We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great service!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I travelled by myself for only a few days to Panama and the staff helped me make the most of it by arranging tours for me and suggesting restaurants. Yma was my favorite and absolutely the most helpful but all the staff were great! My stay was very comfortable and travelling alone it was very nice to have the TGIF Restaurant on site so I ate there often and didn't have to worry about travelling out additionally after touring for the day. The complimentary breakfast in the morning had variety every day I was there and an expansive selection of hot and cold items so that was great-fuel for the day! The room was clean and very comfortable. I did get a balcony view room and I would highly recommend it. It was so amazing to just order some drinks from room service and sit out there and relax. I can't remember the last time I enjoyed scenery so much. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit,
We are very grateful for the time dedicated to share your positive comments about our Hotel.

Fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    471
    188
    72
    35
See reviews for
332
391
70
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We reserved 5 nights at this hotel. We did not pay extra to have a Canal Side room, but we were pleased that our original room still had a corner view of the canal. It was spacious and clean for our needs. However, after our first night, we were disappointed that we were to be moved to another location of the hotel due to maintenance repairs on our side of the hotel. However, BIG COMPLIMENTS to the Hotel Manager, who adjusted our reservation and gave us a Canal Side room for free for our inconvenience. The hotel staff was very good to work with. They were pleasantly bilingual (Spanish and English) and helpful. Yma & Orlando were nice. But, ALFREDO & GERISSA were EXCEPTIONAL! They were always extra helpful and friendly, always smiling and delighted to serve. The location & view of the hotel was good. It was away from the congestion of traffic and close to the Causeway, a nice haven to come home to after a busy day. It was a convenient and relaxing place for us to stay while we toured the city and country during our stay. The breakfast was hearty with a great variety of food. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: A room on the Canal Side is wonderful. It's a chance to see the live history of what the USA ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit,
We are very grateful for the time dedicated to share your positive comments about our Hotel.

Fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The reason we traveled to Panama was to visit the canal. this hotel is wonderfully placed to view all the traffic passing through,day and night. Book a canal view room if possible or you could be anywhere. We had a junior suite with two quite large rooms and bathroom. there was a microwave and coffee machine but we had to ask for crockery and cutlery. The fridge was too cold and tried to freeze everything.
Breakfast was abundant and sometimes surprising. There was enough choice for most nationalities to feel catered for.
the staff were friendly and helpfull.
We loved it here away from downtown Panama. Recommend eating next door at the Yacht Club or the Restaurants at the end of the Amadore Peninsula.

Room Tip: canal view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. it is gratifying to know that our services have met their demands and that our team has made your stay a pleasurable experience.. We look forward to your next stay.

Thank you on behalf of our entire team!

Hotel Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONROVIA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 5 days. The desk staff was helpful and spoke English, but the rest of the staff only spoke Spanish which made things tricky. The hotel and rooms are plain, but clean. The pool and view from our room was beautiful. The workout room was not clean, but usable. The elevator dings on every floor and the doors slam shut, noisy! The breakfast was hot, but the food was definitely cultural! There was fruit daily and muffins and bagels if the hot choices did not appeal. The coffee was great! The hotel also has a little coffee shop where we had afternoon coffee and treats which was well priced. Although reviews of the Fridays attached to the hotel were not positive, we found it to be a fine restaurant. We rented a car, took a taxi to some places, and drove to Amador Causeway where several very nice, well priced restaurants were located. We rented bikes for $3 for an hour and biked the causeway. Nitetime on the causeway was very busy with families biking, walking or roller blading.

Room Tip: the second floor or above has better views. The elevator dings on every floor and the doors slam sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit,
We are very grateful for the time dedicated to share your positive comments about our Hotel.

Fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed there while attending a meeting. Location is great as it faces the Panama Canal so it provides a nice view of boat traffic and the Pacific bridge. Overall facilities are decent, service is decent to pleasant and breakfast buffet good but very average. Hotel provides usual services, including outdoor pool (facing the canal). There is a TGI Friday's connected to the hotel. However look of hotel is somewhat stuck in the 80's, especially rooms. I think there is a renovation plan but could not see evidence of it. Hotel is close to mall and other sights of interest which is a plus. In summary average experience while the main redeeming point is the view of the Canal.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a canal facing room and at least second level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We always stay here because it offers an escape from the horrendous traffic and crowds of Panama City. Ask for a balcony room overlooking the canal and watch the ships go by all day and night. The hotel has a good pool in which to relax after a long hot day touring and offers again a great view of the canal. The hotel offers a good buffet breakfast in the morning to get you going. There is good , protected parking, as well as good taxi service available. The hotel is the starting point of the causeway which many people think offers some of the best views of the canal, Panama City, Taboga Island as well as many fine restaurants.

Room Tip: This hotel will offer you everything you need for a comfortable stay in the Panama City and canal ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit,

We are very proud to hear that you has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to your liking.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The two front desk gentlemen that we worked with each day went above and beyond for us. Great customer service. The breakfast was better than I expected with many hot dishes. Views (if your room has one) of the canal are wonderful and the recently remodeled pool was a great place for our family to spend the afternoon. Plus, watching those ships pass you by is pretty cool. Had dinner at TGI Fridays on site, which the front desk helped us secure a table because they were so busy. Minuets from the rest of the Causeway. Great place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tj1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#28 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#18 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Address: Amador Ave. | Pelicano Ave., Panama City 8001, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you plan your exciting getaway or seamless business trip, don't forget to book a spacious hotel room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites, a Panama City hotel near Panama Canal. Our hotel's location near various transportation hubs—Tocumen International Airport, Marcos A. Gelabert Domestic Airport, the Panama Canal Railway, Pier and Panama's national bus terminal—makes it easy to travel around the area. Plus, we're within reach of top attractions like Frank Gerhy's Biodiversity Museum, the Smithsonian Tropical Research exhibition center, Albrook Shopping Mall, Metropolitan National Park and City of Knowledge. Explore the city or simply take in the beauty of the Panama Canal from your hotel room's balcony during your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Panama Canal
Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal Hotel Panama City
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing