We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neat experience from Panama City to Colon”

Panama Canal Railway Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$170.00*
and up
Panamá Canal Railway Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This tour on the newly restored Panama Canal Railway, the western hemisphere's first transcontinental railroad, follows the east bank of the canal that offers excellent views of the waterway and rainforests along its shoreline.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A neat experience from Panama City to Colon”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We live here and took this train one day on an expat excursion. A lovely trip out to Colon. I really liked the interior of the cars, old world, green and brass and big windows to watch the landcape go by along forest and lake.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    140
    54
    14
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bullhead city
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I liked it”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Nice experience and a nice alternate view of the Panama Canal region. Train was lovely and cool. We had drinks and snacks and got a little information on the countryside. I would do it again with my grandkids or kids

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The train ride itself is fine and somewhat interesting. The cars, however, are extremely comfortable, which was a treat after a hot day seeing Gatun locks. I recommend Gatun over Miraflores due to the fewer crowds, and then taking the train back to Panama City.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable trip”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

A most enjoyable trip travelling almost the length of the Canal. The train does travel at a fair speed so very difficult to pick out any wildlife.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MugWug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We took the Panama Canal Railway from Panama City to Colon where we met our guide. The railway trip was lovely and a very relaxing and pleasant way to cross the country. We were fortunate that there was a small tour group on board as their guide was pointing things out as we went along. We were appreciative of being able to listen to their guide so we had a greater appreciation of the historical importance of the railway and what we were passing along the way. Without the benefit of their guide, it would have been just a pleasant ride, without any context for what we were seeing. It might be helpful to have a little information brochure so that guests can have some context. At the end of the trip, we were handed a nice little snack box - which was a pleasant surprise.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank WellTravelledCdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panama Canal Railway Company also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Panama Canal Railway Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing