We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Panama City
  
Ways to Experience Panama Canal
from $180.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
from $119.64
More Info
from $19.49
More Info
Reviews (18,452)
Filter reviews
18,452 results
Traveler rating
12,534
4,575
1,101
155
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
12,534
4,575
1,101
155
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews miraflores locks bucket list cruise ship engineering marvel partial transit pacific side big ships ships passing observation deck once in a lifetime an amazing experience visitor center canal museum panama movie boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 18,452 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were so impressed by the knowledge of our tour guide Juan "the Juan and only" of the Panama canal and everything that surrounded the excursion and the boat pilot Alejandro AKA Alex. We learned so much to carry us lifetime and truly enjoyed every inch of the canal! The food was also amazing!
This is a must if visiting the Panama canal!! I couldn't for the life of me figure out how it worked till I went thru it, I can't say enough how awesome it was!
My husband and I can't stop telling everyone about it.
Thank you so much for being so educated on many different factors of the Panama canal and the surroundings truly a excursion of a lifetime and we have been fortunate enough to have many!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank denisegI9931GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is trouly astonishing to witness how the water levels are raised and lowered truly with graviational force and have the ships continue their voyage. The best way to witness it is by travelling through canal itself. One has to be very patient as passing through canal is like passing through toll booth. So, if you are lucky, not much traffic, you may get through the canal quickly. Otherwise, you may be in a queue....But regardless, this man made wonder is must see! Even if you could cover Miraflores and Pedro Miguel locks, you are good.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Paggy339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We got in while 2 boats and a cargo ship were waiting to transit the canal at MiraFlores. It was perfect timing and a great experience!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 597blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Miraflores lockes and had quite the experience. Enjoyed an all you can eat buffet and watched the marvel that is the Panama Canal with a full description of the activities by a local narrator. Before watching the passing ships we enjoyed a film narrated by Morgan Freeman that gave a brief description of the canal’s history. The whole set up is first class. We saw the ships passing so closely, feels like we could have reached out and touched them. It was a perfect day. We didn’t do a tour just caught a cab to the lockes. The entire experience took several hours as it’s a long wait to see the ships cross the canal considering the timeliness of the process. We had a great time sipping mimosas and hearing the history of the canal. The museum is interesting as well. We loved the interactive portions that put you in the middle of the action while demonstrating how the mechanisms work. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in understanding how the canal works. My friends are engineers and they were really fascinated.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank EyeNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We waited and waited and they kept saying in 1 hour over and over again until we could not wait any longer. The visitor center is not worth the money if a boat doesn't go through.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 684warrenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews