We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice - I will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
Ranked #7 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice - I will return”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have stayed 50+ nights in the last 3 years at various Panama City hotels - I want to try all the best spots and the Bristol is one of them.

Great service, the cold towel when you arrive is a nice touch. The smell that is pumped into the lobby area is overpowering - like someone with way too much perfume on.
Bar's area on the main and 5th floor in the new tower are great. I stayed in the older section and the views are of giant construction sites - not appealing. I recommend you insist on the new tower.
The hotel van is the right choice to get a lift to the airport at $40 its the way to go.
Food is good, not great - head to the old city for top notch cuisine.
I will visit again but not in the original section. Paid $155/night with breakfast plan.

Room Tip: Go stay at the Hardrock if you don't get a room in the new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdlphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Thank you for enjoying all our services, the comfort and amenities of our room.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    200
    35
    22
    13
See reviews for
113
284
44
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Priceline Express Deal for $100 US + tax per night for standard room with a king size bed.

Hotel is 2 blocks from Calle Uruguay and the nightlife.

The staff assisted me with a free 15 page fax to the US and scanned and emailed another business document for free.

Pros:
Clean room
Free Valet Parking
2 Free bottles of water in the room and fruit
Small gym
Outside Deck on the 4th floor with lounge chairs

Cons:
Rooms slightly dated

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Thank you for enjoying all our services, the comfort and amenities of our room.

As you had a super deal, you received a room in the original tower. We are starting this year a complete renovation of this tower in order to have the same kind of room in the all hotel.

Your compliment for our service are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The staff, management and facilities are spectacular. Love the Bristol Panama and recommend it as the only place to stay in Panama City. I have stayed in every hotel here in the city and love it. The food and wine is excellent and the staff are simply the best in the country.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecolumberjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Thank you for enjoying all our services, the comfort and amenities of our room.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Husband & I stayed 1 nt ea @ beginning and end of 7nt trip to Panama in the new tower. Beautiful hotel with very comfortable bed. After spending a few days in the mountains and beach (in Eco lodging), I couldn't wait to get back the Bristol! Very convenient to dining and casinos.

Would definitely recommend to the most discerning traveler.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room in the new tower and stay far away from 5th floor, it has a bar/lounge that I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB222Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Thank you for enjoying all our services and the comfort and amenities of our room.

During your next visit, please go to the highest floor where is our Spa, after a nice treatment, you will have from the relaxing room a superb view of the Old Panama and the sea.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Looking forward of welcoming again in Panama City

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

These guys joined the right trade association, "The Leading Small Hotels of the World". The Bristol in Panama City, Panama IS a leading small hotel. Clean, neat, and well located this hotel would be a very good property anywhere. In Panama, it would have to rank at or near the very top. A smaller property, it still possesses a warmth and charm often absent in chain hotels. The staff are welcoming, attentive, and almost all are bilingual in both Spanish and English. The breakfast is solid, with both hot and cold buffet and an omelette station. The coffee is first rate. The gym is outstanding with both free weights and cardio equipment. The rooms are big and nicely appointed, with all the amenities one would expect in a first rate hotel - bathrobes, slippers, turn down service, fresh fruit, bottled water, etc. The lovely bathrooms have both a shower and a deep tub bath. Wake up calls are actually a real person. The property has a nice lobby and a small, but fully stocked bar. Panama beer is a bargain in the bar, but wine comes at a price premium. The spa is nice and a great place to grab a massage. You can drink the water, and Panama City is safe to walk around at night. This is a downtown hotel, however, and not a resort property. So don't come for the pool and the watersports. I would recommend this property for business, romance, and families without small children who want to stay downtown. You ARE in Latin America here, however. The power goes out for brief periods, and I had to be moved for one night when the A/C broke down. All in, a very good stay.

Room Tip: They have two towers, one traditional with dark wood and an old world feel, the other modern with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time of writing this comment about our hotel

Even if you appreciated us in general, I noticed your comment regarding our generators on and the power cuts.

Don't worry beeing in a lift during a power cut, they are designed to go by themselves to the secong floor as safety mesure, the time for the elevators to reset automaticaly.

Due to a government saving electricuty plan, we had to switch on all our generators during a minimum time of 3 hours. We unfortunatly could not bypass this regulation. But normaly there is nearly none power cut within Panama City.


Looking forward to welcome you soon in Panama on your next visit.

Best regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at the Bristol for two nights. It's easiest to review this with a list if pros and cons.
Pros
- Very comfortable bed with high quality linens.
- Very clean
- Staff provided top notch service
- Great gym
- Excellent restaurant where we had a phenomenal dinner - the best in Panama. We had the skirt steak that came with a delicious sauce and was cooked to perfection. The creme brûlée for dessert was sublime. The service was very slow though for an empty restaurant.
- Beautiful art throughout the hotel. The decor in all of the public areas was very nice.

Cons
- Construction going on around the hotel which is noisy starting at 8am.
- Hotel uses the loudest generator I've ever heard in my life. If your room is in the old part of the hotel, be prepared to be bothered by the noise. The hotel was not to capacity when we were there. It would have been a nice touch if they had put us in a different room instead of sandwiching us between the construction noise and the generator noise.
- The pool is very small and next to the generator which made it incredibly noisy and smelled of gasoline.

Had we been in the new part of the hotel, away from the noise, we would have been very satisfied. We mentioned the noise problem to the assistant manager and the front desk. They gave us a $20 credit which seemed inadequate. Overall this is a nice hotel with good service but make sure you get a room away from the noise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jb1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time of writing this comment about our hotel

Even if you appreciated us in general, and noticed your comment regarding our generators.
Due to a government saving electricuty plan, we had to switch on all our generators during a minimum time of 3 hours. We unfortunatly could not bypass this regulation.

But we are please to anounce that we will sonn start this year a full refurbishing of the original tower in order to have excactly the same type of rooms in both buildings
Looking forward to welcome you soon in Panama on your next visit.

Best regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Good rooms, good location, good service. Very clean. Nice bathrooms.
The only comment I have is that this kind of hotel could and should have better variety for breakfast...Not that we left hungry..... ;)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddaannnnyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Thank you for enjoying all our services and the comfort and amenities of our room. I noticed your opinion regarding the variety of our breakfast buffet and will make it with more varieties of dishes.

During your next visit, please go to the highest floor where is our Spa, after a nice treatment, you will have from the relaxing room a superb view of the Old Panama and the sea.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Looking forward of welcoming again in Panama City

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 114 in Panama City
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 114 in Panama City
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 114 in Panama City
1,228 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA

Property: The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
Address: Avenida Aquilino de la Guardia | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Panama City
#4 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Panama City's bustling (Financial District), Bristol Panama is one of the city's premier addresses for executive and holiday stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Panama Hotel Panama City
Bristol Hotel Panama City
Bristol Panama City
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing