We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Directly on the Panama Canal with some stunning views of the big ships passing by with the Bridge of the Americas nearby. Make sure your room is on the Canal side! We stayed there twice in the last few weeks. This week because we wanted to take the speed ferry to Contadora / Pearl Islands. The ferry leaves one minute walk away from the hotel at 7:30 in the morning, so this is very convenient. Free internet everywhere. TGI Friday next door. Nice breakfast buffet. It is only a short ride to the Amador Causeway, which is full of restaurants. Also the fascinating Old Town (Casco Viejo) is only a few minutes drive away. The hotel looks a bit "tired", but is good value for money.

Room Tip: Panama Canal Side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranzinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    489
    189
    75
    35
See reviews for
347
399
73
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great service, rooms were not ready when we checked in, but we came without a reservation. The super helpful staff stored our luggage while we waited by the pool, watching the boats go by on the canal. The Bridge View restaurant was good for breakfast, unfortunately,in the evening, the lights are so bright inside you cannot see the bridge outside. So we spent the evening relaxing on the feather pillows with room service instead and loved it.

Says in the welcome book that there are free warm cookies to be had but we couldn't find them... then again, the place was packed, we may have just missed them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed 3 nights as part of a tour. The location is perfect - looking out over the entrance to the Canal and the Bridge of the Americas. The room was comfortable, but short on housekeeping - some mold in the bathroom and a filthy balcony window - only half of it cleaned. The meals are adequate, but limited - the same limited buffet items every lunch and dinner - pancakes on offer for breakfast, but no syrup. Reception staff are less than friendly. I would give it a lower rating if not for the superb location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BillfromGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We loved staying at this hotel. Not a 5 star, but the room was very nice, the pool area overlooked the Panama Canal, and the value was definitely there.
Try to get a room with a canal view. We weren't able to, but we still enjoyed our stay.
Breakfast was included and was good.
Go for dinner to the Balboa Yacht Club a few minutes away on the Causeway.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the canal if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kershal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights as part of tour. Arrived late in evening , check in ok , room ok .
Breakfast included in the deal, which was good. All the usual items which were fine.
Pool was nice , towels provided , just ask at reception.

Asked for breakfast box for next day departure at 06.15. Was told this was ok. WHAT A RUDE RECEPTIONIST . "I only work the night shift" we were told when we asked for our box and it was not available.

He needs customer service training............

Ate at TGI Friday . Never been in one before. It was ok.....had burgers, they were fine, staff were nice. Might even try one at home in UK !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNTAN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We found this to be a quiet, restful, central place to plan our day trips from. We particularly enjoyed being directly on the causeway watching the great ships travel toward the locks. We found our rooms to be comfortable, the breakfast buffet a bonus and staff (for the most part) very helpful. A special BIG thank-you to Orlando to single-handedly reunited me with luggage that went astray. YOU ARE THE BEST and it's staff like you that will bring people like me back to your hotel. Thanks Orlando!

Room Tip: You don't want to be across the hall from the ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLoewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We enjoyed the location in our canal view suite. All was wonderful until our last night in the hotel. Having to get up for an early morning flight we went to bed by 9:00 pm. Approximately at 9:30 pm we were woken up suddenly, actually startled, to hear someone in our sitting area moving about in pitch dark. A low light came on and we called out " who is it , what are you doing in our room!" In broken English he said he was checking our refrigerator". This was very upsetting since there had been no knock or call or permission to enter our secured room. The biggest disappointment was when my husband immediately went downstairs to the front desk and no concern or resolution was made, but was told that he would get back to us after looking into the situation, we even gave our email address. Upon checking out at 6:00 am the "new" front desk person asked us how was our stay and had no idea we even had an issue. Apparently the evening front desk did not think to pass on our concern that an apparent staff member let themself into a guest's room unannounced in the middle of the night and scared the daylight out of two sleeping guest. This was unacceptable from any hotel. Our recommendation, stay here for the location and secure a chair under your door handle before going to bed.

Room Tip: Canal view suite was wonderful, we were on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Joel and Michelle,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We apologize for the disappointing situation in your last room in the hotel. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We already investigated this situation diligently, all thanks to your report, we really appreciate your help, we have your personal information, thats why we will call you and will write to your mail to explain to you what happened that night.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to assist you and we apologize again for the incidents in the room the last night.

We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service. We are especially sad to hear that your last stay not was like you was waiting.

Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area.


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
3.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#22 of 114 in Panama City
1,165 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#23 of 114 in Panama City
552 reviews
9.2 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#24 of 114 in Panama City
916 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Address: Amador Ave. | Pelicano Ave., Panama City 8001, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you plan your exciting getaway or seamless business trip, don't forget to book a spacious hotel room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites, a Panama City hotel near Panama Canal. Our hotel's location near various transportation hubs—Tocumen International Airport, Marcos A. Gelabert Domestic Airport, the Panama Canal Railway, Pier and Panama's national bus terminal—makes it easy to travel around the area. Plus, we're within reach of top attractions like Frank Gerhy's Biodiversity Museum, the Smithsonian Tropical Research exhibition center, Albrook Shopping Mall, Metropolitan National Park and City of Knowledge. Explore the city or simply take in the beauty of the Panama Canal from your hotel room's balcony during your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Panama Canal
Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal Hotel Panama City
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing