We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Panama
Ranked #47 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I would stay here again.”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

The staff was friendly and the hotel was very clean. I'm use to really nice hotels and this was up to my standards. From the outside the hotel looked old and I was a little concerned. However, from the time we stepped out of our taxi into the lobby you could tell the hotel was very well kept. There is a casino and a few restaurants in the hotel that stay open all night. It's about a 20 minute drive to the airport and it's close to shopping and the heart of the city. The beds were great!! There was even a gift shop for cheap souvenirs on the premises. My only complaint is that I had to pay for internet ($13 a night),

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
October 17, 2011

Dear Tiffany 1103: Thank you for taking your time to share with us , your experience during your last visit. We are continually strive to provide excellent services and your suggestions will be very important for us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    222
    95
    35
    29
See reviews for
97
81
49
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Nice hotel, good location. Some construction is going on and dust is everywhere on lobby & elevators area. In fact, reception moves up when checking out –April 29. Some weird smell on the carpet… maybe they are the cleaning or painting products.

My room on floor 8th was quite, clean and large. Buffet breakfast was great! I love French toast ;) The restaurant is a good choice for lunch unless some activity is going on at the same time; it gets crowded and except you takes the buffet, it takes too much time waiting for the regular Menu´s options. Coffee place downstairs –Las Hadas- is good too for snacks and close later than restaurant…

Staff is ok. I need to print my boarding pass and the printers don’t work on lobby. Concierge takes me at the Business Center where the lady helps me.
I don’t spend too much time at the hotel, but would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEOCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
October 17, 2011

Dear SEOCharlie: Thank you for your nice comments and for acknowledging our staff. Your feed back is greatly appreciated by our team. We hope to see you again in ther near future.

Regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 3 years and was reasonably satisfied until this stay. An extensive renovation/expansion project is underway that makes the place unihabitable for folks like me with allergies. Construction dust covers everything! If in the U.S., OSHA would shut the place down! There are guys drilling, sawing, grinding, painting everywhere with little or no screening/protection for guests. The staff tries, in vain, to keep the place liveable. I tried to use the lobby computer area and came away covered with sheetrock dust all over my computer, shoes, briefcase, clothes, etc. Just for fun I stopped around the hotel and wrote my name in the dirt and dust covering most flat surfaces. Unfortunately the Riu Plaza and Decopolis had no rooms so I have itched and scratched and sneezed and endured headaches for 6 days. Thank goodness I get to leave tomorrow! I hope all the work helps futuer guests as I will not be back as long as any other decent hotel in town has a room.

Just to show I'm not a complete sourpuss, the food is really quite good (once they wipe the construction dust off your table and chair) and I won over $500 in the adjoining casino over a 3-night period. The pool is nice also as long as the steady stream of guys with debris-laden wheelbarrows dont run over you going back and forth!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1128711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
October 17, 2011

Dear 1128711 traveler: Thank you for taking time to share with us all your experiences during your last visit. Your feed back is very important for us and we will take care of all your recomendations. Please forgive all the inconvenience , we strive to provide excellece service with great facilities to our guest. We hope to see you again , in order to have the opportunity to make your stay an extraordinary experience.

Regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

I thought that this hotel was great! Customer service was excellent, they have a nice executive lounge for breakfast and snacks, they have a 24 hour coffee lounge which is excellent for late/early risers, with sandwiches, pastries, and coffees. There is a casino on site, and it has nice views of the ocean. The rooms were very clean and updated, and the front office staff were very helpful and courteous. Great for business, great amenities!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flygirlpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
October 17, 2011

Dear Flygirlpa: Thank you very much for all your great comments about out hotel and staff. We are happy to hear your stay with us was oustanding . Your comments are very much appreciated . We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to our country.

Regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

It charges as a five star hotel but the room was small and things looked old...
We stayed there, as many others, to participate in a trade fair, which is held in the Convention Center across the street. The hotel was pretty full but still they got the “big” idea to start remodeling the lobby causing incovenience to all of us, besides of the noise. For sure, i'm not going back.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
October 18, 2011

Dear Ahsiesh77: thank you for taking your time to explain your experience during your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important for us. Please excuse for all the inconvenience during your visit. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you during your next visit.

Regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed in a club level room for 1 night before a cruise in March. Room was great, breakfast, snacks and free internet in club lounge were nice. Free bottled water in the club level rooms was convenient. Staff was enormously helpful, although I had expected more fluent English at front desk. The pool is lovely for an afternoon, and the pool bar has reasonably priced drinks and snacks. The hotel is not located near any hot-spots, so you would need to cab to upscale restaurants or bars. I am sure the concierge would arrange this for you, she was very willing to make local calls in Spanish and provide other information.

Check the occupancy on your rate--it was more for 2 people than we expected!

My Friend Mario provided reasonably priced private transfers from the airport, and they were extremely reliable.

Room Tip: Our club level room had a view of the Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank member200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
October 18, 2011

Dear member200: Thank you very much for your kind note regarding our staff. We always strive to provide excellent services and hospitality for our guests. Your opinion and feedback are greatly appreciated to our team. We look forward to seeing you again and your
friends in the near future.

Sincerely,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This used to be a Caesar Park Hotel. I did not like it much back then. I feel Sheraton did a good job updating this property. The rooms look nice and clean and the tiny bathrooms seem more spacious as they have installed nice glass doors, mirrors, granite and all modernupscale fixtures. Check in was fast considering how busy this place was and the front desk attentive. Internet is charged extra and not the fastest out there. The place is not the most affordable, but I don't think any comparable properties in this city will be much cheaper. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crewtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Grand Panama, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
October 18, 2011

Dear Crewtips: Thank you so much to take the time to share with us your experience in our hotel. We are happy to hear that your stay was remarkable one. We greatly appreciated your feedback about our services and facilities. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again.

Regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft Panama
Aloft Panama
#34 of 114 in Panama City
332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 114 in Panama City
880 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 114 in Panama City
2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sortis Hotel, Spa & Casino, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 114 in Panama City
1,226 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 114 in Panama City
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Panama

Property: Sheraton Grand Panama
Address: Via Israel y Calle 77 | San Francisco, Panama City 0819, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#18 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#29 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Panama 4.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Panama Hotel & Convention Center is a deluxe five-star hotel perfectly situated in the heart of Panama City’s business and financial district. Enjoy superb amenities and the proximity of Tocumen International Airport and the Atlapa Convention Center, which is located just across the street from the hotel. This luxury hotel in Panama City is surrounded by premier leisure attractions such as the famous Multiplaza Shopping Mall and the shops and restaurants of Old Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Panama City Hotel Panama City
Panama City Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing