We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pipeline Road is not what it was”

Soberania National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Panama Canal Eco-Cruise and Rainforest Discovery Center
More Info
$145.00*
and up
Monkey Island and Indian Village Tour from Panama City
Ranked #25 of 175 things to do in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located 15 miles from downtown Panama City, this scenic park features two hiking paths called el Charco in Gamboa and Pipeline Road, both known for excellent birding and wildlife viewing.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pipeline Road is not what it was”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Birdwatchers who think of Panama think first of Pipeline Road but they could be disappointed. Other people we spoke to made similar comments. Try the ponds by the ammunition compound - lots to see.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank burgejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    84
    39
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great park with many trails, accessible to Panama City”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The park is pretty nice considering it is so accessible to the city. It is famous for birding, and without a guide I spotted toucans and some interesting woodpeckers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatM211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

With a local birding guide the park comes alive. Without it I doubt that one would have the same experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GraftonLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely morning bird/nature walk”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Visited Pipeline Road with Ancon Expeditions. Our guide, Ariel, was excellent. We saw numerous birds (trogons, toucans, parrots, etc.) as well as two kinds of monkeys and a sloth. The walk through the rainforest itself, on a (mercifully) cloudy morning, was a delight in its own right.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cavatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not too exciting!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We wanted a shortened version of the all day bird hikes thru the Park so we decided to take the tram from the Gamboa Resort to a lookout station overlooking the park. Their website said they had one leaving at 10:30AM so we made sure to get there with enough time to spare. When we arrived we were told they no longer had any morning trams & the first one was at 1:30. We did come back, but I was disappointed because they say you see the most birds & animals in the mornings. We had a guide in our tram car & he did his best to find things for us to see. We did see 2 Toucans & a slouth curled up in a tree. Some of the other cars saw nothing. I thought it was expensive for what we didn't see. Wouldn't do it again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenruler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soberania National Park also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Soberania National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing