We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is all about the view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Ranked #31 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This place is all about the view”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel room is adequate, most rooms over the past couple of years have been "updated". The room and bathroom are clean and comfortable. The front desk staff are pleasant and helpful. The selling point for this hotel is the view! Enjoy a cocktail or two while watching boats and ships transiting the canal. We've have stayed several times over the past 4 years and it is always because of this view. Maintenance is not a major concern at this place. From our first stay to our most recent the hot tub has been being "repaired" ;).

Room Tip: Pay the extra amount and get a room with a balcony and view of the canal. So so worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

We appreciate your comments and suggestions,on behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    480
    189
    74
    35
See reviews for
341
394
71
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
215 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Not luxurious, but it was perfect for our group of 20. Breakfast was a large buffet style and there was plenty to choose from. Decent rooms, and it was clean. The view from the patio is AMAZING and I would go back just for that!!! Great service and quiet location.

Room Tip: I would ask for a view of the canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MM5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Melissa:


Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit.
We are very grateful for the time dedicated to share your positive comments about our Hotel, fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Well, let me begin with the good points of our stay. The best thing we noticed from this hotel was the friedlyness of all of the staff. Everyone was always helpful and friendly to us (maybe because we spoke Spanish fluently). We decided to upgrade our room to a canal view and the total was a very resonable $148.50 for the eight nights we stayed there. The room was clean and spacious since we got a junior suite that included also two flat screen televisions. The pool was always clean and big. The view of the big carrier ships slowly moving towards the bridge of the Americas was awesome as it was the beautiful sunsets behind the bridge of the Americas as you can see by the pictures. The breakfast was very good and it was always served for quite a long time, so if you needed to sleep a little late it is no problem. Maid service was good and always provided us with clean towels and misc. needed.

Now, the negative points of this hotel. I would have to start with their restaurant. This is where they served their daily breakfast. The seat cushions were white (at some point), and all of them were stained with coffee and black stains of some kind. This is a shame, since this would be an easy fix by just cleaning them or just replacing them for a better color and fabric. We decided to try their dinner and was very disappointing. Very expensive, and the waiter that served us, was clearly drunk ("Ernesto") as we could clearly smell alcohol on his breath. During breakfast I tried to warm up my food on a small microwave they have but it was unplugged. I had to ask one of the girls there to plug it for me. The problem? The AC power plug was being shared with the hot water used for instant coffee and chocolate. (WTF?) I also tried to toast some bread on a small old toaster but it got stuck and smoke started to come out of it. The ice maker on our floor was not working so I had to go up one floor up to get some, the food from the TGIF restaurant was average and also expensive, there were no ATM facilities inside the hotel. We had to pay for a taxi to go to "Perico" island, about three miles away to get some cash needed.
Finally, our room was just above the pool area, and the second night we noticed this loud music coming from below our room. It was midnight, and even with the door closed we could still hear this music blasting. I called the front desk and they told me it was music emanating from a disco not far from there. The next morning we found it was from any disco music, but from two loudspeakers that were just below our room for people using the pool. Second (WTF?).

All in all, we did enjoyed our stay in Panama, even with all of the minor problems from the hotel. The most we liked was the friendly Panamenians, and the beauty of the country. But next time we go, we will not stay this hotel.

Room Tip: The extra money to pay for a canal room view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Frank:


Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.


We appreciate your good comments and suggestions about your last stay with us. Also sorry to hear that your unsatisfactory experiencewith the services. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed all issues with our team work, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.


We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.



Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First time at this hotel, since we became resort owner but we like it, very nice, great view, clean, great service, and the best breakfast ever, fresh tropical fruits and a lot to choose from.
The location is good for going shopping at the ALBROOK MALL, if you need to take a taxi, it can be as low as $5.00. Right beside the hotel you can walk to the BALBOA YATCH CLUB, where'll have a nice view of the boats or big ships passing to the Canal while you enjoy a beer or drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebiram2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest


Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us . We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!



Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

godd price but so out of the way you have to take taxis everywhere and they are very expensive. No help what so ever from staff for day tours. I would definitely not stay here again. Of course when you book online with expedia you also get a bad location for you room.

Room Tip: book directly from hotel and ask for balcony room facing canal higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vigolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest:


We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact to our Manager on Duty, and ask for Mr. Jack Cordoba (email: gerenciat_amador@unesa.com),the will gladly attend you.

We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.



Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Amador Causeway is a great location to take a walk by the end of the day, you will have ships passing through the Panama Canal on your sight, there is a great pool, the rooms and service were impecable, amazing breakfast too, it was all above my expectations!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterLongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guest


Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed .


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.


Sincerely,



Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Best about this hotel is probably the location, canal view rooms, just enjoy.
The rooms are big with a lot of amenities typically Country Suites. The staff is friendly and helpful, make you feel at ease. Breakfast is served in the Bridgeview restaurant, which has the atmosphere of a High School cantine, it's all serve yourself, but good choice and average quality of products except the fresh fruits.
For lunch and dinner you can choose if you don't want to go to the quite far away city or the nearer Flamenco area between an onsiteTGI Fridays( noisy american mexican fast food ), or the Bridgeview Restaurant with cantine atmosphere, helpless unskilled service team, not speaking more than two words of english, a wine list where 4 out of 5 wines are not available, but the food we tried was decent and the prices were reasonable.
But we enjoyed our stay with the fantastic view and not to forget the big warm swimmingpool.

Room Tip: Canal view, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guzui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest


Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed and also we appreciate your suggestions, we will improve on your comments mentioned. We look forward to your next stay.


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#25 of 113 in Panama City
519 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#18 of 113 in Panama City
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#26 of 113 in Panama City
883 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
1.2 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Address: Amador Ave. | Pelicano Ave., Panama City 8001, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you plan your exciting getaway or seamless business trip, don't forget to book a spacious hotel room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites, a Panama City hotel near Panama Canal. Our hotel's location near various transportation hubs—Tocumen International Airport, Marcos A. Gelabert Domestic Airport, the Panama Canal Railway, Pier and Panama's national bus terminal—makes it easy to travel around the area. Plus, we're within reach of top attractions like Frank Gerhy's Biodiversity Museum, the Smithsonian Tropical Research exhibition center, Albrook Shopping Mall, Metropolitan National Park and City of Knowledge. Explore the city or simply take in the beauty of the Panama Canal from your hotel room's balcony during your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Panama Canal
Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal Hotel Panama City
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing