We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pathetic Cafeteria Service but Good Food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Panama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Panama
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
The Americas
Level Contributor
181 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Pathetic Cafeteria Service but Good Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stopped at the Las Hadas Cafeteria for a quick bite. Quick it was not. We took an empty table which had to be cleaned. We asked at least three waiters if it could be cleaned. They all but ignored us. The place was almost full but there were plenty of waiters roaming around. We asked for a menu. A menu was brought to us with a warning: "I am not in charge of this table". Finally another waiter came to clean the table but warned us: "This is not my table". Nobody seemed to be in charge. Nobody came to take our order. The waiters were chatting or cleaning other (empty) tables instead of ours which had customers. They were all totally indifferent and did not seem to care about the customers. We asked for help from at least three waiters. There was no manager on sight. I opted to head to the front desk and asked for a manager. I was put in touch with the hotel's food service manager. He told me there was a manager at the cafeteria. I said she was nowhere to be found. He asked me to wait by the front desk. He did not show up so I went back to the cafeteria. We were finally served. After a few minutes, a lady claiming to be the cafeteria's manager showed up and excused the situation claiming the restaurant was full. What a lousy excuse (in light of the abundance of waiters) !!! Later, the food service manager showed up. Both acknowledged that what happened to us was not right. The food service manager excused the cafeteria manager saying the cashier had not showed up and that she was staffing the cashier. I do not recall seeing her at all. Neither of them offered a sincere apology or otherwise seemed to be genuinely uncomfortable with what happened to us. They were less indifferent than the waiters though. Any apologetical language we got was tepid at most. The waiters started moving a bit quicker with the rest of the tables when they saw that management had been alerted to their indifference. We did eat and the food was very good. But good food is not everything. Good service is also important and this place had the most pathetic service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando C, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear ViajeroESQ,
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your experience at our pastry and coffee shop, Las Hadas. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed what you ordered and tasted, as you said, a good food. However, I’m very sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced; this is not the way we do things. Please accept our apologize, we would like to invite you to come again and give us a second chance to give the service you deserve. I have personally followed up with these areas to address the issues that you mentioned.
We will love another opportunity to make it right. Again, thank you for your valuable feedback, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    208
    85
    32
    27
See reviews for
88
77
47
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have been in a short business travel in Panamá, The Sheraton service was very good, From the reception to the lounge breakfast and accomodations, all very professional and nice.
A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo_Faceira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando C, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Paulo_Faceira,
Thank you very much for your recent comments about Sheraton Panama Hotel and Convention Center. We are happy that our hotel and associates were able to meet all your needs during your stay and we’re thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience.
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us. For business or leisure, we hope to see you again at your next visit to Panama City.
Warm Regards,

Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed our last night in Panama of a 24 day trip at the Sheraton and can not say enough about the service. From the doorman, to the reception desk, to Dio who delivered a pizza to our room from the pizza restaurant on site. They have a 24/7 bakery and a casino also. They arranged a shuttle that took us to the airport at 5:15am (much cheaper than a taxi). Five star service all around. The room clean and modern as well. We booked online at booking.com and our rate included free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tntbolsachica2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando C, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear tntbolsachica2010,
Thanks for your comments about your recent stay with us. Your feedback regarding the five star service you received from our associates are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Sincerely,

Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Panama is growing rapidly and also the reasons to visit the country. It has many hotels but in my oppinion this is the most convenient because of the location. This Sheraton is close to the Corredor to the airport and to Costa del Este, suburb where many big companies are now establishing their headquarters, and is also close to the several routes to reach the city center. The biggest Shopping Mall (Multiplaza) is really close. Many excellent restaurants (Maito among others) are also in Corregimiento San Francisco. It has a 24 hours restaurant and coffe shop with nice service and very good food. The rooms are spacious (I had a Suite with a very well proportionated salon) and the staff is frendly. Pricewise is probably cheaper than others located closer to the panamanian heavy traffic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando C, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Gustavo G,

It really sounds like you enjoyed it all. Thank you for the great review and noting all the wonderful things that are within walking distance and the several amenities that the hotel has to offer like our 24/7 coffee shop “Las Hadas” and recognizing our friendly staff.
There is no doubt that our location is nearby to malls and commercial areas, but as you said it is our service that keeps guests coming back. Thank you for taking the time to write and express every aspect of your experience at Sheraton Panama Hotel and consider us as the most convenient hotel in Panama City.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
¡Happy Holidays!

Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
500 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Sheraton Panama City at Atlapa Conference Centre is a business hotel designed to host conference centre visitors. It is a confident and well-staffed hotel well capable of handling hordes of non-Spanish speaking guests. The Sheraton is a good sized hotel, by no means the largest in Panama City but does a large total capacity.

Being located right at the Atlapa Conference Centre it is not the most beautiful part of Panama City. The location means it is a taxi ride to pretty much anywhere. The white hotel taxis are good, comfortable, and only slightly above market price. Much better than the yellow taxis which pose the risk of both a speeding-related accident and unscrupulous drivers.

From the outside, the hotel is not especially beautiful. It is a functional accomodation for people on business. Inside it is decent. The ground floor is shiny and bright. There is plenty of space for people milling about. It is not immediately obvious where the reception desk is. However, the people and processes at reception were shockingly efficient. A very fast check in and check out service with well spoken and friendly receptionists.

The concierge service is also excellent. Really sociable and engaging helps make tourism and restaurant recommendations seem realistic.

The hotel also offers a swimming area and a gym for those who play harder than they work. There are several touristy shops on the ground floor, not obviously ones to buy anything from. A tacky looking casino is appended to the ground floor.

The range of food and drink options is ok. On the ground floor the offer is a bar and a cafe. The bar is not especially great and the staff there were not exactly helpful when a couple of customers had to put up with the unwanted attention of an entrepreneurial young lady.

The cafe is ok with a range of light snack options and a few meals. The snack range is decent especially for those wanting something with pastry. The meals are ok, not especially tasty but of good size. Seating can be a little cramped at the cafe during peak periods though it is open 24 hours for guests who can wait. Service is not friendly but also not as inefficient as expected.

The two restaurants on the ground floor have different appeals. The main restaurant is the breakfast buffet location. The breakfast buffet is good. All the food offerings are flavoursome. Range is ok though some key items like scrambled eggs are not replaced quickly when they run out. The options include cereal but no obvious milks, three types of juice, fruits in syrup, dried fruits, yoghurt, bread including a toaster, porridge, meats, eggs, waffles, and an omelette service. Fairly decent all round.

Less impressive is the lunch buffet at the same location. Priced a little too high and lacking much range the best part about it are definitely the delicious cake options.

Service is not easy to assess as it is buffet but the staff were able to handle a bit of spillage without fuss.

The restaurant by the pool is the best looking location to eat. Each of the eateries looks different, conforming to type whether cafe, restaurant, or bar. The pool restaurant is just more elegantly lit and water always makes a nice backdrop. Food range is very American with burgers and pizza being the main options. Not haute cuisine but decent enough fare to prevent hunger.

The lifts up to the rooms are card-activated which takes a bit of getting used to. The doors can shut in a hurry and the lift start hurtling off before an unaware guest has the card out and a level selected. However, that same speed works in a business hotel as it prevents the risk of being later than expected for a meeting.

Rooms are ok. Very clean, decent and professional appearance. There is enough space not to feel cramped, not high luxury but perfectly fine for a week-long stay. The room came with an ironing board and iron, a safe, and hangars. Sound proofing is fine though voices from the corridor are clearly heard. The television works well though there is not much to watch.

Bed was very comfortable. No problem at all sleeping in its soft pillows and comfortable mattress. A good place to stretch out after a long day at a conference.

Shower was fine, functional and effective. Exceedingly simple to use. No splash into the rest of the bathroom. The rest of the bathroom facilities were also fine though it was a bit too much to ask for cold running water out of the tap in a hot and humid part of the world.

Wi-fi coverage was ok. Not super quick but no slouch. Pre-paying for a room with internet only offered a couple days wi-fi which was a disappointment.

Price seems ok, hard to gauge what a good price should be for a hotel like this in a rapidly growing city. No real complaints, nothing broken or out of place. A good option for Panama City on business, especially when that business is just over the road at the Conference Centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando C, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Malarchy,

We appreciate your recent review and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is important and it will be shared with our team. We hope to see you back soon at the Sheraton Panama Hotel & Convention Center. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangladesh
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a well run hotel with excellent staff who go the extra mile to help. Well organised for a huge UN conference in the adjacent conference centre and able to handle to peaks of demand for breakfast etc. The gym is worthy of a mention as it is large and well equipped with trainers available and a ready supply of fresh fruit.
The rooms are large and comfortable with excellent beds. The one downside and the reason for the loss of one star was an evening visit to my bathroom by a huge cockroach. The reception were generally concerned and have arranged for fumigation, so RIP cockroach!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando C, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear RichardMiles,
Thanks for your comments on you recent stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that our near location to the ATLAPA Conference Centre added convenience to your stay. Our staff truly cares for our guests and we are glad you received a friendly and helpful service in every encounter with our staff from our Front Desk, F&B staff and trainers at Ygia Fitness Center. On behalf of our team we sincerely apologize for the experience on your bathroom during your stay, our Directors of Housekeeping has been notified. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Panama City.

Warm regards,

Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

From the outside, this Sheraton looks a little dated (especially with all the modern new construction going on in Panama right now), but the inside has been superbly remodeled and feels new from almost every perspective. The Sheraton brand is fairly consistent when it comes to downtown business hotels, and this one meets (and really exceeds) that standard. The gym/spa is excellent, and far exceeds the quality of most high-end international hotels (like a small 24-hour Fitness or LA Fitness...but with a spa). Breakfast is excellent too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingT-Rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando C, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear FlyingT-Rex,
Thank you for sharing your exciting review with us! We are very glad to know that you were comfortable with our inside renovations and that you had a great stay here at the Sheraton Panama Hotel and Convention Center. As you said, we value our guest's fitness and health while traveling, and we are pleased to know that you enjoy our complete Fitness Center and Ygia Spa. We hope to see you again during your next visit to our country.

Best regards,

Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft Panama
Aloft Panama
#39 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Miramar Panama
InterContinental Miramar Panama
#45 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City
1.7 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Panama

Property: Sheraton Grand Panama
Address: Via Israel y Calle 77 | San Francisco, Panama City 0819, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#19 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#28 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Panama Hotel & Convention Center is a deluxe five-star hotel perfectly situated in the heart of Panama City’s business and financial district. Enjoy superb amenities and the proximity of Tocumen International Airport and the Atlapa Convention Center, which is located just across the street from the hotel. This luxury hotel in Panama City is surrounded by premier leisure attractions such as the famous Multiplaza Shopping Mall and the shops and restaurants of Old Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Sheraton Grand Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Panama City Hotel Panama City
Panama City Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing