We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not a five star hotel”
Review of Hotel El Panama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Panama
Ranked #50 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, but not a five star hotel”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Staff is very friendly, and they make their best. The rooms are very big, and beds are good, great plasma screens and very nice pool. However the place is overall a bit run down and it has obviously seen better days, that is why I am not sure it is a five star hotel. The price is not expensive and breakfast it is good, but if you are looking for luxury it is probably not the best alternative in the city.

Room Tip: get a view to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intendente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama.
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and reviews about our hotel.

It is our responsibility to check every detail of our quality and services provided by our group of collaborators and the renovation of our facilities. Therefore have been very important your comments and suggestions, since your comments are the contributions that help our corporation to improved the process and thus provides an optimum service.

We look forward to host you again in Hotel El Panama. Please do not hesitate in contacting us and we will ensure that your next trip is as memorable as your previous one.

We thank you for your preference.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    271
    185
    78
    58
See reviews for
198
186
55
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Since the last time we stayed at the El Panama, many things have changed. Much of the construction work at the hotel is done and a lobby bar was added. Unfortunately, the service has declined (so as common sense, might I add). They started by getting my reservation wrong. Had asked for a cabana, had to settle, for the first night, to an "Executive" room which didn't even have curtains! Not great for sleeping when they are building a subway station in the middle of the night right in front of your room. Don't bother complaining, you won't even get an apology. The generally think they are doing you a favo by letting you stay at the hotel.

Also, note that the prices at the hotel restaurant have skyrocketed lately. A steak I used to pay 25$ is now double that and, the quality has not followed the price.

On a positive note, they still have one of the great pools in the city...

Disappointing...

Room Tip: If you must go, definitely get a poolside cabana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest

Hotel El Panama, thank you, chooses again to return to Panama City.
We appreciate your comments and special recommendations about the cabañas and our pool.
We apologies for any inconvenience caused for the process with your room reservation. On behalf of the progress of the country and the construction of the subway, we want offer our apologies too, this is a project that advance quickly, and will bring us many advantages for our location with the transportation to all tourist.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights on a business trip. The staff was very helpful and did offer me a free upgrade to a suit upon check in, since the hotel was almost full. Nice breakfast buffet (I loved the 'ham croquetas') and great room service as well. I'll likely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GustavoyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all, accept our warm greetings of the Group Management and Staff of the Hotel El Panama, who were and will be happy to assist you whenever you decide to choose our hotel.
We are pleased to know that we could meet your needs, satisfy your expectations and above all left a great memory in your minds about the service and comfort, in your last visit to Panama City.
Hope you back soon; please do not hesitate to contact us.
Regards,
Xenia Amores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel El Panamà is located in the heart of Panama near Iglesia del Carmen and via Espana and many other hotels. I recommend it for its location and for the size of rooms that are normally bigger than in other hotels. Price is reasonable. I would not recommend to have lunch and dinner in the hotel. As in many other hotels, food is worse and more expensive than in restaurants. Corridors to access rooms are at open air,so. you will not feel air conditioner. I personally consider it as a plus, since I do not like cold conditioned air, especially after swimming pool.

Room Tip: If available choose a room with viw on swmming pool. Some rooms may be noisy if close to air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest:
Please receive a warm greeting on behalf of El Panama Hotel´s entire team.
We would like to thank you to choose us, at the same time thanks for write your experiences about our facilities with pleasing references.
We consider it very important feedback, because elevate our mood to invest more human effort to be in memory of those who decide choose us, and make this hotel at home in Panama City
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I will like to say that for me it was a very good experience to be at this hotel,when i arrive for check inn people were very nice and fast.The social area was very nice, excellent, I like very much the swimming pool, very good service, the workers was very polite and nice, the chairs at the pool was very comfortable, the pool has very good temperature in the water. I dont have any thing negative to say , the food was wonderfull , the breakfast buffet was excellent, I will hope i will comeback very soon , thank you very much.

Room Tip: The rooms close to the pool i can recomended , you get everything so close to you , call las cabana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinaNavarroGamst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all, accept our warm greetings of the Group Management and Staff of the Hotel El Panama, who were and will be happy to assist you whenever you decide to choose our hotel.
We are pleased to know that we could meet your needs, satisfy your expectations and above all left a great memory in your minds about the service and comfort, in your last visit to Panama City.
Hope you back soon; please do not hesitate to contact us.
Regards,
Xenia Amores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The El Panama hotel has nice rooms (but not all rooms) with very friendly service, but my wife and I had two very different experiences one week apart. The first night we had a reservation, but had not paid in advance. The room we were given was nice and everything worked as it should. The next week when we returned to the El Panama, we had a reservation that was made on the internet and paid in advance. Even though the room was the same as requested the week before, the hotel staff sent us to a room that was one of the worst rooms we have ever seen. The door handle to enter the room was broken, the inside lock was broken, the requested king size bed was now two old double beds, on-and-on. It was a dump. When we complained to the front desk and showed the clerk what was requested, we were moved to another room. In this room there was a king size bed, but the air conditioner would not stop running (the room was freezing), the drain in the shower was plugged, and the room overall was not nice. Sort of an upgraded dump. On the up side, one of their restaurants had a very good evening buffet.

Room Tip: If you reserve a room on the internet take a copy of your room request to present at the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerplusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear guest
Thank us share your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We offer our apologies for the incidents in your second visit. Interested in your comments, we are working with special emphasis on the plumbing through our preventive maintenance of all our rooms.
We would be happy if you give us another opportunity to serve you as you deserve.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is rather nice, particularly the refurbished rooms in the higher floors. Air conditioning can be noisy but it is generally good. the pool is very good and the inside bar/lounge serves some very decent food, except for breakfast which I found a bit poor. I was generally happy about the service so overall it was a good experience. What I did not like was the location, very dirty around the hotel and some seedy places next door. it is unfortunate because the hotel itself is quite nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudiobxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear guest

We express our gratitude for choosing us when you visit Panama City; we are pleased for your comments of appreciation for our services and facilities. We offer our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you, because at the moment and very soon to finish the work on the Metro Project, (advances of the transportation in the capital), which has removed the vial and caused some disorder, but that future road offers great advantages to our visitors.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#28 of 114 in Panama City
765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#36 of 114 in Panama City
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#38 of 114 in Panama City
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Panama

Property: Hotel El Panama
Address: Via Espana 111, Panama City 1753, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Panama City
#9 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#30 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Panama, where our luxury hotel in the cosmopolitan city of Panama provides a sublime ambiance of distinction, comfort, and Latin flair. Our location in the heart of downtown puts business travelers right where they need to be, while our comprehensive facilities and high standards of service mean that leisure time is also well spent.Our variety of luxurious accommodations in Panama City provide just the right environment you seek, from spacious guest rooms to suites, Pool Cabanas, and Deluxe Floors which include a complimentary Continental breakfast served daily, high-speed wireless Internet access, and butler service to attend to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Panama City Hotel
El Hotel Panama City
Hotel El Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing