I arrived at the airport no shuttle was to be seen. I had to pay for a taxi although that was exactly what I had meant to avoid in the first place. Next thing I find out is that the internet does not work, although I've paid 15 USD for it. When calling the reception, I'm told (in an unapologetic way) that it only works on certain floors (so, if you intend to use the internet don't take a room on the 11th floor). The swimming pool is tiny and you can't swim in there. Ironically, the hotel next door (Hotel El Panama) has a huge beautiful pool that you can see from the Crowne Plaza, with nice tables and chairs around it so you can enjoy breakfast and dinner at the pool (while the Crown Plaza restaurant hasn't got a single window). Finally, I wonder why Crowne Plaza Panama, located in a tropical region with a lot of rainfall and water resources, needs to choose "Evian" and "Fiji", imported from other continents, as its mineral water. This is not very environmentally friendly. Finally, if you're looking for a "cozy" hotel, this isn't what you're looking for. The rooms are tiled and breathe a cold atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParisParis_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Panama on two occasions in November. I stayed here for one night both times.

The beds are very, very comfortable. The rooms are modern, although internet cost $41 for 72 hrs. Things are extremely quiet around the hotel -- and I was occupying a room during the independence parade that was right on the Via Espana!

I was greeted to the Crowne Plaza by a bell-boy who helped me settle an issue with a taxi driver who was trying to overcharge me.

The rooms, although non-smoking, still faintly smell like smoke. Also: if you are interested in the SleepAdvantage program, you may have to ask the front desk. Both rooms I occupied did not have any of the SleepAdvantage features.

Decor wise, the hotel is very much more Holiday Inn than Hilton. It is comfortable, but sterile and very bland. The pool area is kind of depressing.

However, the location is absolutely perfect and the service is typical of any three-star hotel in the US.

The breakfast buffet is also very good.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank torrinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

WE stayed one night upon arrival in Panama & one night prior to leaving. I upgraded our package trip to stay in the Crown Plaza because I think of them as a deluxe hotel. This was just average. The room was clean but nothing special. Most of the staff was very helpful but we received a call late on the last night saying we owed money for a phone call which we did not make & the lady kept arguing with me. It was cleared up the next morning at reception but was an annoyance. We had to leave the hotel at 4:30AM for our flight & the staff got us a boxed breakfast to take with us which I thought was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saltspringsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

we have just return from 5 days at Crown Plaza. check-in was really fast and people of staff were very helpful and nice. the rooms are nice, clean and very comfortable. breakfast is delicious and the service at the restaurant is excelent.
The only thing I didn't like is the non-smoking policy, you have to go outside to smoke because is not allowed inside the hotel, I think they should have some smoking rooms.
our experience at the hotel was wonderful, I'd stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Carogomezlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
11.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
#40 of 115 in Panama City
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#30 of 115 in Panama City
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 115 in Panama City
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Panama Distrito Financiero
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.3 mi away
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
Riande Granada Urban Hotel
#33 of 115 in Panama City
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Panama

Address: Ave Manuel Espinoza Batista, Panama City 816-2007, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: $80 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you walk into the marble-floored lobby with grand columns and modern furnishings, you'll be greeted by the warm, welcoming staff of our Crowne Plaza(R) Panama hotel. And, if you're seeking hotels near the Panama Canal or near the banking area, we're just minutes from both destinations. Ideal for corporate travelers, our accommodations include a Business Center with personal computers and copy, print and fax capabilities. We have five banquet rooms, which can host parties of 200, and perks like Daily Meeting Debriefs by a dedicated Crowne Meetings Director, making us "The Place to Meet" in Panama City, Panama. When our hotel's guests choose to stay with us, they are only a few miles from first-class restaurants, nice casinos and great shopping. Pick up souvenirs from the Multiplaza Shopping Center and Albrook Mall, walk down to Casco Viejo, the historic sector of the city, or catch a performance at the National Theater. In addition, guests need travel only two miles from our hotel's location to reach the Panama Canal. After a long day of touring Panama City, Panama, our hotel's facilities can help you relax. Enjoy a traditional dish at our on-site restaurant, La Galeria, then grab a nightcap at the Memories Sports Bar & Lounge. With a Fitness Center, outdoor pool and the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage(R) Program, we have everything you need to stay comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Panama Hotel Panama City
Crowne Plaza Panama City
Panama City Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing