We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for Monkeys”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Monkey Island

Monkey Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Panama Canal and Gatun Lake Jungle Eco Cruise
Ranked #19 of 170 things to do in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in Lake Gatun, this island gets its name for the white-faced monkeys that inhabit it.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looking for Monkeys”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our 2 hours or so boat ride on Gatun Lake was a waste looking for monkeys and birds. With all the excitement we probably saw 1 or two monkeys and a few birds.

Not worth the excitement. It is a tourist trap

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GVCGROUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    85
    45
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, CA.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you love Monkeys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went around the Island in a small boat. I don't think you can go on the Island. We saw lots of Monkeys and they even jumped on our boat to get peices of banana.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John8433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A fun excursion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We took the boat trip from Gamboa Resort to Monkey Island, through some inlets, and out into the Panama Canal. The whole trip was wonderful! Saw monkeys, a sloth and lots of crocadiles. The ships in the canal were amazing!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gagardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fair excursion, but not much wildlife”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We took a boat tour to the island. The boat ride itself was fun and scenic, we saw a number of large boats heading to the locks, and the guide described some interesting facts about the lake and canal technology used. Wildlife however is somewhat scarce. Not as many birds as I expected (although I did spot a toucan which was pretty cool). There are a few crocodiles and even fewer monkeys however. I would say if you have a lot of time and like boat rides, by all means check it out. If you are weighing different options for how you wish to spend your time in Panama however, consider this one lower on the priority list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Monkey See”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Took a boat ride to monkey island and saw a few monkeys. Were hoping to see more but liked what we saw.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank diceareout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Island also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Monkey Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing