We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant walkway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gatun Lake

Gatun Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Panama Canal and Gatun Lake Jungle Eco Cruise
Ranked #6 of 170 things to do in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: After Lake Mead, this is the world's largest man-made lake that forms the central part of the Panama Canal.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pleasant walkway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

well maintained, pleasant walkway along the water. You can walk for miles! It's quite hot there during the day as there is not much shade, so try to visit late afternoon/early evening for more comfort and you can also get some nice sunset photos

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    283
    65
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Combined tour with Gatun Locks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The coach from our ship took us to a Melia hotel where we purchased a very tasty chilled 'Panama' beer. Then we walked through the hotel garden to the Gatun Lake where our boat awaited. The lake was at one time the largest man made lake in the world. We gently sailed around the edge of the lake stopping now & again when the local wildlife was spotted, monkeys & sloths. As our visit was in the drier season, the submerged trees were showing above water level which gave an unusual feel. Certainly a boat ride with a difference.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Gatun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I think it is important to have the history of the canal and the canal zone before visiting so that it all makes sense. And the fact that there is little "touristy" attractions on the transit. However, the natural surroundings and wildlife, will take on a real prescence once you know the history.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank heartofdixiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Fun Boat Ride With Caravan Tours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

One of our excursions included with our Caravan Tours to Panama was a boat ride on Gutan Lake (artificial lake). We all had to wear life preservers before going on the boat. We got to see 3 types of monkeys, one being the Jefferson Tamarind Monkey (TT). They are brown and white and have very tiny tongues. They are very cute. The only way you get to see the monkeys is because the guide brought bananas and grapes and this tempted the monkeys to come down from the trees and get the fruits that were placed at the front of the boat. We also saw 1 crocodile lying at the shore. I was expecting to see more wildlife but that did not happen.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We saw the dredgers that keep the channels open and the commentary about the construction of the canal the country and the prison was interesting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJH048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatun Lake also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Gatun Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing