We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
Ranked #8 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

really liked The Bristol. The hotel is truly a five start hotel - everything what you would expect from a five star hotel was there. Starting with wet towels to refresh your hands when you arrive and ending in getting us back to the airport using the hotel van as taxi was late. The rooms were also spacious, very well equipped, the internet was very fast, we were getting fresh fruit in our room every day. The room was as quiet as it gets, we felt like we were the only guests. A/C worked perfect, very quiet.
The hotel is located a short walk from many restaurants and night clubs. We especially liked La Posta.
Breakfast was AMAZING! They even had lactose-free milk! Various selection of fresh fruits, meats, smoked salmon and more.
Next time we go to Panama, we will stay in Bristol.

Room Tip: New tower is much better!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Thank you for enjoying your room amenities and our Breakfast Buffet, we want our guests to have a good start !

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Looking forward of welcoming again in Panama City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
There are newer reviews for The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 784 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We traveled with friends to Panama and spent our last 3 nights at the Bristol Hotel. It was a perfect place to stay. The rooms were beautifully appointed, including high quality linens and duvets. The entire hotel was spotessly clean. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised by how delicious the free breakfast was....loaded with fresh fruit, juices and cheese. They cooked made-to-order omelets and presented other hot foods. We thought we received high value at the Bristol. and would definitely stay here on a return trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Thank you for enjoying our Breakfast Buffet, we want our guests to have a good start !

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Looking forward of welcoming again in Panama City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel is one of geatest place ive been into thestaff... Ohh the staff.. Front desk. Yery and Ruben,THANKS for all you have made for us during our stay, ive been working in hospitality since quite a bit and let me tell you guys are great! The bristol needs to work on the room service. The spa its beautiful as the name Bristol only know how to do it. I fully recommend this place if you are planning to visit panama some day.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, Director General at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Thank you letting us know regarding our room service area of oportunity. I am currently working on it !

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The new tower had impeccable rooms... The drivers got us where we needed to be and were very attentive to our needs... My only knock was for dinner when all 4 in our party ordered the stuffed burger and all 4 came out cold, like they had been cooked last week and kitchen forgot to reheat them.. Other than that, all went very well..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, General Manager at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment regarding the drivers and front desk staff is really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I took note of your remark regarding the restaurant and we will correct this soon. I just arrived 15 days ago and already improved few things in this beautifull property that I have the chance to manage.

Looking forward of welcoming again in Panama City

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We arrived late on a Saturday night after a flight from the US. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was excellent as well as the dining area. Excellent breakfast included in the price. Staff was helpful in arranging drivers for tours and transport to the airport. Excellent value. We'd stay there again!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, General Manager at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Looking forward of welcoming again in Panama City

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed one night at Bristol Panama and it was wonderful. The staff was excellent, very attentive, professional, helpful and friendly. It was the only place we stayed in Panama where the staff spoke excellent English. The hotel rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. Offered turn down service, fresh fruit in the room, and other little nice touches. For Panama standards I would say yes a five star.

Room Tip: I would request the New Tower.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danniell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Jean Fra... B, General Manager at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Looking forward of welcoming again in Panama City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Bristol Panama for a week (Feb 2013). Prior to our stay, we extensively researched the Bristol and were impressed with its amenities, customer reviews and location. However, there was a large gap 5-star treatment pledge to execution.

Sadly, Bristol’s staffs were blatant but subtle let it be known “our presence” was uncommon and unwelcomed but had no problem with taking our money.

First, I praised the following individuals Cesar, Katherine, Clarence-all of the doormen, the bartenders and the last but not least the breakfast chef, who constructed an excellent omelets and greeted me with a smile and respect each morning.

In contrast, when the Bristol restaurant Maitre d’s were let’s say selective in “who could sit” in the main room, they chose to sit us in the bar area. When we sat in the main room-we were overlooked and ignored. Senior management please let your Maitre d’s know that Bristol guests come in all shapes, sizes and color. In my opinion, that non-service justifies the Bristol Panama is 4 star hotel.

Numerous times, I asked for a cell phone charger- I finally received one, five days later. Again, thank you Cesar. We later learned that other clientele’s butler were proactive and check on them daily, not our butlers-they were reactive and not proactive. In my opinion, Bristol Panama degraded from 5 to a 4 star.

Finally, a few of the Bristol drivers were driving up the prices between 10-20%. I would assume that the Bristol would preserve their 5-star reputation by not allowing such unpleasant behavior. I want thank Cesar for challenging the “driver’s tax” on us naïve Americans. Rated 4 star at best.

Bristol Panama rides the 5-star wave but not its restaurant staff and drivers, who need a refresher course in customer-service relations. Bristol Panama, I want to thank you for testing my patience and leaving me with a first and last impression of Bristol Panama.

I welcomed the future 5-stars hotels Bella Vista and Westin to Panama. I’m not irritated at the Bristol Panama just disappointed at unfulfilled promises.

Lone Star-

Room Tip: Request the new tower-
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia V, Front Desk Manager at The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

On behalf of the Bristol Panama family, we would like to thank you for your recent visit.

We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide us with your valuable feedback and would like to assure you that necessary steps have been taken to address the issues.

We hope to welcome you back soon to show efforts of improvement have been made as we strive to continue service standards.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 115 in Panama City
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#19 of 115 in Panama City
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA

Address: Avenida Aquilino de la Guardia | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Panama City
#5 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $108 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Panama City's bustling (Financial District), Bristol Panama is one of the city's premier addresses for executive and holiday stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Panama Hotel Panama City
Bristol Hotel Panama City
Bristol Panama City
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing