We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old, but clean hotel. Attention very modern reception compared to the room at first floor”
Review of Hotel El Panama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Panama
Ranked #50 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An old, but clean hotel. Attention very modern reception compared to the room at first floor”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here after cancelation of my flight by Copa Airline (Panamanian national company).
One night firstfloor. The arrival was great, reception design comparable to the best 5* Was given room 123, old wooden door and then ...

PRO: large room, clean hotel, fair level of service, nice breakfast and lunch (buffet style), no noise from the city.
CONS: old style room, clear deception compared to the lobby. Area around the hotel not so nice. In front of the Veneto Casino -> not very romantic ...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casanovay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest
Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama and thanks for so many grateful comments. It is comforting to know that our efforts have been successful in pleasing in your last visit to Panama City. We inform you that we are doing renovations on stage which are consistent with our lobby. It is our commitment to create the best environment and comfort for each one of our visitors, so if you have the opportunity to return to Panama, please do not be hesitate to contact us.
Best Regards,
Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    268
    183
    76
    58
See reviews for
191
183
54
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at El Panama a few times while on business in Panama City and was generally always happy with my experience. I always book one of the "cabanas" surrounding the exterior pool as they have a very nice feel to them. 2 queen beds, sitting area, workspace and a private sitting area outside. Buffet breakfast is included ans service is generally very good. There is a nice casino, part of the Fiesta chain, in the hotel as well as a few shops. Lobby was recently updated and is a very nice to sit al fresco and take advantage of a rare breeze in the city! Food is generally good, especially at the outside steakhouse that offers sort of a "ranchito" feel. Steaks are quite good (imported cuts). All in all, one of the best options for lodging in Panama City.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a cabana/bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest:
Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama.
We would like to thank you for chosen us, and take a time to write about your experiences with our facilities trough these pages with greatest references.
We look forward to host you again in Hotel El Panama. Please do not hesitate in contacting us and we will ensure that your next trip is as memorable as your previous one.
We thank you for your preference.

Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I spent 8 days at the El Panama Hotel in early July, which was the site of an annual meeting I was attending. The location of El Panama leaves a lot to be desired as it is stuck in the middle of noisy, downtown Panama City and getting to and from the hotel in a taxi takes way too long in the traffic that snarls this area. This hotel has seen better days - my room was one of the better ones compared to my friends who were stuck in much worse rooms. My room smelled moldy and old - but at least it was relatively quiet. I was locked out of my room 3 times in 8 days and my toilet and sink stopped working on 2 different days. At least the breakfast was decent and the pool was lovely.

Room Tip: Request a poolside cabana room for best view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnmrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama, Casino and Convention Center.
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and reviews and wish to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.
It our mission to verify every detail of our quality and customer service; therefore, your comments and opinion are very important as they will ultimately help us identify opportunities for ours and our staff improvement.
We have taken a serious view of each of the areas you made comments or suggestions about and are working hard in ensuring that all our services meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.
In your next visit to Panama, please allow us to host you again. We will work very hard to change your perception of our services by offering our disposition to serve you in a manner you will not soon forget.
We thank you for your understanding and remain at your disposal for any further queries.

Regards
Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were recently in Panama and among other things celebrating my father in law's 80th birthday which took place at Hotel El Panama, and the service we received was great, Dayanis Hermoso in banquetes, Jennifer Kernahan who got us a good deal with the rooms, Milagros and her staff the night of the party, THANK YOU ALL, muchas GRACIAS. Rooms were clean, no noise, great food at the party and in the morning for breakfast. Definitely conseder staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chichi058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest

Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama.
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and reviews about our hotel, the development of our beloved country and our vision to offer comfortable and modern transportation to our citizens and visitors alike.

We also appreciate your comments and recommendations regarding our facilities, services offered, our dining experience as well as the evaluation of our staff performance.
We look forward to host you again in Hotel El Panama. Please do not hesitate in contacting us and we will ensure that your next trip is as memorable as your previous one.

We thank you for your preference.
Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The location is great, we really appreciated the breakfast and the huge pool. People at the reception were kind and helpful, same for the requests to housekeepers. The room we reserved was pool view, furnitures are a bit old but we have seen they are renovating the ones in the near rooms. I suggest to book for a pool view room because some of ones looking to the garden/city might be noisy for the electric generator running all the day. Better if you can catch offers on their web page, for sure do not expect a top luxury hotel till the rooms will be renovated like the reception and bar at the lobby was. Surroundings were fine and there is a restaurant called Manolo's just few steps from the hotel that serves very good food at a reasonable price.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank paolobl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama, Casino and Convention Center.
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and reviews and wish to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.
It our mission to verify every detail of our quality and customer service; therefore, your comments and opinion are very important as they will ultimately help us identify opportunities for ours and our staff improvement.

We have taken a serious view of each of the areas you made comments or suggestions about and are working hard in ensuring that all our services meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.
In your next visit to Panama, please allow us to host you again. We will work very hard to change your perception of our services by offering our disposition to serve you in a manner you will not soon forget.

We thank you for your understanding and remain at your disposal for any further queries.
Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here many times, and all facilities are good. Nice breakfast, nice sushi bar etc.
Inviting pool area with a nice bar.
The rooms are fine, with good beds and cable TV, no satelite though, so mainly spanish spoken.
It all looks a little worn off, but not in a bad way.

The only main concern here is the noise. I've had several rooms around the pool(Cabanas). And the walls seem to be made out of paper or cardboard. You can hear your neighbour at the toilet, so to speak. But the most annoying is some kind of pump which sounds like it is stuck, with sounds like someone is banging on metal pipes. Even louder than my TV! Heard it in several rooms. Of course there is plenty of city noise as well, but they can't help that.

Room Tip: The loud noises were the worst in room 21. The upper floor Cabanas have nice Balconies, but from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama, Casino and Convention Center.

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and reviews and wish to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.
It our mission to verify every detail of our quality and customer service; therefore, your comments and opinion are very important as they will ultimately help us identify opportunities for ours and our staff improvement.

We have taken a serious view of each of the areas you made comments or suggestions about and are working hard in ensuring that all our services meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

In your next visit to Panama, please allow us to host you again. We will work very hard to change your perception of our services by offering our disposition to serve you in a manner you will not soon forget.

We thank you for your understanding and remain at your disposal for any further queries.
Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the beach
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a conference group. The 1st room I was given was not properly cleaned, and I pointed it out to the Front Desk, who immediately attended to my request for a change. The other room was more refreshing with dark wood stained dresser, cupboards and a modern bathroom with glass doors and double sinks. These rooms are extremely huge by normal hotel standards and you get a feeling and air of sophistication and luxury in an odd way; at least that is how I felt. Every floor has a sitting area with modern design and seating outside the elevator which added to the elegance. The halls and walkways to rooms have no charm though. Hats off to the chefs: the buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner were superb and so delicious and the sushi restaurant rated top notch. Every dish was so well prepared and presented. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Panama with children or if you like luxury but not a picky person who sees every crack and stain on the floor. There are lots of construction happening around the hotel and it sits in the older part of Panama city, but all in all, I enjoyed every day and night I spent there!

Room Tip: Rooms on 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenusOnthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear guest,

Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama.
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and reviews about our hotel, the development of our beloved country and our vision to offer comfortable and modern transportation to our citizens and visitors alike.

We also appreciate your comments and recommendations regarding our facilities, services offered, our dining experience as well as the evaluation of our staff performance.
We look forward to host you again in Hotel El Panama. Please do not hesitate in contacting us and we will ensure that your next trip is as memorable as your previous one.

We thank you for your preference.
Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#42 of 113 in Panama City
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#29 of 113 in Panama City
748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#36 of 113 in Panama City
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Panama City
Eurostars Panama City
#43 of 113 in Panama City
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 113 in Panama City
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Panama

Property: Hotel El Panama
Address: Via Espana 111, Panama City 1753, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Panama City
#9 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#30 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Panama, where our luxury hotel in the cosmopolitan city of Panama provides a sublime ambiance of distinction, comfort, and Latin flair. Our location in the heart of downtown puts business travelers right where they need to be, while our comprehensive facilities and high standards of service mean that leisure time is also well spent.Our variety of luxurious accommodations in Panama City provide just the right environment you seek, from spacious guest rooms to suites, Pool Cabanas, and Deluxe Floors which include a complimentary Continental breakfast served daily, high-speed wireless Internet access, and butler service to attend to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Panama City Hotel
El Hotel Panama City
Hotel El Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing