We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many good things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
Ranked #8 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So many good things”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

There were so many good things about the Bristol, I almost don't know where to begin. For the most part the staff was wonderful. They arranged a driver for us who acted as more of a tour guide, made reservations for us, and were just generally friendly. The room was beautiful and enormous, especially the bathroom. I really loved it. The restaurant connected to the hotel was very good and the bar upstairs was nice too. We really enjoyed having cocktails on the deck while watching the sun set. There were a few things that weren't perfect, service at breakfast was not great, and the pool is teeny tiny, but otherwise, the hotel was really fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodlenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I am happy that your like our food in our Salsipuedes restaurant and drinks at our Lounge 8'58 on the 5th floor.

For the pool it true that it is a small one! But at least you can swim a bit :=)

Maybe should you come back, you'll have to try our Spa on the last floor next time

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama.


Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    199
    35
    22
    13
See reviews for
113
282
44
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at the Bristol for 2 nights as part of a tour. It is an elegant hotel with huge modern rooms located in the financial district of Panama City. The view of the city from the large windows was cheerful and bright. Service was excellent from the desk staff to the housekeeping service. There was always someone at the entrance opening the door offering a smile and a good morning or good evening. The rooms were huge with walk in closets with bathrobes, king sized beds and lots of pillows. The bathroom had a separate tub with jacuzzi and large shower area. Each night there was turn down service but with all there was to see and do in Panama City, we were usually exhausted and in bed before the doorbell of our room was rung to bring us the chocolates.
There were many delicious choices at the buffet breakfast from fresh fruit to omelets to pastries. The upstairs lounge was lovely with comfortable chairs and tables and a fully stocked bar.
Whether you are in Panama City for business or pleasure. The Bristol is worth the stop.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WintersR4beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Maybe should you come back, you'll have to try our Spa on the last floor next time

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama.


Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very good for a three or so nights. Comfortable surroundings with efficient staff. Lounge bar 8.58 very good for drinks and snacks or light lunches. Only negative for us was the Beandas Restaurant - staff disinterested, weird food combinations, and bleak atmosphere.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault the de-luxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I'll pass on your comments regarding our Salsipuedes restaurant to our F&B Manager in order to correct the waiters attitudes.

Maybe should you come back, you'll have to try our Spa on the last floor next time

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama.


Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We recently stayed at the Bristol and enjoyed our week stay at this boutique hotel. The bartenders, Pauoli, Fidel and Carlos, and servers in the 5th floor lounge were wonderful and always remembered what we liked. Even though we did not have a room in the new tower, our room was large with a separate living room area from the bedroom. It was very homey and loved the décor. The rooms are cleaned and fresh towels are given twice a day. I can't say enough about the hotel staff, the concierge's and the front desk clerks, were wonderful. I had a medical issue while I was there and their concern and quick response was admirable. The hotel is within walking distance of restaurants and casinos. The hotel's personal taxis were always clean and arrived timely. Charlie, one of the drivers, went above and beyond in his concern of my injury. It was sincerely appreciated. The taxi service is something you should consider taking to/from the airport. I would highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I'll pass on to Charly your comments, I am sure that he will happy to see it. As well to our bar team from the Lounge 8'58 on the 5th floor.

Maybe should you come back, you'll have to try our Spa on the last floor next time

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama.


Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This boutique hotel is perfect if you want a quiet and elegant place to stay away from the crowds. The dining facility is also a good place to eat. We had the paella for two for dinner and the portion was too small for two people. It was delicious. Perhaps we should have known as the price was very inexpensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMR173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I am happy that you enjoyed all our food and beverage service in our restaurant Sal Si Puedes. I am proud to mention that our Chef Cuquita is considered as one of the best panamenean chef in the country. I will tell that you considered the served portion to be a bit too small.

Maybe should you come back, you'll have to try our Spa on the last floor next time

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama.


Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

As soon as you enter the lobby your senses come alive and scream "this is the place". The ambience is spot on and the experience continues throughout. The bedding alone is worth the trip - when the wife refuses to get out of bed, you know you have a winner...

Staff are a well oiled machine focused on meeting and exceeding guest expectations. The included breakfast buffet is such a wonderful way to start the day! Dinner in the same room at night is a gastronomic delight.... Don't miss the 5th floor lounge, exercise room and lap pool.

When you check out of a hotel and get that sticker shock at the front desk it usually sours the experience - when you leave the Bristol, the reaction is "really? Is that all". The corporate rates are absurdly reasonable.

Can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Get any room ending in 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I am happy that you enjoyed all our food and beverage service in our restaurant Sa Si Puedes. I am proud to mention that our Chef Cuquita is considered as one of the best panamenean chef in the country. Maybe should you come back, you'll have to try our Spa on the last floor next time

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama and wish you a Happy New Year!

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I feel the hotel does not live up to the Leading Hotels of the World standard. Whilst the room and bathroom were very nice the little things which are advertised as making the hotel stand out from others are not followed through on. Morning coffee did not arrive 2 mornings and came at the wrong time on the last. Fresh fruit was never replenished and neither was the bottled water. There was no price list for the mini bar. Butler never answered phone. We could not get to sleep until 3 am on Saturday night because of noise from an event at the hotel and when asked that it be brought to a manager's attention at check-out there was no follow up. Reception staff were very nice but their English was limited, I understand that Panama is not an English speaking country but a hotel of this caliber should have at least one fluent speaker on the desk at all times considering the clientele. All in all I liked the hotel but these details would prevent me from recommending a friend pay more to stay here than the Marriott around the corner.

Room Tip: If you do stay at the Bristol ask to be given a room in the Tower away from the function room in the...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BostonGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Please accept my sinceres apologies for the incoveniences that you had during your stay in the hotel especially with wáter issue.

I will investigate regarding the noise on saturday night, but I know that we had a 280 persons weeding and we should have put all coming guests to high floor.
As you probably were in one of our just fully renovated room. For the phone, I believe that it hast been unprogrammed during the refurbishing. Thank you for bringing this up to my attention.

Please accept my apologies for our Butler service, I'll check that this is not happening anymore. For the english we are organizing with our Human Ressource department some english course especially for conversation with guest within the hotel in order to ensure that our staff assist.

We hope to welcome you during your next visit to Panama and have a complete different experience of The Bristol.

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#14 of 114 in Panama City
1,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 114 in Panama City
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 114 in Panama City
1,199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA

Property: The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
Address: Avenida Aquilino de la Guardia | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Panama City
#5 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Panama City's bustling (Financial District), Bristol Panama is one of the city's premier addresses for executive and holiday stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Panama Hotel Panama City
Bristol Hotel Panama City
Bristol Panama City
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing