We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gatun Lake

Gatun Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Panama Canal and Gatun Lake Jungle Eco Cruise
Ranked #6 of 169 things to do in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: After Lake Mead, this is the world's largest man-made lake that forms the central part of the Panama Canal.
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
753 reviews
378 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“A fine experience”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We crossed Gatun Lake as part of our Panama Canal transit. We had fine weather throughout, with thankfully only a short spell of rain. The views around the lake are not stunning, but it is part of the iconic Panama Canal, which gives it a kudos all of its own.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    280
    65
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fishing on Lake Gatun with our guide - Abelardo Lopez P.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent half a day with Abelardo & had an absolutely amazing time. He picked us up at our hotel (Las Clementinas) & took us to the lake where we fished for several hours in some very quiet parts of the lake. Abelardo & his assistant were exceptionally attentive - making sure that we would catch lots of fish - & we certainly did. Since I am a beginner when it comes to fishing, they were really good at coaching me. It rained while we were on the Lake, but it didn't stop us from fishing & having a great time. When we returned to the dock, we were able to have our fish (Peacock Bass) cleaned, and ate our fish for dinner that night.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nmrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

45 of us went on a fishing excursion for about 4 hrs and we caught so many fish we could not believe it. The family that works there cleans them and puts them into baggies for you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rockin549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bass, Tarpon, Snook and more”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great fishing. Excellent nature sighting opportunities. Breathtaking tropical views. Unparalleled, up close ship watching while zooming around in the Canal! Swim at your own risk, big gators are not rare.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ptyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury,ON
Level Contributor
487 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Quite amazing to be on an artificial lake with forested shores and huge tankers”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We anchored overnight on Gatun in the Lindblad Nat Geog Sea Lion as we went through the Canal.
Visiting the Smithsonian Institute Research Centre was a peak experience. With an excellent guide we walked a trail through the forest, saw agoutis, several types of bat, and learned about the Indigenous culture. There are Ocelots, Jaguars and Pumas but perhaps as well we didn't meet them. wonderful experience only accessible to smaller groups of visitors (less than 60). Good souvenir shop.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CanBrit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatun Lake also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Gatun Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing