We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bit expensive”
Review of AZ Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AZ Hotel & Suites
Ranked #69 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Lund, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit expensive”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Las Huacas is located close to most hotels and shops around via España. 10 minutes walking distance to good restaurants. The hotel has a small but ok pool. The suites are very big and have kitchens. Clean and safe but a bit on the expensive side. If you don´t need the pool there are better options near by. They don´t speak english.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guslor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    53
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
36
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel and it served its purpose. It was clean and safe. Sadly the shower situation was not exactly ideal - sometimes hot and sometimes NOT. The staff was friendly but spoke very little english, so be ready for that. My spanish is basic but I was happy I knew money/hotel/food/transportation words well so I could communicate with them when there was a problem with my travel buddy's credit card. The shampoo/conditioner provided was good quality as far as hotels are concerned, but the mattresses are hard. The breakfast is good and there is a small pool which is nice after the HEAT of Panama City. There are a few good and still budget friendly restaurants in the vicinity of blocks, as well as an internet cafe. Overall, not great but not terrible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geauxredsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night after arriving late in the city and found the rooms to be simple and clean. There is currently a lot of construction going on, and we were given a discount on account of that. The staff did not speak English, which was not a problem for us, but obviously could be an issue! The immediate area is OK but a little seedy, and I would probably try to stay in the old town in future for the restaurants/bars. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maosea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed in one of their suites with friends in March 2012.
first impressions weren't bad until we got to the room and discovered it was dirty. so dirty we had to ask for a broom to sweep it ourselves. in all fairness, management came quickly and did the needful.
despite this rocky start, I have to say that the rooms were relatively comfy - the layout of the sitting room was a bit strange with only 1 sofa which we all had to fit onto.
the hotel has a really good location, not noisy at all while being close to many different attractions: good casinos, good nightlife and shopping, lots of restaurants.
as a budget option - not bad

Room Tip: ask for a room in the newer section of the hotel - they're better, cleaner, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laviajera498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Valle de Anton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We travel often to Panama City and stay at this hotel. We like it very much so far . It has a privileged location close to banks, restaurants, offices, embassies and commercial areas. We have all we need at walking distance from the hotel. In spite of its central location, the street it is normally not a busy or noisy one especially at night.
The suites are well equiped, clean, and comfortable. They offer a pretty varied and good buffet breakfast. The staff is very friendly and always attend our requests promptly and politely. In brief, we recommend this hotel to those searching for a good hotel at a reasonable price in the best central location of Panama City.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otto I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We had a 2 bedrooms suite, in our 7 days stay we were moved from room to room for different reasons 5 times (including toilets overflow-water leakings in the main bedrromm, with beds and suitcases all wet, and A/C not working properly in the last 2 bedrooms)finally we were moved to the new building for the last 2 days, but we find that our mobile phone was stolen from the suitcase in the bedroom. The people that works in the hotel are excelent in their behaviour trying to help and assist in our nightmare stay there. If you want to get stressed is te place to choose.

Room Tip: Try the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicheUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed here while on a visit to Panama City. We had 4 nights here. The hotel is located away from the coastline in the older part of town and very commercial areas.
There are many hotels around and busy streets too with tons of traffic at all times.
The hotel was small (a former apartment building) the room we had was a junior suite on the first floor the natural light was poor though. Below the room was the vehicle enterance and exit so it was noisy at times. The Air Conditioning was excellent and so was the king size bed - it needed to be as my wife had to rest a lot following some medical treatment. The sleep quality was very good indeed.

The breakfast was included in the price, the small sitting area was only able to hold 4 tables, but there was external seating and tables too. The waitress worked very hard all day and did her job well. The kitchen was located across the car park so all the items had to be carried back and forth all day a tough job. The food for breakfast changed everyday - I think to show the regional varities in Panama.
No problems at all with the choice available each day. But the coffee was not great and that seemed to be the case throughout our stay no matter where we went. The choices of tea were plenty and that suited me fine.

The lobby was being remodelled when we were there, so the recpetion staff used a small room beside the lift lobby - practical, functionable, nothing more.
Reception staff did their job well, I noticed all were young, but friendly.
I wish there was a proper lobby with seating to escape being in the room all the time (as my spose had to stay put). There also needs to be a better tourism approach you could not get a brochure or leaflet or street guide or map. But this point is relevant to all hotels, airport etc, which is very strange to not publicise the city and its attractions.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPCD11RF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 114 in Panama City
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Executive Hotel
The Executive Hotel
#57 of 114 in Panama City
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#64 of 114 in Panama City
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#41 of 114 in Panama City
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AZ Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AZ Hotel & Suites

Property: AZ Hotel & Suites
Address: Cll 49 | El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama (Formerly Las Huacas Hotel And Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AZ Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Banking Area, Panama City, Remodeled Rooms with kitchened and 40 standard rooms, swimming Pool. Breakfast incluided, Wi- Fi Internet, Parking lot, cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AZ Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Huacas Hotel And Panama City
AZ Hotel & Suites Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing