We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I felt GOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Jose Church

San Jose Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.99*
and up
Panama City and Canal Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #14 of 170 things to do in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Built soon after the first Spanish settlement in the 16th century, this small church features the famous Golden Altar (Altar de Oro), which is made entirely of pure gold.
Nassau, Bahamas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I felt GOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Thich s so beautiful! I cried. I felt the presence of God so strongly here. I thought it was a beautiful addition to our walking tour of the city!

When I walked in I was greeted with the sound of Monks singing! Then as I walked around and took pictures I realized it was a place that had to be experienced becasue my camera was not capturing its beauty!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blaire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    205
    71
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diriamba, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Impressive altar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The story behind the altar makes the church interesting. There was someone who spoke English who told us the history of the church. Easy to miss.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bellabolivia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Golden Altar firsthand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Interesting historic site. Thankfully we had our own guide to give us information and we could not find any English information at the church.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dae642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Golden Altar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Walking into the Casco Antiguo section of Panama City is a walk through colonial history. The San Jose Church is a beautiful example of a cololnial era church with a wealth of history from the time Captain Morgan ransacked Panama City and luckily this beautiful church was saved. The golden alter is breathtaking in its size, detail, and color....a pure feast for the eyes and if you are a history lover this is a must on your list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank elcoqui13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Old Churches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Panama City has some beautiful churches in the area. If you like old, then I recommend visiting their churches

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Jose Church also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to San Jose Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing