We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to stay in Panama City area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Annapolis
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Place to stay in Panama City area”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We always stay here because it offers an escape from the horrendous traffic and crowds of Panama City. Ask for a balcony room overlooking the canal and watch the ships go by all day and night. The hotel has a good pool in which to relax after a long hot day touring and offers again a great view of the canal. The hotel offers a good buffet breakfast in the morning to get you going. There is good , protected parking, as well as good taxi service available. The hotel is the starting point of the causeway which many people think offers some of the best views of the canal, Panama City, Taboga Island as well as many fine restaurants.

Room Tip: This hotel will offer you everything you need for a comfortable stay in the Panama City and canal ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit,

We are very proud to hear that you has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to your liking.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    486
    189
    75
    35
See reviews for
343
398
72
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The two front desk gentlemen that we worked with each day went above and beyond for us. Great customer service. The breakfast was better than I expected with many hot dishes. Views (if your room has one) of the canal are wonderful and the recently remodeled pool was a great place for our family to spend the afternoon. Plus, watching those ships pass you by is pretty cool. Had dinner at TGI Fridays on site, which the front desk helped us secure a table because they were so busy. Minuets from the rest of the Causeway. Great place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tj1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, On
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a good stay. The rooms are fairly basic and could use some updating. There was some mould around the tub but otherwise clean. Breakfast is provided with a good selection of both hot and cold foods available. Our kids really enjoyed the pool area. Here are some tips for your stay:

- The hotel has several independent drivers available to take you on tours and excursions or just as cabs. The prices are a little more than regular cabs, but most of the drivers seem to speak some English and are very flexible. There is plenty of opportunity to negotiate on prices. You can also arrange with the hotel for airport pick up.
- Location is fairly convenient but there is no shopping or restaurants in the immediate area. Amador causeway, Miraflores, Albook Mall etc. are a short cab ride away. The causeway is a nice walk, but longer than we originally thought.
- For restaurants, there is a TGI Fridays in the hotel. We didn’t eat there, but did order some drinks for around the pool (they put them in Styrofoam cups for us).
- Sign up for their email notifications for sales before your stay – we ended up saving 30% on our room.

This hotel is a good option to stay near the Amador Causeway or Albrook airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamielidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Good hotel. Rooms are very spacious and clean. Staff are helpful and English speaking. Access to other facilities, internet, spa and pools was first rate. Transport available if you require to go into the city. My room looked over the Panama Canal with a balcony and chairs etc to use whilst having a coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the canal are alot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit,
We are very grateful for the time dedicated to share your positive comments about our Hotel.

Fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,

Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel had excellent prices for canal view rooms. a fantastic pool and great proximity to the Amador causeway. we very much enjoyed our stay and it was relatively easy to get back to the airport. They even made us a breakfast bag as we had to leave before breakfast.

Room Tip: definitely take a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groovefetish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We are wrapping up a stay at the Country Inn and Suites Amador in Panama. It's a 60's/70's vintage hotel, comfortable, very friendly, beginning to show its age a bit. If you're into ship watching, it's wonderful, fronting right on the Pacific entry to the Panama Canal. Our room faced the Canal and we can sit on the outdoor balcony and watch large ships going by.

There's a nice breakfast included everyday and if you like the chain a TGI Fridays attached to the hotel. There's not a lot to do nearby at this time but walk the causeway. The Yacht Club, a smaller, older traditional bar and restaurant for the adjacent small yacht area, is nice, simple and inexpensive. Other dining is about a mile walk down the causeway, with decent seafood and casual Italian. Normally, we wouldn't walk a route like this at night, but after a couple of trips for dinner, it seemed safe and ok.

Anything into town is a cab ride. The ferry for Taboga leaves from the yacht club dock, so that was convenient.

Room Tip: upper floors, on the Canal side, more toward the entrance to the Canal to avoid a couple of large tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

In the new building with smell of cement, construction all around, no character, no view, seriously nothing special. Big disappointment for our first 3 nights in this interesting country. There was nothing to make us feel like we were in Panama while in the hotel - breakfast was adequate but could've been anywhere in N America. Front desk staff upon arrival was overworked, harried, and unpleasant. Big sigh. It got better when we moved out of the city.

Room Tip: I wouldn't have a clue how to help anyone choose a good room - mine was not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiaMiaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
3.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 114 in Panama City
1,151 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#23 of 114 in Panama City
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 114 in Panama City
894 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
1.8 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#67 of 114 in Panama City
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Address: Amador Ave. | Pelicano Ave., Panama City 8001, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you plan your exciting getaway or seamless business trip, don't forget to book a spacious hotel room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites, a Panama City hotel near Panama Canal. Our hotel's location near various transportation hubs—Tocumen International Airport, Marcos A. Gelabert Domestic Airport, the Panama Canal Railway, Pier and Panama's national bus terminal—makes it easy to travel around the area. Plus, we're within reach of top attractions like Frank Gerhy's Biodiversity Museum, the Smithsonian Tropical Research exhibition center, Albrook Shopping Mall, Metropolitan National Park and City of Knowledge. Explore the city or simply take in the beauty of the Panama Canal from your hotel room's balcony during your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Carlson, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Panama Canal
Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal Hotel Panama City
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing