We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe Twp NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“badly situated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

godd price but so out of the way you have to take taxis everywhere and they are very expensive. No help what so ever from staff for day tours. I would definitely not stay here again. Of course when you book online with expedia you also get a bad location for you room.

Room Tip: book directly from hotel and ask for balcony room facing canal higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vigolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest:


We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact to our Manager on Duty, and ask for Mr. Jack Cordoba (email: gerenciat_amador@unesa.com),the will gladly attend you.

We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.



Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    463
    187
    69
    34
See reviews for
325
385
70
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Amador Causeway is a great location to take a walk by the end of the day, you will have ships passing through the Panama Canal on your sight, there is a great pool, the rooms and service were impecable, amazing breakfast too, it was all above my expectations!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterLongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guest


Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed .


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.


Sincerely,



Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Best about this hotel is probably the location, canal view rooms, just enjoy.
The rooms are big with a lot of amenities typically Country Suites. The staff is friendly and helpful, make you feel at ease. Breakfast is served in the Bridgeview restaurant, which has the atmosphere of a High School cantine, it's all serve yourself, but good choice and average quality of products except the fresh fruits.
For lunch and dinner you can choose if you don't want to go to the quite far away city or the nearer Flamenco area between an onsiteTGI Fridays( noisy american mexican fast food ), or the Bridgeview Restaurant with cantine atmosphere, helpless unskilled service team, not speaking more than two words of english, a wine list where 4 out of 5 wines are not available, but the food we tried was decent and the prices were reasonable.
But we enjoyed our stay with the fantastic view and not to forget the big warm swimmingpool.

Room Tip: Canal view, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guzui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest


Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed and also we appreciate your suggestions, we will improve on your comments mentioned. We look forward to your next stay.


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Mansfield, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The best part of our stay was sitting on the balcony watching the boat go to and from the Mira Flores Loch of the Panama Canal. The room was large and accommodating. Very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was included at the restaurant with lots of selections buffet-style. Ask at the desk about having a taxi take you to the Mira Flores loch observation area. It is something that has to be seen to believe and plan to stay at least an hour. Our taxi driver parked and waited on us. Would do this again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Julie:


Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit.


We are very grateful for the time dedicated to share your positive comments about our Hotel, fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!



Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent a week here as part of a reunion and found that the hotel was clean, comfortable and the service excellent, with nice views of the entrance to the Panama Canal and the Bridge of the Americas. They have a new Bridgeview restaurant as well as a TGIFridays adjacent, the Yacht Club's reastaurant next door and an easy taxi ride to other restaurants in the Amador area: Pencas, Mi Ranchito and Bucaneros. The Casco Antiguo is about a 10 to 15 minute ride by taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veraguas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest


Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit.
We are very grateful for the time dedicated to share your positive comments about our Hotel, fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pluses: nice views of the Canal, comfortable room, swimming pool, full hot breakfast.

Minuses: Nothing is in walking distance, plan on spending at least $15 on a taxi each way to get into town or to the miraflores locks. Wifi signal didn't reach our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view when you order and get as high a floor as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest,



Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit.


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,



Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are looking for an affordable and clean place to stay with great service, then this is a good location. The standard rooms could use some updating and renovating, however the views from the balcony are priceless. The front desk staff was extremely friendly, responsive and helpful; and they immediately addressed problems and concerns as they arose. The swimming pool area is clean and relaxing, and the WiFi works extremely well throughout the hotel. Our rate included a daily breakfast in the restaurant, and the food was decent. The hotel was having trouble with the hot water during our stay, so, with the exception of the first night, the showers were tepid. There is a nearby path for walking and jogging, and the Causeway is a good, long walk or a $3 taxi ride away. It's fairly easy to get taxis from this location during the daytime, however the taxis requested by the hotel staff tend to charge more than the taxis on the street. My recommendation would be to find a taxi driver on your first day and get his number. There was an issue with my reservation before I arrived in Panama, and a manager called me in the US to make sure everything was resolved before I arrived. That type of personalized and attentive service was sustained throughout my stay. Given it's proximity to the bridge and major roads leading into the city, this location provides quick access to just about anywhere you'd like to go in the Panama city area. It's a good value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertSojournerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write,

We appreciate so much your positive comments and suggestions, on behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We will inprove on your comments mentioned, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#29 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
1.5 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Address: Amador Ave. | Pelicano Ave., Panama City 8001, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you plan your exciting getaway or seamless business trip, don't forget to book a spacious hotel room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites, a Panama City hotel near Panama Canal. Our hotel's location near various transportation hubs—Tocumen International Airport, Marcos A. Gelabert Domestic Airport, the Panama Canal Railway, Pier and Panama's national bus terminal—makes it easy to travel around the area. Plus, we're within reach of top attractions like Frank Gerhy's Biodiversity Museum, the Smithsonian Tropical Research exhibition center, Albrook Shopping Mall, Metropolitan National Park and City of Knowledge. Explore the city or simply take in the beauty of the Panama Canal from your hotel room's balcony during your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Panama Canal
Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal Hotel Panama City
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing