We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for traveling the Panama Canal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location for traveling the Panama Canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just returned from visiting Panama City in order to take our dad down the Panama Canal. As a family we all enjoyed the location of this hotel for its green spaces, quiet and spacious setting, and great views of the ocean and boats that were entering the canal zone. The hotel also had two nice restaurants on site, two pools and a hot tub and plenty of tables and chairs for gathering around the pools and visiting. The hotel staff was helpful, especially Orlando who to took care of making sure our dad (who was a WW II vet) had the special room with a view of the canal. This location is also close to the old town of Casco Viejo ( A World Heritage Site) and the Amador Causeway. This hotel definitely made our trip more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are nice, but double the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 234MaryE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    463
    187
    69
    34
See reviews for
325
385
70
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

At first it seemed to be an odd choice to stay at the Country Inn Suites while in Panama, although the geography seemed to favor it since it was outside the city while overlooking the canal and close to the causeway. In retrospect, it was a VERY GOOD choice (based on my itinerary).

The hotel was somewhat dated (with a musty smell in certain rooms) but if you stay here you MUST pony up the extra money for a canal facing room. Otherwise you're looking at a parking lot on the other side of the hotel and wasting your money. At the time I stayed here, breakfast (which was a nice continental set up) was included with the price of admission.

As a single traveler planning to tour the Panama Canal while in town for 4 days (with no "hard" schedule to be in Panama City itself), this was a great location. Most boat tours meet/depart from the marina at the end of Amador causeway, which is just 5 minutes away by taxi. And there are plenty of taxis nearby (even late at night) at this hotel, so that was not a problem.

On weekends, the "TGIF" restaurant in the lobby appeared to be a dining destination for many Panama locals, so it was packed during prime dining hours. But it was good to have such a nice dining option conveniently located downstairs in the lobby. There is also the option of a waterside yacht club bar/grill about 100 yards down the street as well, in case you don't want to drive to town. And there are a few places along the causeway down towards the marina to eat/drink/enjoy the ocean as well.

If your main motivation is to tour the canal (and/or city, but later in the morning/day) this is a great location for your stay. If you have to be in the city to work during standard business hours, the traffic can be horrendous and you would be rolling the dice if you stay here.

One other note for anyone thinking about going in NOVEMBER. I was in Panama City during (the US) Thanksgiving holiday and it was crazy. There are a TON of Panamanian holidays in November and on the Friday after Thanksgiving they've really adopted the US commercial monstrosity of "Black Friday", so the malls (and surrounding roads) are a nightmare. And good luck getting a taxi!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the canal view (the other side is a parking lot -- ugly and loud). Also, the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amokinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peapack-Gladstone, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We often stay at the Country Inn as it's a convenient stop over for ongoing flights from Allbrook Airport to Bocas del Toro. Moreover, it has a wonderful view of the Canal and is near a number of great restaurants near and on the Amador Causeway. They offer a free breakfast buffet and the rooms in the recently renovated/constructed building are great. The TGI Fridays is convenient and service was excellent during our stay there. Orlando, who was Head Desk Clerk during our stay was extremely helpful and went beyond the call of duty to ensure our comfort. He also attended to booking us a cab for an early flight out of Tocumen Airport.

Room Tip: The best rooms are located in the newly constructed/renovated section of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RFTGJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Directly on the Panama Canal with some stunning views of the big ships passing by with the Bridge of the Americas nearby. Make sure your room is on the Canal side! We stayed there twice in the last few weeks. This week because we wanted to take the speed ferry to Contadora / Pearl Islands. The ferry leaves one minute walk away from the hotel at 7:30 in the morning, so this is very convenient. Free internet everywhere. TGI Friday next door. Nice breakfast buffet. It is only a short ride to the Amador Causeway, which is full of restaurants. Also the fascinating Old Town (Casco Viejo) is only a few minutes drive away. The hotel looks a bit "tired", but is good value for money.

Room Tip: Panama Canal Side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranzinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great service, rooms were not ready when we checked in, but we came without a reservation. The super helpful staff stored our luggage while we waited by the pool, watching the boats go by on the canal. The Bridge View restaurant was good for breakfast, unfortunately,in the evening, the lights are so bright inside you cannot see the bridge outside. So we spent the evening relaxing on the feather pillows with room service instead and loved it.

Says in the welcome book that there are free warm cookies to be had but we couldn't find them... then again, the place was packed, we may have just missed them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed 3 nights as part of a tour. The location is perfect - looking out over the entrance to the Canal and the Bridge of the Americas. The room was comfortable, but short on housekeeping - some mold in the bathroom and a filthy balcony window - only half of it cleaned. The meals are adequate, but limited - the same limited buffet items every lunch and dinner - pancakes on offer for breakfast, but no syrup. Reception staff are less than friendly. I would give it a lower rating if not for the superb location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BillfromGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We loved staying at this hotel. Not a 5 star, but the room was very nice, the pool area overlooked the Panama Canal, and the value was definitely there.
Try to get a room with a canal view. We weren't able to, but we still enjoyed our stay.
Breakfast was included and was good.
Go for dinner to the Balboa Yacht Club a few minutes away on the Causeway.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the canal if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kershal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#29 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
1.5 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Address: Amador Ave. | Pelicano Ave., Panama City 8001, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you plan your exciting getaway or seamless business trip, don't forget to book a spacious hotel room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites, a Panama City hotel near Panama Canal. Our hotel's location near various transportation hubs—Tocumen International Airport, Marcos A. Gelabert Domestic Airport, the Panama Canal Railway, Pier and Panama's national bus terminal—makes it easy to travel around the area. Plus, we're within reach of top attractions like Frank Gerhy's Biodiversity Museum, the Smithsonian Tropical Research exhibition center, Albrook Shopping Mall, Metropolitan National Park and City of Knowledge. Explore the city or simply take in the beauty of the Panama Canal from your hotel room's balcony during your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Panama Canal
Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal Hotel Panama City
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing